The Duck Inn

The Duck Inn

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1527 759532+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 22:30
Mon
12:00 - 22:30
Tue
12:00 - 22:30
Wed
12:00 - 22:30
Thu
12:00 - 22:30
Fri
12:00 - 23:00
Sat
12:00 - 23:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
features
Does this restaurant have live music
About
Family friendly community pub, which welcomes you to enjoy great pub food, Sunday roasts with a wide selection of drinks including, non alcoholic range, plus tea's and coffees. We have Sky & BT Sports. Situated by the Oakenshaw spinney and duck pond the beer garden in a fantastic place to sit and enjoy the setting. Also ideal for business meetings and small gatherings / functions with a large car park and easy access.
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Family style, Sports bars
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles208 reviews
Excellent
133
Very good
30
Average
14
Poor
10
Terrible
21
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Peter H
Redditch138 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
Attracted by splash newspaper advert. Booked for two. Read reviews, two were absolute stinkers, which always attracts me - I cannot resist a challenge! Noon arrival and place empty! Made welcome and sorted table, booked in re Covid and ordered meals and drinks at bar. Beers were delightful and went down a treat. Meals arrived ten minutes later and looked as delicious as they tasted. My fish was plump, hot and with crispy batter. Chips were well done to perfection. Onion rings were 'proper ones' not those awful cheap ones filled with tastless mush. Top marks. Scampi were also 'proper ones' not filled with a lump of Vietnamese fishy stuff, but real plump scampi. All in all a truly satisfying meal and well worth the money. This place has a lovely atmosphere. can sit outside in the sun and there is bags of parking. Within a short time there were quite a few other customers. The menu was varied with many choices to suit all tastes. The toilets were nice and clean and children are made welcome. I would recommend this inn to anyone who was fed up with the usual cheapo fare that is served up locally. A really enjoyable experience.
Written 9 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
588vickig
Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your visit and our food.
Written 10 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

grahamhaynes2016
Redditch29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
Booked a lunch time meal for my wife and my self and as I stated I was well impressed the pub was nice and clean. As we entered the restaurant the barman came over and asked us if we had booked as we had he showed us to a table. We ordered drinks and the barman came over for us to order the meals.the food was served very quick it was piping hot and delicious,in all the the service was good and the food well cooked will definitely use the pub again well done to the manager and the staff
Written 9 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
588vickig
Thank you for your lovely review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Written 10 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andy Bennett
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 none
It just goes to show there are still good cheap places to eat with good service. Everywhere else is putting up their prices & at the duck inn for this Month of January you get an extra 25% off your food! What I also like is that you can see the prices online on the menu where as I have noticed other establishments are hiding their prices so you dont know how much its going to cost until you get there! It made for a very pleasant night & will be one of the places at the top of our list to eat. Oh & the butty Bach was a nice pint too.
Written 3 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kay H
Sutton1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
Anyone thinking about going to the Duck Pond for a meal don’t waste your time or money! The service tonight was appalling and the food just as bad. There were only 3 tables of diners and two left during our first half an hour. So we were the only 6 people in the pub. There were about 6 staff on duty walking about not doing much and non of them were very helpful. We ordered starters just simply cheesy garlic bread, an hour later and after asking 3 times we gave up on them! We were told they’d already been sent out! The main courses took over 90 minutes to arrive cold. They also tried to bring us 2 completely incorrect dishes. The “smash” potato was so salty it was inedible and the food was very substandard. The soft drinks were flat and tasteless and when we asked for them to be replaced they were brought back to us flat and tasteless. The dirty plates were not cleared from the table during our whole 2 hours there. I politely spoke to the manageress who said they’d been so so busy it was hard to keep track of all the orders. The pub was empty! My partner went outside to the car and said hi to the chef who was stood there with his hands down his pants having a fag. That topped it off! Needless to say we didn’t bother ordering dessert 😂 On the plus side they have decorated the pub nicely 😂 There are so many wonderful pubs around don’t waste your time on this one!
Written 25 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
588vickig
I wanted to say how disappointed I am that you had the experience you describe below. As you know we spoke about the failures whilst you were still at the pub last night and both my staff and I did our best to rectify the problems. There was a delay on food unfortunately due to 10 checks all coming through at once within a very short space of time – which created a backlog. We did our best to prioritise your meal and rushed it out of the kitchen as soon as the chef had it on the pass. The gas had failed on the soft drinks dispense and as you know I changed this immediately replacing all of your soft drinks, which I asked you to sample and check they were ok, you didn’t say otherwise at the time. Yesterday was extremely busy with all staff working exceptionally hard with 91 meals in one day and they all deserve appropriate break periods. At the end of your meal when we discussed how unsatisfied you were I apologised profusely and refunded all of your meal and drinks as well as actively encouraging you to return another time and allow my team and I the opportunity to prove how well we ordinarily serve all of our customers. This invitation remains open. Just to put this highly unusual experience into context, as a relatively new team and a lot of my team being incredibly new (post lockdown appointments), we’re working in very different circumstances than we’re used to and this presents new challenges. Which we are learning to adapt to and still deliver a great customer experience. The additional strain on my team with the social distancing measures we have to comply with to ensure both your safety as customers and safety of my staff, combined with the success of the eat out to help out scheme has multiplied numbers of covers – more meals to deliver, safely. I would be very happy if you returned to let us show you the true experience of the NEW Duck Inn and support one of your local community pubs.
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nicola v
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 couples
Me and my partner went on a relatively quiet night and ended up waiting an hour and a half just for 2 mains to come out. His steak and rib combo was okay but a bit cold. My burger was practically cremated and I’m shocked the chef wasn’t embarrassed sending it out. Didn’t send it back as I didn’t want to wait another hour for food and just wanted to leave. Would not recommend
Written 24 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki G
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your recent experience when you visited us. Please can you contact us on info@theduckinnredditch.co.uk and give us the time when you visited so we can investigate further. We always explain that there would be a wait on food when there is a few orders placed as we have been short staffed in our kitchen for quite a while. You may have noticed at the tills we are advertising for kitchen staff. We certainly would not aim to send out burnt food and are very disappointed that you felt this was the case. We are also very upset you did not express this when we do our check back otherwise we would have tried our utmost to resolve this at the time you were here rather than you feeling that you have to leave a negative review instead on TripAdvisor. Please contact us so we can at least have some way of resolving this rather than ruining our hard work with trying to turn around our reputation.
Written 26 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Adam L
Redditch5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 friends
We went to try the curry night. We are frequent visitors and this place puts on absolutely top class live music weekly. This evening we sampled the food as a group of seven, and the food was fantastic. The service was second to none, they were so attentive and helpful with the menu. All 7 of us left after having a great evening and with a plan to visit to dine on a more regular basis.
Written 20 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki G
Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you so much.
Written 24 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alan R
Grimsby50 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 solo
Had a couple of nights campervan stop over this past weekend and can fully recommend the The Duck Inn Redditch, Martin and Vicki are very accommodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, the meals were excellent and great value. . The Inn is well situated in a pretty area of Redditch and I felt very safe parked in the Duck Inn carpark. I will be staying there again when I next visit Redditch. 5*****.
Written 27 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rochelle D
Wellington38 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 couples
Visiting family in Redditch and our usual campsite was fully booked, how pleased are we about that now! The Duck offers stopover facilities for Motorhomes including electric hook-up as long as you are eating in their restaurant. The food was well cooked and very tasty. The staff couldn't do enough for us from the moment we pulled up, all very polite and accommodating. Added bonus was the path from the carpark leading to a nature reserve, perfect for a dog walk. Will definitely be visiting here again.
Written 1 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Caroline
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
Having not been out to eat since the start of lockdown 3 of us went to eat here today 11/8/2020.. The food was lovely and plentiful... The staff were all very pleasant and friendly and constantly cleaning... While here we have booked in for next week... Thank you for making our 1st eating out again experiace so nice.
Written 11 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
588vickig
Thank you very much. So glad you had an enjoyable experience. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Written 23 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 friends
Had my birthday party here and it was amazing. The food was great, we were well looked after and they catered for all our needs. 1000% would use this pub again for events. The DJ was brilliant and played all requests and kept the dancing going. Thank you all so much.
Written 1 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Robin Wilfred
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 none
Been three times now in past couple of months to sort the world out with a friend! A pleasant reception at the bar, good pint of real ale at a fair price, a plateful of a meal for less than £10. Pleasant inside decor with outside tables as well. Now buy one get one half price on mondays for drinks and food. Thanks for a pleasant lunctime.
Written 6 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Excursion09607632376
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and glad you enjoy your time here.
Written 8 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah b
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 couples
Went for a spur of the moment lunch, couldn't book a table online but was told we could order food when we got there. No other people in the place outside of a kids party which was on one side and were then told that we couldn't order food until the kids party food came out so 'the kitchen didn't get overwhelmed'. Waiting to see when we could order but ended up leaving. Understand they had a party but surely that would be prepared for in advance and not involve basically turning away other customers. Lots of staff just walking around with nothing to do so really confused why we couldn't order 🤔
Written 18 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Helen C
130 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 family
Amazing food, great choices on the menu. The food was hot, plentiful and very tasty. The staff are very friendly and service was fab. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, it has a pool table, dartboard, sports and good prices.
Written 16 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stephany B
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 couples
What a waste of money and time. Arrived at 7pm mains arrived 7:50. Ordered 2 burgers. Would of got better in Mac Donald’s. Trays still on table at 8:15. Ordered puddings when ordered a mains and paid for. 8:20 asked for puddings. 8:45 puddings arrived, burned and not described on menu. Sorry we ran out. Got refund for puddings. Will never go back again.
Written 22 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
588vickig
I'm sorry your experience wasn't satisfactory when you visited us. I did apologise regarding the slow service at the time. Unfortunately we were short staffed that day and when we got an influx of customers together with the table service, it took unexpectedly longer to bring your food to you unfortunately and to clear away your main dishes. As you may be aware we've had to adjust quickly with this new operational guidance which puts extra strain on our team in these extremely testing times. Plus we are not geared up to be a fast food outlet like MacDonald's and you do get a higher quality choice of menu items from us. As for the desserts we had unexpectedly run out of custard as we've recently introduced a new menu too in the last week or so. However I wasn't aware at the time that the you thought the desserts were burnt as I took them away straight away before you had chance to try them, as you said you didn't want the ice cream alternative. As you mentioned we provided a full refund for both the desserts and I did offer a complimentary drink for you both too. I hope you can appreciate this is definitely not the impression we aim to provide and are very disappointed that you experienced this on your visit. Therefore I hope you can visit us again so we can prove that this is not the normal level of service we aim to present to the community.
Written 26 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hayley W
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
Brilliant pub, been here many of times and i have always felt welcome by all the staff! i have always with my children and they always felt welcome too. We have never had a problem with there food. There is a good veriety of food/desserts on the menu! The foods has always been hot/warm. They are good size dishes for adult meals and childrens meals. I have only had 1 insident here, and that was with syrup running out on soft drink but got a replacement straight away. The duck is definatly a family friendly pub. Always clean and tidy, the 1 way system is very good, hand cleaning stations all around the pub also. They do many events that i have been to and enjoyed myself i will certainly be coming back again. Thankyou to the duck inn team
Written 27 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Excursion09607632376
Thank you
Written 16 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 208
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Hart at Headless Cross
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Tardebigge
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Why Not Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Rilys
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
The Holly Bush
££ - £££ · British, Gastropub
The Brook Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Nevill Arms
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Shahi Palace
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE DUCK INN, Redditch - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Redditch HotelsRedditch Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Redditch
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire