We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The South Downs

) #124 of 133 Restaurants in Bognor Regis £ , British,
133 Felpham Way, Bognor Regis PO22 8QJ, England
+44 1243 855834
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good13%
  • Average19%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible40%
Travellers talk about
“pub grub” (4 reviews)
“lovely pub” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
133 Felpham Way, Bognor Regis PO22 8QJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My wife and I just wanted a quick cheap and cheerful meal or a good value for money deal We called in on our way home and we got two very good meals for just over £20 A very cheerful pub quite a few tables...More

Thank nigel h
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Went here yesterday for lunch with my mum ordered kebab starter which was very nice mum ordered tuna jacket which was ordinary. Went to use toilets 3 out of 4 had no toilet paper and the other had soaking wet loo paper. Told waitress who...More

Thank Jane H
Tony R, General Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi and thanks for your review. My apologies that you found no toilet paper available. This would have been picked up on out hourly toilet check and would have been corrected immediately. Many Thanks

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have normally enjoyed a visit to the South Downs but we were very disappointed on this visit, no draft ales available (I was served a pint of London Pride but it was opaque, one of the cloudiest pints I have seen) had to settle for...More

Thank charlie_gregory
Tony R, General Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, we did have an issue with dispensing of our ales over the weekend which wasn't resolved until later in the day...I would be interested to know what time you visited us as we were offering Beef, Chicken and Gammon until quite...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Poped in for a bite to eat with the family, the staff where amazing and friendly, all knew what they where talking about and always had a smile on their faces, food wasn't over priced, quick service although it was busy and the food was...More

1  Thank Daniel G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok, so I've read the reviews like everyone else but I have to say when I've been in and had lunch it has always been good food, service and reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and courteous. Compared to other similar pubs it fits...More

Thank S M
Tony R, General Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your comments. You will be pleased to hear that a refurb is scheduled for later on this year. We look forward to seeing you again soon....

Reviewed 13 July 2017

we popped in for a quick bit to eat on Monday evening. The pub was busy, I always think this is a good sign. We ordered drinks , I had a pint of Doonbar and my wife had half of doonbar shandy. picked our table...More

1  Thank ray1960everest
Tony R, Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. We always try very hard to make our guests feel welcome so it is pleasing to hear that your visit was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Again staff problems Saturday night walked in to be met by tables with finished food and empty glasses on them , one person serving behind the bar so a bit of a wait to get served Nice evening so sat in the near empty garden...More

Thank Clive C
Tony R, General Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

I have to strongly disagree with your review!. Firstly there were four front of house members of staff on duty on Saturday evening, our garden is thoroughly swept/debris removed every day and monitored every hour. Our seating is far from rickety. I am so sorry...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We live very near to this pub and many years ago used to eat here regularly. When it changed management a few years ago we had a few bad meals with horrendous service so stopped going here. We recently decided to give it another chance....More

Thank Ann H
Tony R, General Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

I would have been more than happy to look into this for you if you had made your concerns known at the time of your visit. Contrary to your claims we are fully stocked with all of our draft products including bitters and also chicken...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

I used to come here all the time, however my friend and I visited recently and the food was absolutely terrible. We opted for a backhouse burger each- which we usually get at our local chain The Wheatsheaf( food is 100x better). There was minimal...More

Thank Melissa M
Tony R, General Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

We don't sell a 'Backhouse Burger'. Your picture looks like a Black and Blue Burger and we are not in the habit of serving raw chips and burnt burgers!

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I am appalled by the service and the cleanliness of the pub! Which is a terrible shame as we were regulars weekly! What has happened!??? The floor was filthy at 11am unhoovered throughout and dirty! The skirting boards were black and caked in dust (I...More

Thank LMUNN
Tony R, General Manager at The South Downs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Cleaning is undertaken every morning and tables and our menus are cleaned after each guest vacates their tables so I am at loss regarding your comments. I would be most grateful if you would contact me as a matter of urgency to discuss your comments....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fox Inn
333 reviews
.74 miles away
Carlyle's Cafe & Restaurant
104 reviews
.90 miles away
The Lobster Pot
658 reviews
.91 miles away
Restaurant in BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
60 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary's Church
10 reviews
.70 miles away
Hotham Park
359 reviews
1.35 miles away
Bailiffscourt Health Spa
110 reviews
2.65 miles away
Bognor Regis Museum
141 reviews
1.97 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The South Downs staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$18
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Television, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 133 Felpham Way, Bognor Regis PO22 8QJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Arun District  >  Bognor Regis
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 855834
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing