We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
Award winning restaurant with rooms situated within the Marketplace of the Town Centre. Offering a good selection of menus for breakfast, lunch & dinner. We also have a fantastic wine/cocktail bar with over 200 cocktails, 36 different Gins and over 130 different wines 30 by the glass.
PRICE RANGE
£6 - £35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
British, Grill
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (830)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
561
143
65
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
561
143
65
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak scallops pork belly pate sandwich pudding cooked to perfection special occasion lovely atmosphere saturday evening philip wiltshire
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch today and were not disappointed. The roasts were superb, and the fish and chips beautifully cooked. Always good service and friendly staff.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2023

I went several times this month, every time there was something off. The first time was breakfast - missing elements to our meal. We also asked for Ketchup, but a delivery driver arrived, was offered a coffee and received the coffee before our ketchup arrived....Sluggish service is a perennial issue here. One of our evening means was incredibly slow service even though the place was suspiciously quiet. We had a slightly sassy waitress, who took a really long time to bring our drinks through the evening. One of the most annoying things has to be how menu price once sat down is different to the internet menu price. The food tastes good. The decor is looking a bit dull. But it is staff that seem to let it down.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

My wife and I have a night away every month, whilst my wife’s mother looks after the children. Since COVID we have alternated between Bath and Bristol but having heard good things about the Peppermill we decided to book. We stayed in the bridal suite....An amazing room with a wonderful bed, bath and walk in shower. The staff were incredibly kind and attentive when we arrived and this continued through our dinner reservation. Cocktails were great as was the food. Breakfast the following morning was also one of the best I’ve had at a hotel. We have both traveled allot and I have to say we were incredibly impressed by the Peppermill and we’re very happy to have discovered such a gem on our doorstep. What’s more it was far better value than going to Bristol or Bath and just 10 mins down the road for us. We will definitely be back!!! Adrian & HannahMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023 via mobile

We had an incredible lunch here today for my friend’s birthday. I’ve been eating moules for over 30 years and I’ve had them all over the world. Hands down, the moules marinieres that I had at The Peppermill today were the best I’ve ever had....Plump, succulent, fresh and flavoursome with the richest and creamiest sauce, offset perfectly with salted skinny fries which were divine when drenched in the cream. Highly recommend - amazing quality food and great service. Thanks folks xMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2023

My husband and booked for a now night stay at The Peppermill Hotel to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Had read good reviews before booking. We were extremely disappointed with the presentation of our room! The room had not been cleaned thoroughly and the shower room...was appalling! Not just dirty, but one of the shower doors was off the track, so we were unable to open the doors to get into the shower. There were so many reasons why the presentation of this room was unsatisfactory to be booked out, but these are just some of them. The hotel is 5 Star rated by AA. Our room definitely wasn't!! Complained to the owner who said..it seems our two ladies have been rushing through their work to get rooms ready. So my question would be.. what about the maintenance?More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda O'Shea, Owner at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Hi Mrs Tucker I am very disappointed that after our email communications you have taken to Tripadvisor to comment on your stay. Especially as this comes after the refund we discussed and gave you as compensation regarding your unhappiness with your room. Yes I did...More

Reviewed 2 September 2023 via mobile

A nicely presented restaurant with very friendly staff and an interesting menu. Mains were well-cooked and delicious, but desserts were a bit disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2023

Welcoming and warm privately owned hotel. Excellent food, good wine list and very well equipped comfortable rooms. A revelation that such delightful hotels still exist in England.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2023

We were a group of twelve and had ordered our meals ten days in advance. Four of us ordered poached salmon Salade Nicoise and were told on arrival that no salmon was available except smoked salmon which only one of us wanted. Four salmon steaks...should have been kept for us as we had ordered in advance and with Sainsburys and Marks & Spencer Food open just round the corner, we would have been happy to wait a few minutes rather than be offered roast beef instead. Won't be going there againMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

Every generous and well appointed room. The people cannot do enough for you. Upscale restaurant with an exceptional wine list. A delightful experience.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2023

I have eaten in many restaurants over the last 2 years, for different reasons, and this has been one of the best. The menu is limited which means it's fresh and not out of the freezer and microwaved. Quality is perfect as are the portions....So many restaurants offer too many options and work on the basis that huge portions will make the food better. WRONG. The trout was perfectly cooked and the pannacotta had a perfect wobble. Wine list is excellent. I didn't stay there but I suspect the rooms will reflect the quality of the restaurant. Highly recommended. Thanks for a great evening. Experienced staff with good knowledge of both menu and wine list.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2023

Had great expectations of the food as the hotel room was fab (see seperate review) but food just okay rather than great!! We booked for late dinner which meant our food choices were limited due to high demand (3 or 4 items sold out) but...we opted for a shared Camenbert cheese (very good) and then the Rib Eye Steaks (chips, mushrooms and side salad), nothing whatsoever wrong with food but nothing that made it stand out (especially at £34)!! Just my opinion but without sauce the steak dish is quite plain, a colourful salad could help!! Other areas: the restaurant is clean, the decoration great, serving staff very good, atmosphere good, location good. Overall I'd say it's worth a visit, we may just have been unlucky with our timing.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2023 via mobile

Lovely place, friendly staff, great breakfast! The central position in the market square was great also.Recommended!

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2023

Eaten here many times and is always somewhere we consider for a special occasion. Never been disappointed with the quality of the food even though there has been a few changes in chefs over the years. However we have had some disappointing evenings with service...but tonight was spot on, 100 per cent improved, so we really hope they keep that up as it certainly would entice us in more often. Going on tonight’s experience would highly recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023

Very pleasant restaurant with an interesting menu, but the service was very very slow and the staff seemed very inexperienced. It’s not a cheap restaurant but the service does not match the prices charged. The food was excellent however.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023 via mobile

Great location with loads of characters, unfortunately the single room was poor: creaky bed more aligned to child, no wardrobe, ironing facility. Room was extremely small. Good point was the ensuite which was well finished and equipped. Having seen the other rooms, i don’t believe...the room is a true reflection of the standard and would encourage people to stay, just not in room 17. Breakfast was lovely and fresh and the staff throughout were extremely friendly and professional.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Peppermill Town House Hotel, Restaurant & Wine Bar
165 reviews
.01 miles away
The Black Swan Inn
165 reviews
.07 miles away
The Castle Hotel
430 reviews
.13 miles away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
618 reviews
.94 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tea Inc.
272 reviews
.06 miles away
1 Spice
504 reviews
.13 miles away
Brogans
374 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wadworth Brewery
581 reviews
.18 miles away
Wiltshire Museum
390 reviews
.17 miles away
Kenavon Venture
95 reviews
.18 miles away
The Market Cross
9 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Frankie99999
10 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Archie2003 | Reviewed this property |
I should imagine they would be able to cope
0
Votes
njclipsham
21 May 2016|
Answer
Response from PhilipO473 | Property representative |
Good morning Neil, -Sorry for the late reply to this. We don't have baggage handlers here at the peppermill but the staff are more than willing to do this for you. -Here at the Peppermill we have two room types which are... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE PEPPERMILL RESTAURANT, Devizes - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Peppermill Restaurant

The Peppermill Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5