We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bear

££ - £££
British, Gastropub, Bar
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Leatherhead Road, Leatherhead KT22 0JE, England
+44 1372 842747
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 250: English reviews
Level Contributor
145 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We often drive past this pub, and decided to stop for a comfort break. It looked inviting, and as it was between Christmas and New Year and we had just come back from abroad, we decided to have a meal. The mulled wine was lovely, not too strong, just right, I had the beef pie and my husband the vegetable... More 

Thank Mika55_9
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hello Mika55_9 The team at The Bear Oxshott is delightful to know that you had such an enjoyable time with us. Did you know the the mulled wine we have served was actually our own recipe? Did you also know that our Head Chef was semi finalist at the Masterchef 2012? We put a lot of effort to please all... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We ate in the Bear many years ago but moved on when food quality declined. Now years later my daughter told me she had a good experience here so we signed up to the website. Ahead of my birthday I received an email offering a free bottle of Prosecco. I don't like to look a gift horse in the mouth... More 

BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi FEZAROO, We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your last experience here at The Bear Oxshott, specially on such a special day. We are always looking forward for areas to improve and clearly quality food is one of them. As you can read here, many of other guests are happy with our food and some like you are not... More 

Oxshott, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited The Bear Pub in Oxshott Sunday for a roast dinner. To our amazement the plate consited of few indescribable mashed vegetables with what it seems microwaved potatoes instead of nicely fresh roast potatoes. Overdried Yorkshire pudding with none existent gravy! When are you going to relist on your menu a nice traditional roast dinner with fresh simple ingredients!!!!!!!

1 Thank amgmbuilders
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi amgmbuilders, In an a pub like The Bear Oxshott there is always room for improvements and we need customers feedback to guide our improvements to the right way. We appreciate your review and I would like to invite for one last try. We adjust our menus based on customer needs/likes. Based on that, I would like to let you... More 

Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for an evening meal with friends to try out the new restaurant and menu and generally visit a refurbished old favourite place of ours. WE went on Friday evening and had a table for four booked at 8 pm. The pub was very very busy which we thought meant that it must be excellent and popular! Our table... More 

1 Thank Janet R
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi Janet R, Here at The Bear Oxshott we are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your last experience with us. I have to agree it is not acceptable to forget one meal. We have already identified the waiter who has taken the first 3 meals to your table and briefed him and the whole team about the right practice... More 

Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were keen to check out the renovation and try The Bear (used to visit often). We had ordered chicken starter and two mains. The food all arrived together. Chicken was burnt and looked horrible. To be fair - waiting staff did take it off the bill. The excuse was that the head chef had gone home! Hmm ... Mains... More 

1 Thank Daddys_dd
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hello Daddys_dd, Thanks for your time reviews The Bear Oxshott. We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your most recent visit. From the starters and mains being served together to the Ice Cream on top of the Brownie instead of on the side it was clearly a miscommunication. This is an issue that we can control and improve in a... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

5 years ago we stopped going to The Bear as the service was so slow it spoiled the experience. This happened on three occasions so we new it was not a one off. We noticed it had recently been renovated so we decided to give it another go. Sadly there has not been an improvement. If anything it has got... More 

Thank Grant L
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hello Grant L, The team at The Bear Oxshott is very sorry for you most recent experience. Since the refurbishment we have had, loads of things have been changed such as menus, service methods, team members and so on. The experience you described is clearly not what we aim to provide. I would like to invite for one last try... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked The Bear for my husbands birthday lunch, my Son & his girlfriend are both vegan, so I had called up, prior to making a reservation, to check the menu. I was told that the nut roast they had on their menu was vegan, the person I spoke with apparently checked with the chef, so made a booking based... More 

Thank Penny P
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi Penny P, I have no words to describe how sorry I am regarding all the mistakes we have made through your meal in such a special day. I really find no reason for all of these miscommunication and poor performance. We have served many vegan meals before so I don't see why would this happen. We would like to... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff pleasant Surrounding good Food not cooked , had to send back then overcooked and unedible. Expensive for what you get

Thank Shirley R
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Dear Shirley R, At The Bear Oxshott we always aim to prove great customer service and great freshly cooked food. I understand that you are happy with the team members however the food didn't meet your expectations. For that reason I would like to invite you for another visit so we can surprise you with fresh and tasty dishes cooked... More 

Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 10 which was a perfect number for the private dining room. Food and service was both excellent which made for a very enjoyable evening.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Thank eshergirl
BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hi Eshergirl, Here at The Bear we are pleased to how that you have enjoy so much your most recent experience. We hope to see you all again soon. Did you know that we are changing some dishes and wines next week? Thank you so much for the time to review us! Jose Santos More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for lunch at the Bear for the first time and pleased to find a cosy clean interior and young staff pleasant and helpful. Parking at back. From menu we chose the cod and chips which turned out to be an enormous helping, which my colleague couldn't finish and I had the sea Bream with dauphinoise potatoes which was... More 

BEAROX, Supervisor at The Bear, responded to this review

Hello RGNLONDON, Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your experience at The Bear. Let me just add that apart from the big car park at the back we also have a few more parking bays at the front which allows us to hold big parties or just a busy... More 

Travellers who viewed The Bear also viewed

Oxshott, Surrey
Leatherhead, Surrey
Leatherhead, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey

Been to The Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$37
British, Gastropub, Bar
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Television
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Leatherhead Road, Leatherhead KT22 0JE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Leatherhead
  • Phone Number: +44 1372 842747

The Bear offers dining throughout, a warm sociable bar area, relaxed back garden with summer barbecue and a stunning front terrace, with service, for both dining and drinks when it is fit to sit outside.

All our food is freshly prepared on the premises by our dedicated kitchen team. Our menus are seasonal. You can expect to see influences of this in our core dishes and daily specials.

On Sundays we offer prime home cooked roast dinners with seasonal accompaniments.

Private dining facilities are also available for an intimate occasion with colleagues, friends or family for parties of up to twelve.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bear staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?