We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wernley

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B68 0LR, England
+44 121 423 2805
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (4 reviews)
“mash” (2 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B68 0LR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I visited this pub Feb in2018. This is a sizzler pub, so basic pub grub and reasonable prices. I ordered the rump steak and chips. npow normally I order steak to be well done and I find it usually done medium, which...More

Thank lazza10
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi thank you for your feedback I will pass your comments on to the team to make sure we get right for you

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good value hot food served well. No suprises, you get exacrtly what it says on the menu. We particularly ike their breakfasts, steak and chicken sizzlers. Clean surroundings, large car park, suitable for disabled, clean and tidy.

Thank lindadelaney06
General Manager A, General Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind comments we always feel we are good value for money.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub needs a refurbishment- NOW , not in the near future but NOW. I urge the brewery to take note before it’s closed down to protect the public. Please take some note - I’m thinking of putting a complaint to the local government health...More

Thank donkey123411
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

the pub is getting refurbished

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whitest ordering food I gave the man behind the bar my phone as my AA membership give me 20% discount toward food and drink. The male have been drinking at the bar from when I got there then said I can’t do it it won’t...More

Thank mikes6789
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

i must apologise for the assistant managers behaviour I was on compassionate leave at the time hence him being in charge glad you enjoyed your food and this is not his normal behaviour

Reviewed 7 February 2018

We went for food on a Saturday night we had not eaten here before. We ordered two burgers and chips and when it came the chips were so over done we left most of them, the burger was burnt and bacon could have been warmer...More

Thank vixii21
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Sorry we disappointed you but thank you for your feedback constructive criticism we welcome so we can improve

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We come here often for a drink and occasionally for a meal. The staff Andy, Lauren , Chloe, Jamie, Ant and Chloe are friendly and accommodating and often it is very busy. The manager Julie is not bad either. Part of the sizzling pub chain...More

Thank ANGIEB60187059
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words we try to please and I agree we are looking a bit tired in places let’s keep our fingers crossed . I appreciate your feedback

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This used to be a lovely pub and restaurant but visited yesterday for a meal and couldn't believe how disgusting the restaurant was. Broken window with the curtain pulled across to cover the draft as they had only protected it with cardboard on the outside....More

Thank Ann N
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Sorry we wasn’t up to our usual standards for you,unfortunately we had been broken into, and like you’ve pointed out I thought the temporary repair was awful and I had reported it but under the circumstances I could do no more other than pull the...More

Reviewed 22 January 2018

Went for a meal with family down from Cumbria, what a disappointment !! Ordered 3 south caroliner sizzling steaks, only to find out that they had no prawns so were using shrimps, when they came , the skillets were only just warm and so were...More

Thank kevinhawkins258
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

I am sorry you were disappointed in your meals and that we didn't get it right for you. It is not our usual standard

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Just wanted to commend all the staff on their hard work over the festive period and shout out to the RBM/Building manager to get this pub a well deserved refurb. The toilets are horrendous, they stink of mould and damp the fixtures and fittings are...More

Thank LoopLou74
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

thank you for the rating sorry our décor disappoints you we have just had new flooring in the ladies unsure when we will get the refurb but I look forward to your continued support and custom

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

The food was really bad. I never write bad reviews but this was bad! Complete waste of money. There's one member of staff who serves at the bar. An elderly lady with glasses and blonde hair, I've never came across a more miserable rude person...More

Thank Stacey D
General Manager A, Manager at The Wernley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

I'm very sorry you had a bad experience. We don't normally get it wrong, but we have took your feedback on board and will try and improve.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Oldbury
Le Chene Hotel
155 reviews
.27 miles away
Birmingham Best Inn Hotel
404 reviews
.52 miles away
Smithy's Hotel
15 reviews
1.43 miles away
Woodlands Hotel
88 reviews
1.61 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Shapla Rani
53 reviews
.44 miles away
Prince of India
24 reviews
.49 miles away
The George
36 reviews
.48 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Warley Woods
54 reviews
.60 miles away
Blackheath Market
13 reviews
1.87 miles away
Ian Jelf Guided Tours - Day Tours
17 reviews
1.14 miles away
Fixed Wheel Micro Brewery
11 reviews
1.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wernley staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B68 0LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Sandwell  >  Oldbury
  • Phone Number: +44 121 423 2805
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing