We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Castle Hotel Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Bar
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
47
25
11
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
47
25
11
13
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Put in here for 1 night whilst in Devizes by my employers. What a shame the usual hotel was full as this place was awful. Car parking is opposite in a open car park (free after 6pm). During check in, they could not find my...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Sunny P
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Took my family out for a Carvery, staff were very helpful but standard of the Carvery was awful meat choices were beef ,pork, gammon of which the gammon was ok the beef was tough and there was no way you could eat it ,roast potatoes...More

3  Thank hoopsrus999
OldSarumHotelsLtd, Operations Manager at The Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

hoopsrus999 It's great to hear the staff were helpful and you were impressed by the look of the wider offer at the Castle hotel. I'm sorry to hear that on this occasion, our Carvery did not meet your expectation. I have tried to contact you...More

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Going back earlier this year we had lunch here as we hadn’t been to the Castle for years and it looked very inviting from the outside. Unfortunately it was not great and my meal came out virtually cold (sausage & mash!)- by the time I...More

1  Thank Roving15924
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Nice cosy fire but empty .Ordered the £7 light appetite meal which included a coffee or a fruit drink and went for the Lasagne.Rather long wait and eventually had to ask the manager if our food would be long.He went into the kitchen and miraculously...More

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank CATH n
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Called here this morning for a coffee. Friendly welcome. Good value for money. However, the building from outside looks architecturally great. Inside it's very ordinary And the table wobbled putting the coffee stability at risk. An easy fix, and without doubt an old problem but...More

Thank geoffroberts994
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We had a large, simply furnished room overlooking the road. For the price, it was completely fine, clean and safe. It seems others have been troubled by road noise but we weren' t. However earplugs had kindly been provided! Which is considerate. The breakfast is...More

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Maggy S
Reviewed 4 November 2017

we used to go here years ago before I was disabled and loved it! Now - well apart from showing the rugby on tv and being warm, we were disappointed , started with the miserable barman also there was no disabled toilet, access to the...More

Thank Vikki J
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Used the restaurant for an evening meal & also breakfast on three mornings, whilst staying at hotel. Dinner menu offered good range of choices & the breakfast whilst limited in range of non-cooked items, did a good cooked breakfast

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank graham r
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

After a long weekend working at a festival we needed something to eat before turning in for the night. We arrived to be told that steak and salmon were off the menu so I chose hunters chicken and hubby the lamb. Nope lamb off the...More

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Philippa H
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Set on a corner, this hotel is more of a pub than a restaurant. Our room was simple but adequate with elderly shower, rusty plug hole, low ceiling fan which for me was too low for comfort. Breakfast was good although it seemed all the...More

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank TooLong2018
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
The Castle Hotel
293 reviews
.02 miles away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
538 reviews
.13 miles away
The Black Swan Inn
56 reviews
.13 miles away
The Peppermill Hotel
113 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 83 nearby restaurants
Tea Inc.
199 reviews
.09 miles away
Dolcipani
172 reviews
.12 miles away
Cantina Maya
259 reviews
.12 miles away
The Peppermill Restaurant with rooms
633 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 38 nearby attractions
Wadworth Brewery
442 reviews
.21 miles away
Wiltshire Museum
344 reviews
.23 miles away
Caen Hill Locks
876 reviews
.92 miles away
Kenavon Venture
74 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Castle Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing