We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red River Inn

££ - £££, British,
Gwtihian 1 Prosper Hill, Hayle TR27 5BW, England
+44 1736 753223
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“nasi goreng” (11 reviews)
“burger” (83 reviews)
“mussels” (20 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Gwtihian 1 Prosper Hill, Hayle TR27 5BW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited on Thursday night out of season and should have booked that’s how popular this inn is , we arrived at 6 on he dot and just managed to get the last seat How lucky we were what a meal possibly in the top 3...More

1  Thank Paulruth1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived rather late, but still serving, had very welcoming reception. Food was quick and to a very high standard, so booked for Saturday night and Sunday lunch. All proved excellent, would thoroughly recommend Red River Inn. This is our sixth year of returning to Gwithan...More

Thank PJtrippers
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your comments; its great to receive positive feedback and to hear you came back for seconds and Thirds! See you again soon; we love to see familiar faces.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been going here every year for 6 years and have always enjoyed our evening here. It is friendly with a good atmosphere . Unfortunately this year the food was not the best with pretty average burgers and chicken .. bit disappointing. It does...More

Thank Lynne j
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your food so much this time Lynne; feedback is always appreciated and fed back to the chefs or the relevant parties; be sure your comments are always taken on board!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very good burgers with good flavour patty, good toppings and great bun. Fries looked better than they tasted, skin on but not much potato inside. Onion rings were fantastic. This pub gets very busy despite its small size, so book ahead to avoid disappointment.

Thank Oliver K
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Oliver, its lovely to hear you enjoyed our burgers as our butcher makes them to our own special recipe for us. We're going to try a different variety of potato for our chips so watch this space!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered two burgers with gluten free buns to be told 10mins later that had no gluten free buns so would we mind having them without bread which we agreed. Once receiving the food the chips looked like they should be amazing but we were only...More

Thank Sarah A
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing your comments Sarah, Im sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your experience with us! We remember your visit and its a shame you didn't let us know the chips were not to your liking at the time, or indeed that you were...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked well ahead as it was the bank holiday weekend. A good job because it was packed. Menu was a bit light on fish compared with the sample online menu but both settled for crab in Thermidor sauce. One was really good and filled with...More

Thank andyt1993
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments Andy, will certainly share with the crabbers!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After spending a physical day swimming, running and surfing, me and my boyfriend told ourselves it was totally acceptable to go and eat our own body weight in food, which I can shamelessly say we achieved. We had booked a table the night before (which...More

Thank Kitbag30
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It sounds like you enjoyed your night!!! Thanks for sharing your comments; Im sure Slimming World forgives & forgets occasionally - especially if you are on holiday!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were very glad we had pre booked as when we arrived they were full and there was a slight wait for our table. The staff were all very friendly and there was a good atmosphere. The burgers and fat chips were all very good....More

Thank Carol R
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments, we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well I have absolutely no idea where the reviewer that criticised this place and the staff went but it most certainly wasn’t here! We camped at one of the local campsites and sadly the weather wasn’t as nice as we had hoped so we decided...More

Thank AmieP82
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to pass your comments to others; Its great to hear you enjoyed our local steak, it comes from local farmers and has full Cornish traceability - we love it!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Once again we were staying opposite the Red River pub and visited it most nights for a drink. The staff, as before were all friendly and the pub has a nice atmosphere, with a mixture of locals and happy holiday makers. Once again their was...More

1  Thank ColinJBloomer
LouisaClare, Owner at Red River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments Colin; its lovely to see people coming back for more!!!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Travelodge Hayle
304 reviews
1.59 miles away
Premier Inn Hayle
867 reviews
1.66 miles away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
834 reviews
2.99 miles away
White Hart Hotel
127 reviews
3.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Jam Pot Cafe
90 reviews
.39 miles away
Hungry Horsebox Company
23 reviews
.35 miles away
The Rockpool
444 reviews
.61 miles away
Godrevy Cafe
613 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Godrevy
207 reviews
.39 miles away
Godrevy Head
359 reviews
1.32 miles away
Porthkidney Sands
164 reviews
3.34 miles away
Hayle Towans Beach
502 reviews
2.86 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lildebb2013
12 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Holly T |
Yes!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gwtihian 1 Prosper Hill, Hayle TR27 5BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Hayle
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 753223
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing