We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Friendly Forrester

££ - £££, British,
1 Martongate, Bridlington YO16 6YS, England
+44 1262 675507
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good30%
  • Average20%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Martongate, Bridlington YO16 6YS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This place as a lovely atmosphere to go in We came here twice. Second time was better then the first Food is nice nothing special Nice place

Thank Claire L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here today for a nice lunch with family ... So far not a good experience .We have had to move tables three times as tables squashed so close no one can get by . To top it all we are having to shout above...More

1  Thank Joy2254
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joy I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the Friendly Forester yesterday. We try to keep waiting time down the best we can but as you can understand when we are busy sometimes this can not be helped. In...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy to find on the main Bridlington to Sewerby road with good parking. There's a varied menu with all the standard stuff you'd expect, plus a few you maybe wouldn't, but the prices are below average - hence there's always lots of customers and it's...More

Thank RegularTraveller60
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to give such great feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy their time when visiting us and I can't wait to share your lovely comments with the rest of the team. We look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I have eaten here numerous times over the years. Used to be great but since the refurb the food isn't as good.. Prices gone.up too..usually happens after refurb!!!!! We arrived on a Saturday eve about 8 pm and it was very busy...More

Thank Linda C
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Linda Thank you for spending the time to give us some feedback. I am very sorry at you feel the food is not as great as it use to be and please be reassured that I will address the issues you have brought to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am never a fan of busy pubs, kids everywhere,long waits for food and drinks etc, and this is what greeted my thoughts seeing the full carpark and pub, add to this my 83 yr granddad who is recovering from a lot of health issues...More

Thank LeeNicola6
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi LeeNicola6 Thank you for the lovely review. Even though we are a busy pub, we try to make sure all of our guests enjoy their time visiting the Friendly Forester. It is great to hear that your family was able to spend some quality...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been here a few times and always lovely. Staff are friendly and always make sure all is ok. Puddings are amazing. Kids menu is good. Would recommendMore

Thank Sam B
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sam Thank you for the lovely review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy their visits to the Friendly Forester. our puddings are great and we have a new menu arriving on 12th October with lots of new dishes and puddings...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This appears to be a popular location but although busy we found the service was very quick. All staff were friendly and helpful, the prices very good and the food excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Thank bripar
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bripar Thank you for your lovely review, I can't wait to share your review with the team. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Tonie Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible service. The food was comparable to a value microwave meal. And the "strawboffee pie" desert came to the table frozen solid. Horrible experience and the staff couldn't care less. I'd rather go hungry than come back here again.More

Thank hungryman2710
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Hungryman2710 I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to the Friendly Forester. Please be reassured that the issues you have brought to my attention will be addressed with the team as I do not accept such standards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was holidaying in the area and my AA app told me I could get 20% off my bill here so we called in after a day on the beach. Staff weren't very helpful when I asked for a table, basically told to find one myself...More

Thank Vicki19842008
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Vicki19842008 I am very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your recent visit to the Friendly Forester. We do try to only reserve a small percentage of our tables to allow most tables to be free for walk in guests, however, I understand...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visit the forester most Sundays for breakfast.Either as a couple, couple plus dog or as a family. Today I'm just going to review Sunday breakfast but we have visited for great value lunches and dinners. The staff are really friendly, there is a lovely...More

Thank Steven R
General Manager A, Manager at The Friendly Forrester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Steven Thank you for such a lovely review. We are really proud of our breakfast offer and it is lovely to hear that our guests love it too. I can't wait to share your lovely comments with the rest of the team and we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fish and Chips at 149
689 reviews
.13 miles away
North Beach Fish and Chips
178 reviews
.68 miles away
Bull and Sun Public House & Restaurant
192 reviews
.75 miles away
The Georgian Rooms
153 reviews
.87 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bondville Model Village
581 reviews
.78 miles away
Bridlington Old Town
275 reviews
.84 miles away
Bridlington Priory Church
197 reviews
.57 miles away
Bayle Museum
104 reviews
.75 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
504Heather
28 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from glen S | Reviewed this property |
I Don't think so.
0
Votes
wonder57
9 October 2015|
Answer
Response from frances r | Property representative |
we do reserve tables if you are dining with us.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Martongate, Bridlington YO16 6YS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Bridlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1262 675507
  • E-mail
Description
Meals available from 9am - 10pm daily starting with breakfast menu at 9am -12pm then main menu 12pm - 10pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing