We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Pack Horse

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 Watling Street | Affetside, Bury BL8 3QW, England
+44 1204 884584
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 558: English reviews
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had recently been at lunch time with some friends and enjoyed food and atmosphere so when hubby asked where I would like to go for an early evening birthday meal I suggested The Pack Horse. We were not disappointed.Service was excellent-thank you Victoria and Aleena. My starter-baked brie was delicious as husband 's pate.We had burgers for mains with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dot H
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We had booked a private area within the pub for my mums 60th birthday meal for family and friends. From making the booking to eating the food, everything was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was lovely and were very generous portions, the kids loved theirs too! Cannot fault the staff who did a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachsj
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My gran suggested this little gem for Saturday lunch. I've been once before and so enthusiastically agreed. It's the cosiest place and the food was delicious, we sampled the Christmas menu. We had a lovely lunch and the service was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank SianMcGuinness
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Not the best Xmas turkey dinner turkey dried and crispy and that was slices of breast meat. no taste lemon tart ok prawn cocktail had a bad meal over 2 years ago. didn't rush back nicer decor now but won't rush back again poor effort

Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Dear Lynne B, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Christmas Fayre meal, and we have let the kitchen know your feedback. We always try and rectify our food issues on the night, and i am sorry that this did not happen in your case. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again. Kind... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered fish chips and peas. Peas came in a thimble size container! Fish portion not very big or nice, chips were good, but very few. Not value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Paul N
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Dear Paul N, I am extremely sorry about your experience at The Packhorse. We have passed on your comments about the fish to the kitchen, and the peas container has been changed. Thank you for writing your review, and we hope to see you again soon so we can rectify your opinion. Kind regards, The Packhorse Management Team More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting Affetside to view a house as would love to live there. Had lunch at The Pack Horse. It came strongly recommended by friends and colleagues and we weren't disappointed. Layout was cosy and inviting and service fast and friendly. Beautifully Chilean Sauvignon Blanc too. After ordering, appetiser was quick and hot. Delicious. Mains came soon after and the pressed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey F
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey F, Thank you so much for your kind review. We apologise for the chips and have passed on your comments to the kitchen. Regardless, i am happy that you enjoyed your visit so much, and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Packhorse Management Team More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quiet meal with friends, unfortunately there were 3 rowdy parties with approx 20 per party, very load and kids running about. Meal was good, waiting time acceptable and friendly waiter and waitress to cater for our every needs. Thanks to Aleena and Paulo for looking after us.

Helpful?
1 Thank JO M
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Dear JO M, Thank you for your review, we apologise for the loud parties, but glad you enjoyed your visit regardless! Aleena and Paulo will be very happy with your kind words! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Packhorse Management Team More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

popular pub/restaurant with locals,dog walkers, ramblers and cyclists.Situated at top of hill with great views of moors and countryside.Was really busy and had to wait for over 40 mins for table.we then had an additional 30 min wait for food which was excellent. staff friendly and helpful and it would appear the delay was due to a problem in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andy r
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Dear Andy R, Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Packhorse Management team More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Never disappointed. Very nice surroundings, child and dog friendly. All occasions work here. Food is good, without being breathtaking. More than just pub grub.

Helpful?
1 Thank HarryJames2
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Harry James, Thanks for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future. Kind Regards, Riccardo Assistant Manager More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely pub/restaurant in a beautiful setting. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is an extensive gluten free menu. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. I have been here before for Sunday dinner.... always great food. I really recommend. My only small criticism is that it is pretty pricy.

Helpful?
Thank Vicky A
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Vicky, Thanks for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future. Kind Regards, Riccardo Assistant Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Pack Horse also viewed

Bamber Bridge, Lancashire
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 Watling Street | Affetside, Bury BL8 3QW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bury
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 884584

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pack Horse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Pack Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?