We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £20
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (258)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
111
79
26
20
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
111
79
26
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast cumberland sausage fish and chips sandwiches beef richmond park the pub lovely atmosphere pubs ale
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Very good food as usual with cosy vibe and good service. Perfect for a rainy day snuggle. Good wine, and food. Nice atmosphere

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Pioneer41480310503, Thank you so much for your kind review - I'll be sure to give the feedback to the team! Hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Katie

Reviewed 23 January 2024 via mobile

Popped in for a pint and stayed for a really delicious burger. Lovely chilled ambiance and great service from Katie and team.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Kez Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Hope to see you again soon! Brad

Reviewed 22 January 2024

I pre booked for my mothers 80th birthday. With a selection of ages. I preferentially asked for a space to be comfortable for elderly. This was not for filled I’d seen good reviews and the price point indicated good signs. However service lacked. No welcome...no menus no attentive staff. Food took 1 hour 30 to arrive lt was more than below par for price point the meat was good but the dishwater gravy and cold veg I’m happy to never see again….. very disappointing experience which I will never repeat. Go to the Alexander Putney Bridge road. Maybe they have spoiled me. They clear there tables here too….,. Good luck if you go here many do btw no figs in the crumble!!!! Very dry sticky toffee pudding no sticky 😵More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Victoria B, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

We visited today for a couples meet up, the service from Katie was lovely. The food was delicious, and although it was a quiet evening the atmosphere was great. Would highly recommend this pub for a night out.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Natasha P, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Albert!

Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

Nice light dinner the fish cakes were quite nice and so was the grilled Camembert. The type of bread was just right that went really nice with the Camembert Will for sure visit again. Thank you

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 31 December 2023

Excellent family lunch. Great service. Menu was excellent as were beers. Looking forward to coming back.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 29 December 2023

This spot is cosy and the atmosphere is lovely, however I ordered loaded chips (a sharer starter) thinking it would be big, I waited 50 mins (which is very long but there was 16 of us) and was very underwhelmed. Although other people ordered burgers...which looked great and they said tasted very good. Staff seem nice however there aren't many. I would go again but maybe order a burger next time and hopefully the wait isn't too long!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 17 December 2023

Very disappointing Sunday lunch! Extremely under staffed and kept waiting for such a long time for more drinks and to take food orders. Some drinks never turned up and had to go up and use the bar. Very limited menu, and quite possibly the worst...roast I’ve ever had! Beef was extremely rare, potatoes were awfully cold and hard, soggy cabbage and a flat Yorkshire pudding. Had to wait over 5 min after receiving our roast for our extras which was cold cauliflower cheese and “roast”veg which was more soggy cabbage & a hard potato! Was not offered desserts and the only time we saw the waiter since serving our food was to be handed our bill which we never asked for as the table was needed for another group! Never will we be coming here again! We also heard other people complain about their food, saying the roast is not usually this bad! Very disappointed, especially as our group bill was over £500!!!!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Hi Kayley W, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

Reviewed 17 December 2023

Booked for 17 people months in advance for a family christmas meal, we asked weather or not we needed to pre order our food as you would expect for that many people and time of year, however we was told no need, arrived on the...day to find out the car park has been turned into outdoor seating and that you would have to find a space on one of the back roads that was not permits only, we had the balcony area inside the pub, nice little area just enough space for the 17 of us including 3 very young children who required high chairs (high chair request had been made months in advance to ) however this pub only has 2 high chairs in the entire building. The member of staff come and took orders for the drinks and brought them over quickly which also became apparent that there is only 2 members of staff doing the waiting for the entire pub on a Sunday. Ordered the food to be told they only had 2 camemberts obviously this wouldn’t have been an issue if they had let us pre order, also had no tomato pasta for the children either. 8 of us ordered the roast beef, however it was hands down the worst roast any of us had ever witnessed been put together, half a carrot , no swede, a handful of soggy shredded cabbage , 2 1/2 undercooked potatoes 3 slivers of beef still mooing and a Yorkshire pudding that had been through the trenches, the only plus side to it was the gravy was actually ok. As for the sides I would not waste your time ordering these as they are also awful , roast veg consisted of another handful of soggy cabbage and 2 not even roasted potatoes and that was it, the mash was edible, and the cauliflower cheese is abysmal. ( don’t waste the money) The fish and chips looked ok for the adult and also the child’s portion was decent. Didn’t even get to the pudding section as due to no staff working the plates that we piled up and scraped ourselves to make it easier for the staff that were working was not collected for a good while even though our table was booked at 12 and another table of 14 were booked for 3:30pm at 3:15 we was still waiting for plates to be cleared to then be told oh the next party has arrived and that we would have to vacate and pay the bill. The bill came to £502 which included the 12.5% service charge which we was considering to asked to be taken of it but thought that was unfair on the actual staff members that done the best they could so left it, also we paid a £70 deposit to be taken of the bill which apparently they couldn’t sort out at the time so will need to be refunded at a later date. All in all the food is terrible, very slow service due to staff shortages and will not be returning here again unless we hear better reviews coming from the place.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Harley N, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

Reviewed 17 December 2023

Although I didn't feel the waiting staff were at fault at all, they were both very pleasant (understaffed and busy) we will definitely not return. The beef was VERY rare, (not given a choice) and had no flavour whatsoever. Roast potatoes hard, extra 'roast' veg...turned out to be a ladle of cabbage and another sad potato. We were not offered dessert or coffee. Crab cake starter ok. Very disappointing.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Geraldine C, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Reviewed 2 December 2023

Absolutely fabulous evening with a group of family comprising of adults and children. We had the downstairs area to ourselves which gave the children a bit of room to roam freely without bothering other customers. The service was outstanding - thank you Adam and the...rest of the team. I had the plant burger which was good, standard pub fare. The kids were very happy with the fish goujons, sausage, chips and tomato pasta. Desserts went down very well. Overall fantastic and highly recommended.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2023

Hi Sara. Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you and your family in with us. I will pass your comments onto Adam and our kitchen team Brad

Reviewed 26 November 2023

Lovely Saturday evening catching up with family. Food was delicious & the pub was so warm and welcoming, candles lite with a lovely Christmas vibe. Taylor was great, to knowledge our dog as well was brilliant as a lot of place aren’t dog friendly or...don’t like to approach because the bull breed. Look forward to further visits.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Thank you for the lovely review mandy! we look forward to seeing you again! Ken Assistant Manager

Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

Great service , great food , lovely relaxed atmosphere. We set up a tab when we arrived as we were ordering lunch. Jude looked after us and was lovely .

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas Ryan, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Hi Sally, Thank you for your lovely review. I'll pass your comments on to the fantastic Jude Brad.

Reviewed 3 November 2023

Brilliant work-spot! I’ve been coming here for ages. Excellent coffee, and wonderful service! Highly recommend

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas Ryan, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Hi Gemima, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's a pleasure welcoming you to our pub Hope to see you again soon Brad

Reviewed 2 October 2023

Had a nice time here, only thing- we asked the nice Spanish lady for some forks for our cake... I think she forgot . Other than that very good place for parties and food. Thank you.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Youngs Pubs, General Manager at The Albert, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Glad you had a good experience. One thing though we don't have any ladies working here at the moment. If you could give me a call to discuss who the lady was...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Warren House Hotel
1,364 reviews
.74 miles away
Travelodge London Kingston upon Thames
136 reviews
.78 miles away
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames Central
1,002 reviews
.83 miles away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
945 reviews
.94 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wych Elm
397 reviews
.44 miles away
Trattoria Calabrese
521 reviews
.27 miles away
Roz Ana
595 reviews
.20 miles away
The Pottery Tapas bar
357 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
"Out of Order" by David Mach
338 reviews
.76 miles away
Canbury Gardens
87 reviews
.90 miles away
Kingston Museum & Heritage Service
50 reviews
.84 miles away
Kingston upon Thames - Shepperton Ferry Trail
30 reviews
.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
surreybaggie54
18 September 2021|
Answer
Response from Harley N | Reviewed this property |
No, no parking at all, car park has been turned into outdoor seating and the side roads are permits only as being so close to the train station and hospital
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ALBERT, Kingston upon Thames - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Albert

The Albert is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4