We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
A cafe in the centre of Burrs Country Park where wet wellies & muddy paws are welcome. A place to meet new friends, read a book and enjoy a fabulous coffee or tea and homemade cake. Open for breakfast, lunch and bistro evenings - actively supporting local producers and making fresh food on the premises daily.
PRICE RANGE
£2 - £8
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Cafe, British
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Private Dining, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Dog Friendly, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (171)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
134
17
5
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
134
17
5
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes eggs benedict traybakes tuna jacket potato coffee and cake lunch menu excellent coffee lovely little cafe salad leaves caravan site pleasant atmosphere be visiting again butties woof maltesers manchester
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 14 January 2024

What an absolutely incredible place this is. We were staying on the caravan and motorhome site and decided to pop in for a full English. Food was delicious, decor immaculate with a roaring log burner. Staff very friendly, especially the man of the cafe who...managed to nearly win over my anxious cavapoo. He took time to bring my little pooch a treat, all natural, knowing that he was nervous of men. This was very thoughtful and appreciated. We will definitely be back as we want to sample the cakes on the counter that looked devine and also the hot choc of the day.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark WR Wellman-Riggs, Owner at The Lamppost Cafe - Burrs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hi Many thanks for your review, we thought your Cavapoo was gorgeous even if a little nervous 😬 Looking forward to your next visit and yes the cakes are amazing Regards Mark & Nicola

Reviewed 18 November 2023

Headed in after a chilly day paddling on the river, staff were lovely and the selection of food and drinks is fab!

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2023 via mobile

Great snacks and excellent coffee. The coffee blend from Second City in Manchestet had no bitter flavour. Really nice. Lovely sitting outside on the cobbles after a walk in the Burrs Country Park

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Lovely friendly staff and great coffee and cake Shake the pub across the road doesn’t have the staff in this lovely cafe/resturant

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

Had the most amazing Afternoon Tea…the right combination of sandwiches…savouries and cakes washed down with plenty of tea and coffee. The service was excellent and it was a lovely touch having the owners come to our table. They even kindly boxed up our leftovers. I...would highly recommend a visit. Thank you for a great experience.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2023

Absolutely love this cafe, staff are very friendly and professional, the owner always takes time to come and speak to us. The food is always made to a high standard and quality food products used. We have been for breakfast, lunch, coffee and cake on...numerous occasions and never had a bad experience. They also do many gluten free options which is why we keep coming back.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2023

Been twice now. The first time we had a very tasty salmon & cream cheese bagel, with salad leaves which were excellent. The second time we popped in for 2 flat white coffees. They were superb and probably up there with the best we've ever...had. Those Peruvian beans they use which are roasted in Manchester are a winner. A highly recommended cafe in a lovely beauty spot. It does get busy at week-ends and with limited seating inside you may have to wait for a table for two. We went midweek and there was plenty of room.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2023 via mobile

Horrible experience, myself and my daughter were made to feel extremely unwelcome. Staff reluctant to find us a table as there were only two of us and the only tables they had seated 4 or more. When eventually we were seated (and by that I...mean reluctantly asked to perch on the end of the largest table they had?!), we were then approached by who I think was the owner, in a very rude unfriendly manner, asking if someone (a member of her staff) had seated us there. Insinuating by her tone of voice that we had chosen the table ourselves and she was not happy about it as we had taken up 'valuable space'. When I informed her that we had indeed been seated there by a member of her staff, she was clearly annoyed and then proceeded to ask me to remove my daughter's small stroller pram and leave it outside. We are nice people and I have never been made to feel so unwelcome. Seems to be plenty of nice treatment for dogs, but not a mother and her very well behaved little girl. Isn't this meant to be a community cafe, where everyone is welcome? Certainly doesn't feel that way! Will absolutely not be returning and neither will the rest of my family, who on hearing about this were utterly horrified.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2023

Took 15 mins to be seated, then when seated by a member of staff, I was reprimanded rather rudely by another member of staff for being in an allocated seat, when finally getting seated, I went to order my food and was 1 minute after...2pm so was refused. Ordered a cappuccino which took 20 minutes to come even with staff stood around doing nothing. Never again.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2022

Waiting in a queue for 15 minutes to be told that there were no avocados. When I asked if I could have the bacon taken off the Eggs Benedict and a reduction in price of a pound or two, this was refused; it seems a...shame that a small cafe can't be more flexible. The only other options were a fry-up with substitute sausages and black pudding.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2022 via mobile

Visited a few times again this year. You never fail to disappoint. Service excellent, polite, caring and professional staff. Excellent food, lovely surroundings and atmosphere. We all look forward to meeting up and visiting here. Thank you

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

Wonderful, very unexpected and delightful light lunch - and what cakes! - on a very rainy day! We were all staying at the Caravan site and had planned to visit Bury Market but the weather persuaded us to stay close! Very warm welcome into what...was already an almost full, quirky cafe. Modest but tasty sounding menu. Paganini’s, sandwiches, jackets, …. Sounds like usual fare but at The Lampost Menu lit up our tastebuds! Log fire crackling in the corner and although clearly very dog friendly, it was dog friendly with limits … doggy friends welcome but not on the seats or dominating so non-doggy lovers can eat here in confidence! And what cakes!! The ginger cake and choc traybake with malteasers and the rest,the Victoria sponge … wonderful. We were then regaled with some amazing history of the location by a really friendly manager. We even shared an idea for a doggy trip adviser - woof adviser - but very quickly discovered someone had beaten its to the money making idea! Thoroughly recommend. Symbolically, the sun broke through just as we were leaving. Follow the light to The Lamp post. It’ll brighten up your day!!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2022

Arrived at just the right time as cafe quickly filled up. Lovely brunch butties...mine was gluten free. Relaxed pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely visit again

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2022

After a wander around the park we decided to have a coffee, tea and and a couple of traybakes. We ordered inside but as the weather was so nice we ate at the outside tables to the rear of the cafe. Very dog friendly and...good pricesMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

Refused us a table as there were no two seaters left and they may get someone in who needed a four seater. As regular visitors we found this very unprofessionalMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark WR, Owner at The Lamppost Cafe - Burrs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2022

Not quite what happened as ever there are two sides to the story, agreed we had no two seaters left however it was a very busy weekend morning with lots of groups coming in, hence the four seater tables are a premium. You were offered...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
1,051 reviews
1.03 miles away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury
1,665 reviews
1.41 miles away
Red Hall Hotel
726 reviews
1.79 miles away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
3,407 reviews
1.80 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Garsdale Pub
310 reviews
.34 miles away
Asha
223 reviews
.84 miles away
The Brown Cow
261 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Lamb Inn
5 reviews
.91 miles away
Burrs Country Park
59 reviews
.22 miles away
Clarence Park
18 reviews
.74 miles away
The Rock
8 reviews
.85 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
HelenWB
4 August 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Janet H | Reviewed this property |
Right outside
0
Votes
miriamd256
19 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from NicolaGWR | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Hi - yes it does
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE LAMPPOST CAFE - BURRS, Bury - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lamppost Cafe - Burrs

Yes, The Lamppost Cafe - Burrs offers takeaway services.

The Lamppost Cafe - Burrs is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5