We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (322)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
256
27
13
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
256
27
13
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes quiche market hall afternoon tea summer house large pot of tea massive portions market place burton slice costa
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely helpful staff accommodated my unusual dietary requirements without making me feel weird! Generous portions and good quality food.

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Not flash, great food and generous portions. Friendly staff. Eat-in or takeaway. Find it upstairs in the Octagon Centre.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Me and a friend meet here for lunch on Fridays. Have a drink & a cake. Great selection of choice for the cakes. Staff are quick and friendly. The baker is always up for a chat :) Would recommend.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Absolutely spot on, staff went out there way to make me feel welcome x definitely recommend. Cakes all look amazing with a great Choice

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Scone very dry, lemon cake was little dry but ok. Generous portions. Drinks good and hot. Always plenty of tables and roomy, you're not sat on top of each other like at some cafes.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Looked beautiful, however it was Luke warm maybe they should invest in a probe, luckily I had vegetarian and was OK, unfortunately hubby had meat 😟

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Hmmm, till staff still need to cheer up and a bit of customer service training. Miserable the last time we went and the mood has still not improved. Asked if they had something just got told "no", never heard of saying "no sorry but we...have got this ....... etc" basic customer service manners really. All our Group commented the same. Didn't feel welcome to eat or spend money there so just had a coffee, which was fine. I think with so many cafe establishments to choose from in the area more effort is needed.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

I only wanted a coffee and asked for a flat white which they didn't have so opted for a caramel latte. I couldn't believe I was then asked for my table number when I only wanted a drink. After waiting for over 20 minutes I...was about to ask for a refund and my drink finally arrived. It was awful and very expensive. I definitely won't be returning or recommend.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Heap, Owner at Summerhouse Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2024

I’m sorry that you didn’t feel you had the experience that you anticipated so I’d like to clarify a couple of points: 1. when you walk into a cafe and it’s busy you should anticipate a wait as the drinks all need to be made...More

Reviewed 24 January 2024

Went for two roast dinners Monday 22nd January, Got to say it was the worst meal we’ve ever had. The only bit of saving grace was the beef. The peas were washed out and almost colourless and tasteless.The Yorkshire pudding was like a rubber inner...tube,The carrots in all honesty were ok. Taking the Big Prize were the Roast Potatoes they were murdered, Totally rock hard the fork would not go in through the burnt black skin, We just eat the beef. What a waste of £17……never again!!!!!, Oh after dishing it all up on the plates it was taken out the back to be Microwaved UNBELIEVABLEMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2023

Excellent value & great quality food. Had a fabulous home cooked steak pie with lots of freshly cooked veg for £8 & large pot of tea for £2.10.. friendly staff. Best value cafe in Burton, upstairs in the Octagon centre. Give it a try I’m...sure you won’t be disappointed.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Went for breakfast with my friend.... place was fairly busy which was nice to see..... sat in the window seats too people watch..... both ordered the eggs royal.... I asked for no sauce... a little wait ...... but at least u know it being cooked...fresh..... excellent quality and service with a smile..... we will be backMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Had my baby shower here and it was lovely. All the staff are very friendly. Food is delicious and fresh. Recommend to all

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Took another visit today to this little gem. What can I say breakfast was beautiful as always , the staff are friendly and so welcoming. Could not recommend this place enough.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023 via mobile

Got removed by owner for nothing, rude she used inappropriate language really bad service only wanted to stay for lunch

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Heap, Owner at Summerhouse Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

You were removed by the centre security for eating your own food and being threatening and disrespectful to staff and the owner.

Reviewed 13 October 2023 via mobile

Excellent food and customer service second to none. Now in the Octagon shopping centre and we’ll worth a visit. I’ll be back

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Grail Court Hotel
99 reviews
.28 miles away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
647 reviews
.45 miles away
ibis budget Burton Upon Trent Centre
470 reviews
.67 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Burton Upon Trent, an IHG Hotel
440 reviews
1.69 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Mulberry Fine Dining
201 reviews
.08 miles away
Favourite Thai
626 reviews
.04 miles away
Cafe B
148 reviews
.13 miles away
Helen's Bake House and Tearoom
213 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mimi spa
7 reviews
.17 miles away
Stapenhill Gardens
98 reviews
.44 miles away
Coopers Square
8 reviews
.12 miles away
Mecca Bingo Burton
17 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ann B
1 April 2021|
Answer
Response from traey1944 |
Hiya Yes we will be open for takeaway and our outside seating see on the market place will also be open for customers to sit and eat and drink. Thanks
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SUMMERHOUSE BAKERY, Burton upon Trent - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Summerhouse Bakery

Yes, Summerhouse Bakery offers takeaway services.

Yes, Summerhouse Bakery offers delivery services.

Summerhouse Bakery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5