We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse

) #1 of 3 Restaurants in Climping ££ - £££ , British,
Climping Street | Climping Street, Climping, England
+44 1903 715175
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“liver” (7 reviews)
“skate wing” (4 reviews)
“parsnips” (4 reviews)
Closes in 11 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Climping Street | Climping Street, Climping, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Some previous TripAdvisor reviews rated the Black Horse quite highly. We choose the simplest meal on the menu, burgers and to be fair they were presented with no frills and relatively cheap. They did fill a hole but not quite matching some previous gushing descriptions....More

Thank Mellis41
Reviewed 4 days ago

The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was of a good standard and well prepared by the chef. We would definitely recommend you pop in for a meal.

Thank pmcclarty
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2 of us came here for the evening and had a burger each. The Burgers are delicious, juicy, perfectly cooked and full of flavour. The London pride and Doom bar washed our burgers down nicely.

Thank aglaiaman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was all right and the member of staff who served us was very friendly but that was all. The vegetarian cottage pie was excellent but the ricotta and spinach cannelloni was swimming in a greasy cheese topping. Our friendly young man disappeared and...More

Thank Gillian W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went there for Tuesday lunch ,the bar stalf very friendly but no draft lager ,We orders fresh dressed crab with new potatoes and salad.This was very disappointing as we were both expecting fresh crab, it was reconstructed crab in a shell that had proably been...More

Thank iansturtevant
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went to Black Horse for a meal last night. Shock horror no DRAUGHT LAGER, oh dear not good.We ordered our meal ample portion and of good quality one complaint would be sorry but I object to the pub dog sitting at my table begging. That...More

Thank isanue
Kevpat63, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. the lager situation is just a blip due to running out because of hot weather, we are raising our order to make sure we don't get caught short again. apologies for the pub dog, waiting staff should have noticed...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017

I love pubs like this friendly and unpretentious with pleasant staff. My missus and me popped in here on the way to climping beach. i had the grilled skate wing with boiled spuds and vedge the wife had cod and chips with vedge both under...More

Thank mangospink
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Met up with some friends at this pub - first time there for both couples - all of us were deeply impressed by the food, service and ambience...............what a pub should be!! The food was all cooked from fresh, not a single frozen chip in...More

1  Thank CyprusJudge
Kevpat63, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you very much for a lovely review. we lokk forward to seeing you again. kind regards, The black horse team.

Reviewed 8 June 2017

Maybe we caught the place on an off-day, but the crab salad was not fresh, a bit of a crime when the sea is so close. The beer was flat and so was the soft drink we ordered. The staff were friendly and the service...More

Thank Evan B
Reviewed 8 June 2017

First time visit, but won't be the last. Friendly welcome, good service and excellent food. A hidden gem, worth the diversion off the main road.

Thank Mark P
Kevpat63, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, the black horse team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Climping Beach Cafe
99 reviews
.34 miles away
The Oystercatcher
682 reviews
.44 miles away
The Tapestry Restaurant at the Bailiffscourt Hotel
65 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bailiffscourt Health Spa
109 reviews
.02 miles away
Harbour Park
295 reviews
1.62 miles away
Jericho's Sweet Store
47 reviews
3.24 miles away
St Mary's Church
9 reviews
3.35 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kaleigh B
10 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Kevpat63 | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, I am presuming Christmas 2017 ? yes we will be doing a Christmas carvery as per usual 3 course for £39.50 per head. Kind regards, Kevin Harrington.
0
Votes
MissLollyB
29 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Mumfy33 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is
2
Votes
Heather186374
27 May 2016|
Answer
Response from miniminxSouthwest |
they do. noisy rooms.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Climping Street | Climping Street, Climping, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Arun District  >  Climping
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 715175
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing