We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Derby Arms

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Epsom Downs, Epsom KT18 5LE, England
+44 1372 722330
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 553: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked a table for for dinner which in the pass had a good dining experiencd Unfortunately for we have booked on the evening before the pub shuts for refurbishment, which meant a reduced menu which I guess understandable but to find out they had no vodka, gin, several lager & no coffee, make me wonder why bother opening, not the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stevet159
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Steve, I'm sorry to hear that your recent visit to us here at the Derby Arms was disappointing. We have had to run our stock low to allow for a new range of drinks that will be coming when we open after our re-model, and unfortunately our coffee machine broke earlier this week! I can certainly appreciate that this... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Do not like the way it is laid out and chairs very heavy and noisy on the paving slabbed floor. Children not really welcome and shoved into a corner. Drinks very expensive,

Helpful?
Thank BrenT562
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Bren, I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience here at the Derby Arms. We have just closed for our remodel, and the lay out of the pub will be changing so I do hope that you can come back and give us another chance! We are a family-friendly pub and I am sorry to hear that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited the Derby Arms on a number of occasions before, and really enjoyed the food and atmosphere here. So it made an obvious choice for Valentines Day and further encouraged by a special Valentines Menu that included dishes such as Scallops, Chateaubriand, Steak and the inclusion of a glass of Prosecco. However, we could not have been more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin J
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Martin, Firstly, I'm really sorry that you had a disappointing experience here with us on Valentine's Day. We as a team, pride ourselves on our level of service and our food quality and I do apologise that both fell short on your visit to us. We are currently training new waiting staff in time for our refurbishment and I... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely location on the Downs, excellent parking makes this an easy meeting spot for business or pleasure. Wide range of good quality bar snacks and extensive restaurant menu, served indoors or outdoors in warmer weather. A long time favourite with pleasant accommodating staff.

Helpful?
Thank elizabeth2306
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Elizabeth, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us! I'm pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience here at the Derby Arms, I will certainly pass all your comments on to the team. I hope to welcome you back after our refurbishment in March! Kind regards, Alex More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service behind the bar was first class. Brought our drinks to the table a couple of times. Shame management can't organise there beer purchase though. No London Pride and after one round the Doombar was also off. Poor show for a pub not to have beer. Should be a one star but the barman was very good so it's up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian M
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Julian, Firstly, thank you very much for your lovely comments about our bar staff- they certainly work hard to ensure that all guests have a fantastic experience here with us. I am however sorry that the beer selection was limited on your visit to us. At the end of this week we are having a big refurbishment and will... More 

Epsom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice meal but terrible toilets. Very shabby with holes in the toilet base. Shame because the pub is nice and good food but toilets reflect badly on pub.

Helpful?
Thank hannah123ward
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Hannah, Firstly, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable meal with us but I am sorry that the toilets let us down on this occasion. We are aware that the bathrooms are in need of improving- we are having a big refurbishment starting on the 19th of February until the 8th of March where the whole... More 

Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here a few times. Always enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. But recently I have been disappointed with the menu. It lacks oomph too many dishes include cheese or cream. Dishes too complicated too many ingredients. Lack of vegetarian with out cheese. Lunch menu needs to be more exciting like wraps more sharing platters. Finger foods. Homemade pies. Great... More 

Helpful?
Thank lollysbar
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to us here at the Derby Arms- we really do appreciate all feedback in order to keep improving! I am however sorry to hear that recently you have been disappointed with our food menu. As you may know, we are part of Mitchell's... More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in the area visiting and we wanted to grab a bite to eat. We had been to the pub before in the summer and sat outside and had some snacks but jot tried the restaurant. Have to say was very happy with the food, steak was cooked well and chicken was good too. Service was great and our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Nick, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us! We really appreciate our guests taking the time to tell us about their experience here with us. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable dinner here with us. I will certainly pass your comments on to all the team and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here for dinner last night with my boyfriend- it was lovely. The food is a bit over price- for what you get anyway. But overall it was lovely! Every Wednesday that have an offer in place called 'couples night', as long as you are a pair- then you can get a three course meal for £25pp- inc a... More 

Helpful?
Thank CVC17
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us- we really appreciate the feedback! I'm sorry you thought it was a bit on the pricier side, but I am very pleased to hear that you have a lovely evening here with us. I will pass your kind comments on to all the team.... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

lovely food and great venue. It's place a would come back to if I'm in these parts of the world .........

Helpful?
Thank Thabiso m
DerbyArmsEpsom, Manager at The Derby Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thabiso, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this! I'm so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience here with us. We hope to welcome you back if you do come back to these parts of the world! Kind regards, Alex More 

Travellers who viewed The Derby Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Derby Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$29
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Epsom Downs, Epsom KT18 5LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Epsom
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 722330

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Derby Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Derby Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?