We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spice

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
45
10
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
45
10
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curries chicken tikka naan bread indian food best indian special requests delicious food generous portions spicy dish parade presentation
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2019

We have been a few times, but since the last time we went they have completely re furbished it and it looks amazing and is much larger and airier. The food and service was excellent and they have really tried to up their game. I...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Debbie B
Reviewed 23 November 2018 via mobile

Very poor puri and nans. Very under cooked and too oily. We use this place as our local take-away-- but not anymore. Pity.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gerjkelly
sul_pervez2002, Owner at The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

I am very sorry to hear your experience. I can assure that we take every feedback to improve our service and product. I would urge you to call us to tell us what exactly the problem with food. Then It would have been easier for...More

Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Just had a takeaway tonight, the Spice was extremely busy yet the quality was still great especially the vegetable curry, service was also the usual friendly approach, I will be back!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Stephen H
sul_pervez2002, Owner at The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback, it will definaltely motivate us to do better in coming future

Reviewed 7 November 2018

We took over the whole restaurant for a charity dinner for an Indian street kids project. Everyone seemed happy with the event - the staff were very friendly and accommodating about our various special requests. The food was excellent - spicy and light, not rich...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Rod W
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Visited in July, food was nice however i noticed the service charge on the bill after i had paid and extra tip. Didn’t mention this at the time but i did hear the staff becoming heated with another customer. We paid and left and will...More

Date of visit: July 2018
3  Thank sc00bsuk
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent food. Very tasty and different to that of your average Indian. However, “Mr Charisma” provided a shockingly terrible service. Asking us to love our table back numerous times. No asking how our food was. In fact, no conversation whatsoever. No smile. Very rude. No...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank jak1212
sul_pervez2002, Owner at The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hi Jack Thanks for your feedback. You haven’t response to my email that I have sent to you, it would have been easier to understand your concerns. As I have previously mentioned we value our customer feedback to improve our service at spice. I have...More

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Small but it's still perfect. The food is divine. Great choice on the menu. Lots of different dishes to try. Staff are friendly.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Anj9170
sul_pervez2002, Owner at The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, which motivate us to do better in coming future. See you soon ..

Reviewed 1 July 2018

Visited this restaurant with friends on Saturday evening, this was about our 6th visit here in the last 12 months, Reading through tripadvisor a previous customer had noted that they add service charge automatically to the bill yet all the time we had eaten there...More

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank Yvonne J
sul_pervez2002, Owner at The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Yvonne, it’s very disappointing the fact that after explaining the procedure we follow at Spice, Virginia Water, it is very common practice to add service charge. However it’s not mendatory as I have explained to you on that evening. As you may have noticed we...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Used this restaurant several times and enjoyed the food. It always seems quite expensive by the time you give a tip. This time we noticed there was a very untidy sc half way up the bill. We asked and was told it was a service...More

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank greyhoundmick
sul_pervez2002, Owner at The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

it’s very disappointing the fact that after explaining the procedure we follow at Spice, Virginia Water, you still feel that way. it is very common practice to add service charge. However it’s not mendatory as I have explained to your friend Yvonne on that evening....More

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent..Everything is well prepared, good service.Northern Indian cuisine. Small restaurant, like 6 tables. Good choice near Wentworth.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank barcatripleta2009
sul_pervez2002, Owner at The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Look forward to serve you again in future

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
97 reviews
.88 miles away
Wheatsheaf Hotel
429 reviews
1.31 miles away
Great Fosters
1,367 reviews
1.32 miles away
Foxhills
877 reviews
2.07 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
La Piazzetta
154 reviews
.00 miles away
The Rose and Olive Branch
263 reviews
.83 miles away
Casa Nova
168 reviews
.13 miles away
The Wine Circle
146 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
Virginia Water lake
187 reviews
1.62 miles away
Royal Holloway
161 reviews
1.63 miles away
Great Cockcrow Railway
92 reviews
2.36 miles away
Air Forces Memorial
183 reviews
2.45 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Spice staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing