We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Inn

) #11 of 145 Restaurants in Burton upon Trent ££ - £££ , British,
Main Road, Burton upon Trent DE13 9QD, England
+44 1283 812838
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good16%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“donuts” (3 reviews)
“pate” (8 reviews)
“custard” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Burton upon Trent DE13 9QD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My husband, son and I visited here twice in the last couple of days. Food amazing, wonderful surroundings and very friendly staff. We even phoned in advance on second visit to order. Genuinely lovely owner. Would definitely recommend. Great outdoor space for kids. Loved it

Thank Simonewatson
Reviewed 1 week ago

As always, made welcome, sat outside with the dog, and our son, who played with the other children on the climbing/slide frame.. It was busy but my steak and my wife (who had a starter with fries, no problem to Paige to mix up the...More

Thank Marc J
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, these kind words make the hard work worthwhile

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I left our friday night dinner at The Bell Inn feeling very disappointed. We ordered one starter between us and it took 40 minutes to come. After that, we waited another 45 minutes for our mains - a server told my friend...More

Thank Rosie M
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry to hear you was disappointed with your visit on Friday, I have spoken to the staff regarding this matter and they have informed me of the following: Kitchen was running behind hence the wait,this is completely our fault, however everything is cooked...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well what can I say, what a cracking night, table was all laid up for my birthday and we were all made to feel very welcome as you always are, nice bottle of complementary fizz, food was fab and they even got me a card...More

Thank Fenlons
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments - it seems that you visited on the same night others complained - i am happy we exceeded your expectations and took the time to write a true account of your visit. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

New Chef and new Menu, Nice Summer Lunch Menu, with Lamb, Haddock & Chicken Mains. Superb starters too, really enjoyed our meal. Really, really well cooked food, well presented, generous portions. Excellent value - Highly recommended . BTW GoodValue and always a great Pint !!

1  Thank Bruce L
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, positive feedback makes all the hard work worthwhile, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fabulous meal, with great choices for everyone - even for the vegetarians in our party which is unusual. Great hosts who were very attentive, informative and friendly. Will definitely go again.

Thank Michelle31032000
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback, Karen is doing an excellent job in making peoples celebrations memorable.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A party of 9 visited on 16th June 2017 to celebrate my Mum's birthday and unfortunately the quality of food served was somewhat underwhelming. The meals came out in dribs and drabs with side dishes missing, the chicken was undercooked and having had my steak...More

2  Thank JonPrescott
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am sorry you were disappointed with the quality of your meals, unfortunately we have had many issues with Chefs in the last few months a result of this was your poor experience. We have taken...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Having eaten here many times when the old management were in place we decided to give it a try having had a poor experience about 6 months ago. Unfortunately it was no better, in fact the menu was shorter and simpler. Only two table were...More

3  Thank Ian W
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am sorry you were disappointed with the quality of your meals, unfortunately we have had many issues with Chefs in the last few months a result of this was your poor experience. We have New...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Very welcoming staff, lovely beer garden - it's a sun trap! And great sized portion, traditional pub food at its very best!

Thank maggiemoo622
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Had a lovely meal for my fathers 75th birthday. This is the first time here and were made very welcome and the food was beautiful

Thank 240susie
carlb70, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us with your positive comments.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Spread Eagle
302 reviews
2.16 miles away
Rolleston Club
22 reviews
2.14 miles away
The Cross Keys
26 reviews
2.19 miles away
Koriander Indian Takeaway
19 reviews
2.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
National Forest Adventure Farm
646 reviews
1.23 miles away
Tutbury Castle
236 reviews
2.46 miles away
The National Brewery Centre
450 reviews
2.54 miles away
Mimi spa
6 reviews
2.82 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ani W
9 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jennyattheoaks | Reviewed this property |
Hi,yes they have just had the garden re vamped.
0
Votes
Ann N
22 November 2016|
Answer
Response from carlb70 | Property representative |
Hi, our menu can be adapted to gluten free.
0
Votes
iain200
30 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Woodyet1234 | Property representative |
No as we have left the pub now Sorry
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Burton upon Trent DE13 9QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Burton upon Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 812838
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing