We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Duke is an award-winning pub located in the quintessential village of Tilford, near Farnham in Surrey, forming part of the Red Mist Leisure family of pubs. Offering a terrace and large pub garden with a dedicated bar and grill enabling you to relax in the summer sunshine whilst you watch your little ones at play in the custom-made, fenced off, safe play area. In the winter months, the pub has its log-burning fire roaring to create a wonderfully cosy and relaxed atmosphere. The pub is well known and popular for it's fresh, local and seasonal dishes, local craft ales, artisan gins and a great wine list that attracts custom from far and wide.
PRICE RANGE
£14 - £25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Free off-street parking, Wine and Beer, Live Music, Playgrounds, Dog Friendly, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,309)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,307 results
Traveller rating
733
328
141
61
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
733
328
141
61
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger pie fish and chips beef ice cream salad sunday roast pudding potatoes the pub tilford woods play area lovely lunch birthday lunch waiting staff lodge garden
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

The chicken breast was AMAZING and so was sticky toffee pudding. Waitress was lovely but seemed stressed out. Maybe understaffed/overworked.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This place has gone downhill dramatically, staff are rude and not very attentive. Food was substandard and does not reflect the prices. Will definitely not be going back until management is changed.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely awful. Booked a table and specifically requested in the corner because we have an autistic child. On arrival we were ignored at the bar, then told a table jn the corner wasn’t available but could have one in the middle of the noisy restaurant...or next to a table of ten !!!! Clearly no understanding of autism. We picked a table and it just got worse and worse. It took nearly an hour just for some drinks to arrive ! We had to go and ask if we could order both our drinks and our desserts and the attitude of the staff was horrific no apology no concern that we weren’t happy nothing. The fact that I also requested a table in a corner which there were many of for a disability reason and we booked weeks in advance because this was for a birthday and it wasn’t catered for I think is appalling jn this day and age and we won’t be returningMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've enjoyed eating at this pub on many occasions. However, on my latest visit the experience was not good. On arrival we were ignored (despite there being three people behind the bar), and they then served a customer who came in after we had arrived...- which was poor. Our booked table was not ready. We were seated near the doorway which was cold and drafty. Staff made no attempt to welcome us, apologise for the delay, or ask us if our food was OK. We felt rushed at every interaction. The food did arrive quickly (before the drinks), and looked OK, but my roast beef (£24.50) was half gristle. Even asking for a drink was rushed - and the waitress left before I could put my order in.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Duke of Cambridge used to be our restaurant of choice. Suggested budget cuts have led to he unavailability of menu options at every visit, watery, weak and lack lustre coffee and a cold dining room. Management appear to have attempted to disguise mediocre food...with fancy menu titles and too much salt that might fool some people some of the time e.g. Bang bang cauliflower!!! We found ourselves choosing the lowest common denominator on the menu (fish and chips and sausage and mash) just to be on the safe side. The staff on duty were great and do not deserve their management policies.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Warm and comfortable Very quiet (but was a stormy Tuesday evening) Staff very friendly and attentive, drinks arrived promptly as did the rest of the evening orders. Nice menu, a few bits were sold-out though. I only had two courses. Buttermilk chicken burger was delicious....THE most tender chicken burger I've had. Profiteroles were delicious too. Very pleasant evening. Food is possibly a little pricey, but actually, I don't mind as long as it's value for money! And it was. Thank you. Recommended. We'll be back, I'm sure.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Went here for a birthday meal on a Monday and had an early reservation. Upon arrival we were shown to seats which were right next to a door even though the restaurant was empty, the draught that came through was so cold I sat with...my coat on. There were no radiators on and the open fires were unlit. It was uncomfortable to say the least. We were advised that 3 things from the menu weren't on that night, and I will be honest and say we found the menu VERY limited. No hearty winter dishes, no selections of steaks and it was all a bit pretentious. After ordering 2 minute steaks we were told only one was available which left one guest opting for a burger, which was the only suitable option for them instead. The steak itself was chewy, cold and full of fat, so hugely disappointing. The habit of putting all of your items in seperate bowls on a plate or wooden tray is one of my least favourite things which restaurants do nowadays. The plates were cold and with all the food separated, that went cold pretty fast too. The ale selection was dreadful with only 1 available. The toilets may as well have been outside in a garden as they were beyond freezing. It really isn't comfortable or inviting having such a cold restaurant in the winter months. Didn't see a single member of a management team, it seemed to be run by 2 girls that looked extremely young and were more interested in talking, extremely loudly, amongst themselves and laughing like they were at a comedy show rather than working. Even though we were sat quite far away from the bar area there were a few occasions when we actually had to raise our voices in our group of 4, in an EMPTY restaurant I might add, to actually hear each other. It was unprofessional to say the least. Whilst we understand the restaurant was quiet that doesn't mean its a jolly up for staff members. I was unaware of the service charge until after we had left but had I noticed when we were there, there is no chance I would have agreed to it. I've loved this pub over the years, have always found the food to be excellent, the staff accommodating and its always had a lovely buzz about it. It was such a shame to experience it like this as it has certainly made us not want to return. It was over priced, uninviting, freezing cold and empty. All you can hope for is that it goes back to how it always used to be and that the staff are given better training and maybe some older management members are there to supervise.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Excellent ad hoc snack lunch and drink after a walk at nearby Frensham Ponds. Drinks, food (starters only) and service all very good. Pleasant interiors. Great beer from the Tilford Brewery adjacent to the pub. Part of the Grovenor Pub group formed as a subset...of Red Mist.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

This pub has so much potential but the quality of the food is very average. It feels neglected, the furnishings are shabby and it is on the grubby side. It feels as though it needs a refit. The staff aren’t welcoming and rather unprofessional and...scruffy. The restaurant area is also overly bright, just dimming the lighting would improve the atmosphere. It is a shame as the setting and outside areas are wonderful.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Visited this lovely country pub for lunch today after walk. They obviously had some staffing issues as wait times were high, but still couldn’t fault the service we received from the two girls out front. Both lovely and kept us informed and ensured we had...a good experience. Good food. Will visit again.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2023

Came here Boxing day for a family Christmas lunch. We pre-ordered our menu beforehand. The staff were truly excellent but unfortunately I can't say the same about the food. Very disappointing Turkey dinner with small inedible sprouts. The choux dessert was wet and inedible and...the Christmas pudding far too sweet with syrup sauce. We overheard 2 tables complaining about the veg and warm wine; one couple walked out..shame as the staff were all very nice.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023 via mobile

Ordered nibbles followed by mains. Chorizo snacks weren’t available and olives never did arrive. Hardly surprising as we had 4 different girls tending our table. Weren’t told that certain dishes were unavailable when menus handed to us. So, I ordered the fish pie and was...told there was none left. Such a ‘no no’ in any good restaurant. Admittedly, the food was very good. However, we weren’t asked, at any point, if we were enjoying/enjoyed our meal. We wouldn’t pay the 12.5% service charge but left a 10% cash tip for the service that was only just acceptable. Because of this, I expected to see the manager but, as we left, there was no sign of him/her.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Polly Gardner, General Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Dear lorical, Thankyou for your feedback. We are very disappointed to read your experience was far from what we strive to deliver, and we do apologise the communication regarding our shortages were missed on your table which is unacceptable. I have relayed this to the...More

Reviewed 30 October 2023

We went to this pub to try the daily inclusive menu advertised on the Web. When we ordered we were told it was only a la carte today! No mention of this on the Web although the waitress said there was. The food was mediocre,...my flat steak was pretty tasteless. The chips were good! The chairs very stained and we were very disappointed overall. We will not be returningMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Polly Gardner, General Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Dear 120manon, Thankyou for your feedback. We do apologise your visit was not what you were expecting, and we suffered some miscommunication around our set menu. We did unfortunately have shortages that meant we could not offer the whole menu, however the team should have...More

Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

We were visiting the lodges next door for the weekend and arrived early, so headed here for some drinks. Lovely welcome, great selection of drinks and our two dogs were more than welcomed in too! The menu looked great so we booked a table for...Sunday lunch. With me as a vegan and my other half not it was good to see different options for both of us. The whipped mushroom parfait was absolutely delightful as a starter! I had the veggie Wellington, made vegan. It was fine and I’ve certainly had worse. My only issue was there was an overwhelming taste of lemon from the Wellington and for £18.50….49p less than the full lamb roast, I felt my portion size was slightly unreasonable as a comparison in cost. Chuck some more veg on etc and I’d have been much happier paying that price for a roast that costs you much less to make with no meat or Yorkshire pudding etc. Overall a really nice little pub with nice food. Great kid’s play area in the garden and dogs welcome.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Polly Gardner, General Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear k823127, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us your lovely review, and I am very happy to read you had such a welcoming experience, and you were well looked after by the team. I have relayed your feedback to our kitchen team and...More

Reviewed 8 October 2023 via mobile

Disappointed. The roast 2 had was poor but the rest was good. If you serve bad food and someone complains, to charge the full price and offer a coffee as an apology isn't on. That's bad. Also - a coffee that probably cost you 20p...is a farce.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Polly Gardner, General Manager at The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear 967calc, Thankyou for taking the time to leave your review. I do apologise that your experience was let down by your parties 2 roasts, and that you feel it was not dealt with correctly. I have relayed this to the team, and investigated your...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
1,773 reviews
2.64 miles away
Bush Hotel Farnham
1,036 reviews
3.52 miles away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
1,437 reviews
3.77 miles away
The Charlton Boutique Hotel
20 reviews
3.92 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Barley Mow, Tilford
398 reviews
.65 miles away
Little Latte
12 reviews
.66 miles away
Tilford Village Shop
25 reviews
.65 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Frensham Little Pond
159 reviews
1.08 miles away
The Rural Life Living Museum
229 reviews
1.26 miles away
The Sculpture Park
1,311 reviews
1.98 miles away
Packhouse
184 reviews
3.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rusty1955
23 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Dwtilford |
Go to The Duke of Cambridge Tilford website, you will find the menus there.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE DUKE OF CAMBRIDGE, TILFORD, Farnham - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford

Yes, The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Duke of Cambridge, Tilford is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4