We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sloop Inn

££ - £££, British,
Sloop Lane | Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath RH17 7NP, England
+44 1444 831219
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (15 reviews)
“ciabatta” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Sloop Lane | Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath RH17 7NP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 167 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We celebrated my parents wedding anniversary with a family dinner last week. We did not have to pre order & all 16 of us had our meals served at the same time. The food & service was excellent. A lovely evening. We will definitely return,...More

Thank AAAA333
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have supported the Sloop since it reopened (we literally live up the road), but our meal last night was, quite frankly, disappointing. The menu has been changed from good old fashioned pub grub to an attempt to emulate the kind of complicated (and sometimes...More

Thank Brymac9
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for supporting us since we opened, we appreciate return custom. To address the issues that you have raised, we would like to ask why when you were asked if everything was okay, did you not say to our servers that anything was wrong?...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped at the pub before going on a local walk and for a drink at the end. The food was great but the service was exceptional! The staff were really friendly and welcoming. It added to what made a lovely day.

Thank Debra K
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, its always great to get good feedback! We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I popped into the Sloop one lunchtime recently after a very enjoyable morning spent on the nearby Bluebell Railway. The Sloop is a very nicely appointed pub in a picturesque spot in the Sussex countryside. The lunchtime menu was short, but tempting....More

Thank SussexAdventurers
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 7 September 2018

We had a lovely evening at The Sloop Inn with the family! We were super impressed by the food, a really interesting array of dishes. Plus, when asked they provided a beautiful list of vegan meal options which were so delicious! Definitely would recommend! Can't...More

1  Thank Eleanor H
Reviewed 7 September 2018

The Sloop is my "local", and I eat there often with friends. Jack and the other chefs have excelled themselves with this new menu. Creative, tasting superb, beautifully presented food with a wonderful blend of flavours blending together from the different local and fresh ingredients.

1  Thank nickhawes25
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We went for a Saturday lunch during the summer holidays, having pre-booked a table by phone. The Sloop is a pretty red-brick building tucked away between Horsted Keynes and Scaynes Hill, in a quiet, rural area. There are two car parks; one next to the...More

2  Thank lucyinsussex2018
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Funny when you go somewhere, have a great time, then happen to notice the recent poor reviews on here... We went on a Friday night, two couples plus dogs. Service was good from the off. I had mackerel, then lamb. Very good quality, and no...More

1  Thank ThraleR
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 12 August 2018

Our usual pub of choice (The Gardners Arms) was unfortunately fully booked so we thought we'd try here, our first impressions were very good but... There was a rather horrible smell in the garden where we were sat, I think there must have been an...More

1  Thank K S
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Disappointing follow such a fab previous review. Problems in the kitchen maybe but even with the best of company an hour and 15 to wait for meals is a bit of a stretch. General lack of service was experienced having to get own menus also....More

Thank keaneUK
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

We are very sorry you had a disappointing visit, you are quite right a combination of the busiest Saturday we have had in two and half years, along with a deficiency of staff compromised our service on the evening. We can only apologise and we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Birch Hotel
453 reviews
2.70 miles away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
866 reviews
5.14 miles away
The Roebuck Hotel
624 reviews
5.16 miles away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
1,749 reviews
5.62 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Farmers
81 reviews
1.29 miles away
The Elephant Cafe
31 reviews
1.66 miles away
Trading Boundaries Cafe Bar
230 reviews
1.69 miles away
The Crown Inn Restaurant
309 reviews
2.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bluebell Vineyard Estates
52 reviews
1.32 miles away
Bluebell Railway
1,322 reviews
1.34 miles away
High Weald Dairy
51 reviews
1.75 miles away
The Stand Up Inn
26 reviews
2.46 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Sloop Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sloop Lane | Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath RH17 7NP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 831219
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing