We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pack Horse

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Soups
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 Watling Street | Affetside, Bury BL8 3QW, England
+44 1204 884584
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 564: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Four of us dined at midday at the Pack Horse on Monday. Riccardo welcomed us at the door and he was very helpful through our meal. Attentive without being over the top. The character and atmosphere of the pub is up market and worth taking good friends to if you want a comfortable yet satisfying meal. I remember walking across... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's such a shame I'm having to give only 1 "star". The food was very nice. Unfortunately the place was absolutely freezing and none of the staff seemed to care or have the nouse to sort it out. To top it all off, when I finally convinced one of the staff to light a fire, the place filled with smoke... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason B
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Firstly I would like to apologise about your experience here at the Pack Horse, it is always disappointing to read a review of this nature. I am sorry unfortunately when lighting the fires that evening the one whereby you were sat decided to fill the room with smoke due to the wind blowing back down the chimney, we... More 

Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The starter (scallops) were the size of a small pea and that included the roe. When discussing with the waitress she stated yes I have mentioned to the Chef who agreed they were small. Bearing in mind there were only 3 tiny pea sized scallops an alternative should have been offered. The main was very average, under cooked veg and... More 

Helpful?
Thank judybailey2016
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Judy, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your visit. I am sorry you were not happy with the portion size of the scallops on Christmas Day and the feedback you were given from the waitress. We have used your review in staff training and have taken on board your comments regarding the food... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks to Victoria for great service and attention. Lovely food and monster portions in a good atmosphere.

Helpful?
2 Thank davidkeigher
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Thank you David for a lovely review, It is always very rewarding to receive a name mention on TripAdvisor, I am glad you enjoyed our 'monster' portions and I look forward to seeing you again soon :) Many Thanks Victoria More 

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A surprise birthday party for myself with all of my close family, wife, daughters, husbands and grandchildren. The whole experience was enjoyable, with very good service for all 9 of us. We were all served pretty much together with varied food, so that was refreshing. Our food was good, hot and very tasty. The whole atmosphere was very pleasant with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tony E
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Tony E, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review, it is always rewarding to read such fantastic comments. We are glad you enjoyed your surprise party I know your family wanted it to be perfect from booking, we aim to give all our guests a great and enjoyable visit, I Thank you for... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a table for 5 for lunch on a Saturday afternoon, the pack horse wasn't to busy and we had a great table by Windows looking out on the views. The main restaurant is lovely with there interior designs,love the mishmash of different furniture, We ordered 3 fish and chips, a beef and ale pie and sirloin steak, the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Janine G
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Janine G, Firstly I would like to wish you a Happy New Year and secondly Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We pride ourselves on great food and service here at The Pack Horse, I will ensure your review is passed on to our chefs and front of house team members who... More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

I had recently been at lunch time with some friends and enjoyed food and atmosphere so when hubby asked where I would like to go for an early evening birthday meal I suggested The Pack Horse. We were not disappointed.Service was excellent-thank you Victoria and Aleena. My starter-baked brie was delicious as husband 's pate.We had burgers for mains with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Dot H
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Dot, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a brilliant review, we pride ourselves on good service and great food. It is always lovely to read reviews like this, the mini milk jugs are a personal favourite of mine too! I thank you for mentioning myself and Aleena I will be sure to pass... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We had booked a private area within the pub for my mums 60th birthday meal for family and friends. From making the booking to eating the food, everything was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was lovely and were very generous portions, the kids loved theirs too! Cannot fault the staff who did a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachsj
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Rach, Thank you for taking the time to write us a brilliant review. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your private function with us on Sunday, it gives me great pleasure to hear you have had numerous great visits here. I will ensure all the team including our chefs see your lovely comments. We hope... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

My gran suggested this little gem for Saturday lunch. I've been once before and so enthusiastically agreed. It's the cosiest place and the food was delicious, we sampled the Christmas menu. We had a lovely lunch and the service was great.

Helpful?
2 Thank SianMcGuinness
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Assistant Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Hi Sian, Firstly I would like to Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review, its always a pleasure to read such lovely comments. I will ensure your review is passed on to all our team, to which I am sure they will be just as proud! Many Thanks again, we look forward to seeing... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Not the best Xmas turkey dinner turkey dried and crispy and that was slices of breast meat. no taste lemon tart ok prawn cocktail had a bad meal over 2 years ago. didn't rush back nicer decor now but won't rush back again poor effort

Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
Pack-Horse-Affetside, Manager at The Pack Horse, responded to this review

Dear Lynne B, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Christmas Fayre meal, and we have let the kitchen know your feedback. We always try and rectify our food issues on the night, and i am sorry that this did not happen in your case. We do hope that you will come back and visit us again. Kind... More 

Travellers who viewed The Pack Horse also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bamber Bridge, Lancashire
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Clayton-le-Moors, Lancashire
 

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Soups
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 Watling Street | Affetside, Bury BL8 3QW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Bury
  • Phone Number: +44 1204 884584

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pack Horse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Pack Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?