We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$17 - US$25
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
665
149
76
45
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
665
149
76
45
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trifle duck steak pudding risotto potatoes fish and chips bread pie sunday roast blade of beef the pub set menu home made special occasion lovely evening lovely atmosphere
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 December 2020

REALLY enjoyed a festive meal at the hop pole tonight. The food was fabulous and value for money. Service was helpful but not rushed and the music in the background was not intrusive and added to the relaxed atmosphere. All in all, a lovely evening...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

We went out for a quiet drink but noticed it was steak night and ordered a meal. We ordered 2 ribeye steaks with sauces. They were both cooked to perfection ( one medium and one medium-rare) The best steak I’ve had in a long time,...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you chose to dine with us and enjoyed our Steak Night, which is extremely popular. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

Passive aggressive manager unprepared to acknowledge a poor meal, slamming a receipt on the table and arguing with the customer isn’t the way to go. Waitresses are excellent and happy to help but let down by the senior management’s ability to accept constructive criticism. In...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?3  
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Hi shmam2, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. However, I am very surprised by this review, and fear you may have got the wrong establishment. I agree my waiting staff are excellent. However, as I am the "senior management", have absolutely...More

Reviewed 3 October 2020 via mobile

Before I go on please take time to read my review 26th August. Top marks it was and we'll deserved. So what went wrong on 22nd September for my birthday lunch with my wife? Ordered fish and chips which is usually top drawer but whatl...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?3  
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2020

Dear Steve S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would like to apologise for the meal that you experienced that day. As you mentioned, your previous experience was very good and you were very happy. Additionally, the fish and chips...More

Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

Booked on spur of the moment. Had the steak meal. 2 ribeye steaks, all the trimmings and 2 glasses of merlot for £30. Steaks cooked exactly as requested. Lovely waiting staff, very attentive. A great night out.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Dear Joe B, Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. Steak night is always popular and we know why. Hope to see you again soon on a spur of the moment.

Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

Behind the menu containing all of the pub standards is a well thought out and excellently prepared set of meals using seasonal and local produce. The house sharing platter is great, but beware there is a lot here for 2 people. The mozzarella arancini was...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Dear M&A Knowle, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and experience with us. We do take great pride in the food and service offered and it's very much appreciated when recognised. We hope to...More

Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

We came for dinner as friends on a Wednesday - we love the steak night- delicious and such good value for money. Our waitress Jo was amazing, so polite, friendly, a master at her craft, we felt So at ease even in these steam times....More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Hi Cha Cha, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed steak night, is certainly is very popular. I'll pass on your kind remarks to Jo.

Reviewed 15 September 2020

We only had a light lunch before we checked in at Wharton Golf Club, but the food was good and the pub was friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Dear Eddy Trivett, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad that your enjoyed your light lunch and experience here. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed 8 September 2020 via mobile

Superb service and excellent food thoroughly recommend 5 stars , would definitely advise all my friends to come here and we would definitely come here againMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Dear Leslie W, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased you enjoyed the food and service with us. We pride ourselves on the quality of food offered and the service we provide. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 6 September 2020

Just finished the most amazing Sunday lunch with my family following a visit to West Midlands Safari Park. Lovely atmosphere, excellent food and brilliant gin selection 5/5. Thank you, we will be back :)More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RSheasby, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Dear Charley F, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased you enjoyed the food and experience with us. I'll pass on your comments to the team and Dave who made the gravy! We look forward to seeing you again...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
George Hotel
529 reviews
.72 miles away
Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel
899 reviews
1.77 miles away
Gainsborough House Hotel
709 reviews
2.85 miles away
Travelodge Kidderminster
647 reviews
3.32 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Severn Fine Indian Cuisine
279 reviews
.72 miles away
The Mulberry Restaurant
339 reviews
.71 miles away
The Mug House Inn & Restaurant
663 reviews
.75 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bewdley Museum
495 reviews
.76 miles away
Bewdley Brewery
76 reviews
.87 miles away
St. George's Hall
27 reviews
.72 miles away
Trimpley Reservoir.
29 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MrsKay74
6 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LouLouBale | Property representative |
Yes we do in the bar. We love dogs.
1
Vote
Jodie A
2 September 2015|
Answer
Response from LouLouBale | Property representative |
Hi, yes we have Rachel Abbots and friends. Good lively band with different artists playing. Email is on our website for bookings. Or call 01299 401295. Many Thanks
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hop Pole Inn
    How is The Hop Pole Inn rated?
    The Hop Pole Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4.5