We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Planters At Bretby Garden Centre

Bretby Lane | Bretby, Burton upon Trent DE15 0QS, England
+44 1283 703355
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good20%
  • Average14%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (11 reviews)
“quiche” (2 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 18:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bretby Lane | Bretby, Burton upon Trent DE15 0QS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our youngest grandson loves going to the beach, it's a lovely big sandpit with buckets, spades and shapes. We built lots of sand castles and jumped on them, great fun. We ordered the mixed platter to share, great for a beach picnic more than enough...More

Thank Susan W
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our beach and restaurant. We are really pleased you enjoyed the sharing platter and your grandson enjoyed playing on the beach, we agree, it is certainly a good way to spend a few hours whatever...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

took friends to garden centre for roast dinner....utterly horrible. cold so called roast potatoes but pre packed rubbish..sundae pudding consisted of 2 scoops of ice cream, whipped cream and 1/2 a flake... couldnt find any management staff just young helpers..... took friends as months before...More

1  Thank Theresa B
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for your review of your visit to our restaurant...... I'm really sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant and I would very much like the opportunity to look in to this further for you,...More

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Visited with my two teenage daughters who were treating me as I have been ill recently. Two of us had scones - massive homemade with a lovely crispy crust ( cherry 🍒 and sultana ) delicious spoiled by synthetic tasty margarine- no butter as they...More

1  Thank poppytilly
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello, Thank you so very much for your review of our restaurant. We are really pleased you enjoyed your scones and tea when you visited our restaurant. Our scones are baked fresh each day and I will be sure to share your feedback with our...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Four of us went on a Friday morning for coffees & cake. Latte, Americanos, scones, Red Velvet cake and a tray bake. Prompt, friendly service and lovely cakes. Quite busy but tables cleared quickly. Recommended.More

Thank Lizzie0909
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thank you so very much for your review and for recommending us to others following your visit to our restaurant on Friday. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and I will be sure to share your lovely feedback with our team. Thanks once...More

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Went for food with the family on Sunday, I got my food in about 10 minutes (Jacket potato with beans and cheese). The cheese didn't melt into the potato because the potato wasn't very warm, like it had been reheated. We waited half an hour...More

Thank Rob T
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to send us a review of our restaurant. I am really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us on Sunday. We work really hard to ensure that all food arrives with...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We visited the restaurant and sand pit, park today. Sandpit and park are great for the little ones. Very disappointed with the service in the restaurant and the time taken for the food to arrive. We sat waiting for 1/2 an hour for a tea...More

Thank Victoria A
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our facilities here at Planters. I am really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our beach and play area during your visit. I'm sorry for the length of wait you encountered for your...More

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

£7 for a simple panini. Bowl of chips, suspected of being reheated for a long time but barely warm on arrival at table. Bacon so hard it could not be cut. Tables taking a long time to clear. Shame as I've been coming here for...More

Thank quietman482
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hello, Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant. I'm really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant, I will be sure to share you feedback with our kitchen team at the earliest opportunity to ensure we...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Had a great selection Mum was a little confused but a very nice young man, Luke? Helped and answered all questions .. sorted the plants that suited requirements ... Thanks soon had car loaded; )More

Thank Gail A
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you so very much for your amazing review of our garden centre. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and more importantly found all the plants you were looking for :o) Thank you for your lovely feedback about Luke, I will be sure...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Gift shop and restaurant attached to the garden centre. Nice food available all day. Nice gifts in the shop, wide range of goods. I like that there is also a children's play area with climbing frame and changing features depending on the time of year....More

Thank Wiscasset
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

WOW!! What a fantastic review of our Garden Centre and Restaurant. Thank you so very much for taking the time to send us your positive feedback following your visit to our centre. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we very much hope...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017

Planters restaurant is within Bretby Garden Centre has been visited several times in the past and has presented some problems that have been highlighted to the management, They have promised to improve and offered free meals if they are made aware of our subsequent visits,...More

Thank Maurice J
PlantersatBretby, Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you so very much for your review from your visit on Thursday evening. First of all I would like to say that I'm really sorry to learn of your disappointment on your visit. We work very hard to deliver a high standard of food...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chesterfield Arms
150 reviews
1.12 miles away
Brickmakers Arms
24 reviews
1.48 miles away
The Bulls Head
2,315 reviews
2.20 miles away
The Mount Pleasant
62 reviews
2.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Little Rascals Indoor play
6 reviews
1.10 miles away
The Red Lion, Repton
20 reviews
2.31 miles away
Mimi spa
5 reviews
2.47 miles away
The National Brewery Centre
473 reviews
2.61 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Katherine E
3 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Smithdryfus | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are in the garden centre but not restaurant but there is seating outside and I believe some is undercover
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$14
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 18:00
Thursday
09:00 - 20:00
Friday
09:00 - 18:00
Saturday
09:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bretby Lane | Bretby, Burton upon Trent DE15 0QS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Burton upon Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 703355
  • E-mail
Description
This may sound surprising, but we have visitors who come to Bretby just for our food! Our restaurant manager Chris Rich-Bate has some delicious, mouth-watering new recipes all freshly prepared from local British produce and of course our staff are always on hand to offer outstanding service.

Food for thought...
From humble beginnings, the restaurant has continued to expand and we can now accommodate up to 200 customers - and plans are afoot to improve the layout even further.
Chris and his team are proud of their reputation which is spreading beyond the local area and it is obvious to everybody that they all enjoy preparing food which is freshly made using on the finest of local ingredients.

We change our menu every week and of course, if you have any suggestions for forthcoming menu ideas we are always delighted to receive them.

Our restaurant also offers a delicious selection of snacks and refreshments.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing