We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Drum & Monkey

Newbridge Green, Upton upon Severn WR8 0QP, England
+44 1684 592758
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (26 reviews)
“potatoes” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newbridge Green, Upton upon Severn WR8 0QP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We always enjoy our visits to the Drum & Monkey and our recent visit with friends was no exception. Liz and her staff are always welcoming, attentive and pleasant as is Patches the dog. They offer a comprehensive menu and a specials menu plus a...More

Thank SPM-UK1
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review and it is so pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. Next time don't have much for lunch, so you have room for a dessert!! I look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers Liz

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

landlady always looks after us we enjoyed the camping site a good price including electric we will definitely be back next year.

Thank Jcr0ss
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much and I look forward to seeing you again next year. Cheers Liz

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with friends on the campsite. Overall it was a pleasant stay. But the only disappointment was the ladies toilets they hadn’t been cleaned when we arrived or whilst we were there. The soap was a dried up mess the floor needed a...More

Thank buelligan1200
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the campsite facilities and will certainly pass your comments on to the campsite owners as, although the campsite is adjacent to the pub, it is a seperate business. However, as I am more than...More

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch recently and wasn't very impressed. Outside area also lets the place down with tired old white plastic chairs, broken tables and the lawn was overdue a good haircut. Food was ok but some issues. Cheap frozen pizza for the kids. 11 chips...More

Thank FrankieGoesOnHoliday
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

I am sorry to hear you weren't very impressed. I agree that the lawn does indeed need mowing, but when your gardener lets you down, it makes life difficult. Of the 6 outside tables, 1 has lost some of the slats in the middle following...More

Reviewed 22 August 2018

My wife & I like to lunch out in our local area once a week and today we went to the Drum & Monkey. There was only one customer there when we arrived but the place was full of flies and the landlady told me...More

Thank Brian H
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Brian, There were 2/3 flies near your table and I did explain that as a food outlet, it is totally inappropriate to use fly spray, which can linger in the air and affect food for others. I'm sorry that my explanation at the time wasn't...More

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

All I can say is we chose the wrong pub... Menu was enticing but many items were unavailable despite us being the first diners of the evening. The food we were able to choose varied from inedible to average at best. Based on previous reviews,...More

1  Thank David W
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

David, Thank you for your review, but it is difficult to respond to as you have just generalised and not been specific. I am not aware of anyone over the weekend being either told many items were not available and based on customer comments, the...More

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We went to the drum and monkey as we were staying near by and it was recommended to us. We went in ask if there was a table free and they checked and there was. We ordered drinks at the bar and took these to...More

3  Thank hcgh
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience during your visit to my pub. I can only profusely apologise for the lack of service given to you by my team and there is no excuse...More

Reviewed 11 August 2018

First visit on 10/8 and we were not to be disappointed.A very welcoming atmosphere created by the landlady and staff. A good selection on the menu as well as specials board, all piping hot and delicious.Good selection of desserts, the apple and blueberry bread and...More

Thank Midger2013
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. I will pass your comments onto the team an hope to see you again. Cheers Liz

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Enormously impressed, delightful service from young waitresses led by an even more delightful landlady. Full marks

Thank UKFoodie1
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review and your lovely words. Cheers Liz

Reviewed 3 August 2018

As a tourist visiting the area, the Drum and Monkey looks like a brilliant traditional English pub. And it is a brilliant traditional English pub complete with many locals and their dogs who all know each other chatting and drinking around the bar or in...More

1  Thank mishymonkey26
Elizabeth J, Owner at The Drum & Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you stopped and had a lovely meal here and I'll let Paul know what you said!! We are all welcoming here and I do hope you return when next in this area. Cheers Liz

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
White Lion Hotel
184 reviews
.98 miles away
Swan Hotel
235 reviews
1.06 miles away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
2,061 reviews
3.10 miles away
Days Inn Tewkesbury Strensham
369 reviews
3.27 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Pundits Fusion
739 reviews
.94 miles away
Thrishna
400 reviews
.88 miles away
Minnie's Tea Room
61 reviews
.95 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Clive's Fruit Farm
142 reviews
1.00 miles away
Lovells Vineyard
22 reviews
2.91 miles away
Little Malvern Priory
23 reviews
4.37 miles away
RAF Defford Museum
52 reviews
4.48 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GlenfromHuddersfield
21 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elizabeth J | Property representative |
Glen, Not a problem I do have availability on the campsite at 10.00 per night payable cash on arrival and please let me know what time you would like a table for and how many. Cheers Liz
0
Votes
Heather609
18 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elizabeth J | Property representative |
So sorry you couldn't find my menu. Unfortunately Trip Advisor will not allow me to advise you of my website address, so can i please suggest that you google - the drum and monkey upton - this should direct you to my... More
0
Votes
Pallett741
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elizabeth J | Property representative |
Yes there is but not on the hard standing area. The cost is £17.00 per night with hook up during the autumn/winter and £15.00 during spring/summer. Cheers Liz
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newbridge Green, Upton upon Severn WR8 0QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Malvern Hills  >  Upton upon Severn
  • Phone Number: +44 1684 592758
  • E-mail
Description
A delightful 17th Century pub and restaurant with a great atmosphere, serving a range of real ales on hand pump (Wye Valley, Malvern Hills Brewery, Ledbury Real Ales and other guest breweries). A varied menu is on offer at both lunch and dinner time, serving locally sourced food, all freshly cooked. There is a large car park, lovely beer garden with a covered smoking area (called Woodbine Cottage!). Free camping and caravanning currently offered (pub facilities only). The pub is open plan inside with areas separated by beams and has a real fire in Autumn/Winter (or whenever cold!).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing