We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £30
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (721)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
512
96
44
33
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
512
96
44
33
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak mussels liver sandwich potatoes sunday roast fries the pub games room under new management dog friendly pub warm welcome an evening meal fantastic meal lovely atmosphere nothing is too much trouble dan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives - apart from the team waiting on there were very few positives. When 2 x fish and chips arrived it was embarrassing as to the presentation and lack of food on the plate given the prices being charged. Fish presented skin side up is...unacceptable. The chips were a mix of thick and thinner cut items which looked sad on the plate. The tartare sauce was an absolute joke and bore no resembalance to that on offer at local competitors or mass produced products. The fish pie whilst tasty was poor in presentation and fell short when compared with competitors. The best value meal of the evening was the scampi and chips which says something. We are local and keen to support local businesses but this evenings mediocre experience means we will focus on other premises.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having had a mediocre meal here about 6 weeks ago I decided to try again given that it is a local pub. Alas, I was disappointed with the food again. Chicken Kiev was over cooked, dry and chewy. Rib eye steak was full of gristle...and despite asking for medium rare was served well done. The peppercorn sauce was far too salty and overpowered the whole meal. Nachos were uninspiring and looked distinctly unappetising as just thrown on a small plate. The food absolutely lets down what is a friendly pub with a nice atmosphere. Overpriced, bland, overcooked and lacks the finesse you would expect with the prices being charged. Struggling to see how the landlord can justify the high food and drink prices. Having given the place a second chance I will not be back. This used to be a great pub with great food. Sadly it has gone downhill with quality sacrificed for profit.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being locals we occasionally stop off for lunch here and are always very pleased we did. Today was no exception as the food, service and overall ambiance were all great. The welcome was lovely and the service spot on. We rate this pub very highly...for it's quality and value and urge everyone to support it.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Soooo pleased we found this beautiful country pub! Absolutely perfect atmosphere, warm and welcoming, friendly and relaxed. Food was fab, all had steak except the small one who had kids fish fingers (homemade, fresh, delicious... MASSIVE portion!) steaks were cooked to perfection with great side...selection - onion rings were banging! Nothing to fault in the food except I wish we could come back on a Sunday to give the carvery a go! Staff and locals super friendly and welcoming. I'd highly recommend this lovely place!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

delicious food, friendly staff, lovely setting. considering we both had small portions we were still left stuffed! thank you so very much! an absolute treasure

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for food & a catch up with friends. Atmosphere was good and staff friendly. Two of us fish & chips & one had Caesar Salad - all excellent. For desert, one had coconut & mango which was very nice. I had the pale ale...jelly with white chocolate mousse & peanuts. It came in a 1/2 pint glass mostly jelly with a thin layer of the mousse which was actually a warm foam. The proportions weren’t right, it tasted weird & the ingredients really didn’t go together. My other friend just had vanilla ice cream - a much safer bet. Would definitely go back however I would avoid any weird dessert combinations next time.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Highly recommended. Went for lunch with a friend. Excellent food and the service was outstanding. A pleasure to go there, would definitely recommend and return.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great carvery - have been here 3 x in last 3 months and not been disappointed. Only downside is the tolerance to other customers to allow dogs to sit on the seats. I wouldn't want to sit on a seat after someone has had their...dog sitting on it. No problem with dogs but lack of consideration by some owners is always a mystery to me.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

DISGUSTED. I happened to go to this pub late Wednesday afternoon on the day that has been discussed of a gentleman's wake. I went with my partner for early drinks and a meal and found when I walked in a calm and happy atmosphere. There...was a group in the corner by the fire who I now know as the party of people who were there from the funeral earlier that day. They was only around 10 of them and they were just chatting in the corner. We then watched the manager chatting with the staff and leaving, then a young girl approached the table and inform them that they were no longer allowed any alcohol. I was a little shocked as they seemed perfectly fine and no problem, i have been in pubs before where drunks can be unruly and this isn't how I would of described them at all. Then they were obviously upset but still calm and controlled and each went to the bar to cancel food. I heard some comments of disappointment as they left which under the circumstances I was not surprised. The management have commented on TripAdvisor saying they were abusive and cctv showed this, THEY WEREN'T. Yes there body language showed the were upset but there was no shouting or aggression. After they had left my partner and I where so shocked how they could be treated so badly after losing a family member and being forced to leave. I would of been devastated if this had happened to my family and ruined what should of been a memorable day. We then left without eating. I'm still reeling from the staffs treatment!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Such a warm welcome from every member of staff Attentive polite and professional Whenever we are in Redruth this little gem is a first port of call for dinner

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

New menu . Very disappointed. We came for a family meal. My mother in law ordered the fish of the day which she was informed was haddock. When it came to the table it was plaice and was asked by the waiting staff if that...was OK. She felt at the time she couldn't say anything as she was conscious other diners may hear and didn't want to make a fuss and all the other meals had been served. If you order haddock you expect haddock not plaice. The rest of the meals could have been easily made at home and a lot tastier! The waiting staff especially with a new menu need to know how the meals are served.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

I recently went here in Feb 2024 for a dear friend dads wake that particular pub was chosen as the dad was born opposite .on arrival at around 12 30 we were all offered a promotion of drink 5 pints get the six one free...which we took up of course ( the drinks here are very expensive ).the tills were ringing and the manager couldn't of been happier as it was a rainy weds afternoon so a quiet day . Most mourners left but a few family members and friends remained for a evening meal which started at 5 30 PM. A large food order was placed and the son went to the bar and placed a large drinks order which cost over 60 poundms with no promlem . We were sat in a corner talking about dad etc when the manager came over and said no more drinks then disappeared she was extremely rude and had no empathy at all . My friend had paid alot of money to have the wake here and was upset and angry . Unfortunately I have heard since that it has happened before . I would stay well clear of this place overpriced and snotty . The owner didnt even bother to get in touch with my friend either I think it's disgusting!!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

I recently attended the wake of my best friends father. The food provided seemed to go down ok and the afternoon went well, initially, with great banter between mourners and staff, however as the day progressed the remaining group placed a large food order only...to be told that we would not be served anymore alcohol. We had spent a lot of money between us and without the party the pub would have been empty and everyone was very good natured celebrating the life of a local gent. We were told we'd been 'drinking for too long'. I was not aware there was a time frame and this led to the group cancelling all orders and leaving. It was a really disappointing end to an already emotional day and the whole group, that all live locally will not be visiting again.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Chapman, Owner at Fox and Hounds comford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Hi, We have responded in full to the organiser regarding the incidents of the day. All four meals ordered were refunded in full as requested, and soft or hot beverages were offered upon refusal of more alcohol as per licensing law, not time limitations. Regards...More

Reviewed 6 March 2024

Held my Dads wake here as he was born across the road, he was 83, initially all staff were very helpful, but when we carried on drinking past 5pm, we then placed a large food order, when all money had been taken for the food,...we were then told by young staff - not the manager who had ducked out- that were were not allowed any more drinks! Understandably, we were upset! And cancelled all food orders! Took a week to reply to emails, and blamed us all for everything m Drinks are well over £6 a pint, food okMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel Chapman, Owner at Fox and Hounds comford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Hi, Apologies for the delay in responding in full following your complaint on the 29th of March, and your subsequent email late on Friday the 1st of March. As you can appreciate an investigation of events needed to be carried out following reports from other...More

Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

Went for Sunday carvery. Food was okay but boy with glasses cutting meat was very rude. Normally I would give a food place another go but due to his attitude I won’t bother. Avoid

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Penventon Park Hotel
1,916 reviews
2.84 miles away
Travelodge Camborne Redruth
553 reviews
4.54 miles away
Aviary Court Hotel
77 reviews
4.88 miles away
Tyacks Hotel
371 reviews
5.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Coppice at Lanner
177 reviews
.62 miles away
Cornish Arms
124 reviews
1.61 miles away
Seven Stars Inn
75 reviews
1.78 miles away
The Stag Hunt Inn
95 reviews
2.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wheal Maid and Poldice Valley Circular Walk
10 reviews
1.85 miles away
Kennall Vale
30 reviews
1.87 miles away
Paddle Cornwall
46 reviews
2.26 miles away
Twelveheads to Chacewater Circular Walk
5 reviews
2.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rainbowlady19
9 October 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from darthmaull69 | Reviewed this property |
Yes best to
0
Votes
Laura G
11 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from danielcV7836QY | Property representative |
I’m the new landlord and we are open 7 days a week from 11am till late and do food from 11-9 every day and hoping to carry this on right through the winter
1
Vote
Carole P
17 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from nv1969 | Property representative |
hi yes we are open subject to availability, please call on 01209 820251 to discuss your requirements, kind regards
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FOX AND HOUNDS COMFORD, Redruth - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fox and Hounds comford

Fox and Hounds comford is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4