We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wheatley Arms

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley, England
+44 1943 816496
Website
Today
08:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 273: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was bad - kitchen can not cook properly Service - terrible. Slow and disinterested Would not return. ever

Helpful?
Thank Ukbase2014
WAManagement, Manager at The Wheatley Arms, responded to this review

I would love to hear from you what had gone so badly wrong for you on your visit to us! Please feel free to email me directly or via our website so I can address whatever issues had occurred. We have lots of happy regular customers who come back time and time again because of the food and service they... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was quite shocked to see the latest reviews were quite poor! We stayed at the hotel as we were attending a friend's birthday party and it was fantastic. The hotel is gorgeous with lovely quirky decor which I'm told is for sale if you fancy anything. We were in room 7 and we were impressed with unusual touches that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anita B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here a fair few times before but our latest visit was really disappointing. Service was really average-not one person who served us smiled and everyone just seemed as though they couldn't be bothered. There were only three main courses on the menu on a Saturday afternoon and two of these were a burger and fish and chips which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morag2201
Ilkley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived for lunch and the restaurant was fairly busy but we had booked. After about 20 minutes our order was taken but it took another hour for our food to arrive. 2 prawn salads, fish butty, fish pie and a child's fish and chips. We complained, as did the other three tables who had been there longer than us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimm F
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

A really disappointing experience. 20 mins to take a drinks order. another 25 mins before they would even take food order 'because their kitchen was busy', then a 50 minute wait for food (that wasn't worth the wait) that was served so slowly that some members of our party had finished before others even got theirs. Poor service. Poor Food.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

We had a table of five,,the Restsurant was overun by most people eating their £5 Fish and Chip night,which certainly gets the numbers in and puts the staff under a lot of pressure.However my group were eating off The Main Menu, and we all had Queeny Scallops to start with these we're cooked in a ramikin dish in a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner are frequent visitors at the Wheatley Arms and surprised my parents by paying for them and taking them for the evening. Michelle was wonderful, saved a table for us for the day time entertainment and negotiated a good price for us for both rooms. We stayed in rooms 3 and 4, which are the bigger of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane A
yorkshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017

We ate in this restaurant as we stayed at the hotel. It was very good, and very enjoyable, The menus had a reasonable variety of dishes. We can recommend the chicken dish and the steak dish. The cheeseboard was huge, enough to share. The feel of the restaurant is good, traditional, spacious and intimate seating in parts. Lovely place, staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank susa27
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

This was a family meal. We had reserved in advance. The main issue was the poor service - they refused to take our order for half an hour as the kitchen was busy. -then when we complained about the wait, they said it was only 50 minutes from ordering. The food, for 7 people, came in 2 lots, about 5... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grozzer71
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Our first meal here and very enjoyable. We met friends from Denholme as this was almost half way. It turned out to be a good choice with a good pub menu, friendly staff and good beer. Certainly worth the journey. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Alan M

Travellers who viewed The Wheatley Arms also viewed

 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 16:00
Thursday
08:00 - 16:00
Friday
08:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Ilkley
  • Phone Number: +44 1943 816496

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wheatley Arms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatley Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?