We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carbeile Inn

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Trevol Road, Torpoint PL11 2NJ, England
+44 1752 814102
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Tue 15:00 - 23:00
Wed - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 118: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

My husband & I visited the carbeille for Sunday lunch, deciding to try again after giving a poor review a few months ago. Some things have improved very slightly. The Sunday roast was very good with an excellent choice of veg. Beef was a little on the dry side. Staff were attentive particularly one who I presumed was the Supervisor.... More 

3 Thank Lynn J
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

This very particular customer consistently reviews and, to be honest, we know that we can never please her! We go to many other establishments that are dearer than us and not as good – we are a community pub with bed and breakfast, not a 5 star hotel or celebrity chef restaurant! We’re pleased that our staff are appreciated –... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2014

i just can't fathom how it is that the population of Torpoint denies itself the pleasure of lunching at this superb value-for-money establishment. My wife and I had the whole place to ourselves on 3rd December, and whilst 'er indoors went for straightforward HE&C, which she enjoyed with girt great slices of prime ham, I took a seafood pasta from... More 

Thank Derek C
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We know that we can't please all the people all the time (who can?) but do try our best and are pleased when this is appreciated in reviews. We've got a great team of staff (nearly 30 people) who may not all be visible but are tremendous at keeping things running smoothly. Thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2014

Me and my friend meet up every Sunday and we used to go to carbeile every week without fail - we were warned off going since the place changed owners and the menus etc went with it. We did not go for several weeks as 6 separate people told us not to go due to various reasons, mostly food and... More 

3 Thank Noonoo92
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

This review includes hearsay and insulting personal comments which are not admissible by Tripadvisors guidelines, however, I will grace with a reply. The calamari was returned to the kitchen with the complaint that it had colour in it – the only colour was the ink – we’re very sorry but whole baby squid contain ink! We offered alternatives which were... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

Myself, family and friends stopped and ate at this Inn for 2 days. Came down from the Midlands to see our son pass out at very nearby HMS Raleigh. The location was perfect and is a must for anyone who is planning the same. It is just about 3 minutes from the base by car and without having to use... More 

Thank dagobah_818
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for the very kind review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your visit and the passout from HMS Raleigh. The shower is on the refurbishment list and will soon be replaced by the brewery. More 

Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Where to start with this pub. Over priced bar. With a round of drinks that elsewhere cost approx £24 coming to £37. Food. Average bordering on poor. Over cooked sausages, which when sent back then appeared on the plate of of another member of the party! When the menu states steak and peppercorn sauce you expect the sauce to arrive... More 

6 Thank Pipred
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

We have reported this review to tripadvisor as it is by the same party as another review which has already been replied to. This one contains blatant untruths and exaggerations. Our drinks prices are as the St Austell lowest tenancy tariff and are comparable to drinks in other local pubs - we cannot compete with clubs which are supposedly charitable... More 

Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014 via mobile

Well where do I begin. I attended the carbeile inn for a meal and some drinks to celebrate a close friends grandfather who had passed away. We chose the carbeile due to friends advice and was very disappointed. The cost of drinks at the bar and I'm including soft drinks is absolutely ridiculous. I was charged over £4.00 for a... More 

6 Thank Jackdm87
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

Occasions of this nature are always difficult with people easily upset and we’re very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the Carbeile Inn. We do take on board all criticism whether it is constructive, fair or unfair, however, with regard to prices, we are a St Austell tenancy and operate on their lowest recommended tariff for tenancies.... More 

Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Thank you for spoiling a birthday dinner with substandard food and terrible service. You might wish to consider employing a decent chef and training your bar and waiting staff. Won't be returning.

3 Thank anne t
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

Special celebrations at the Carbeile Inn are very popular and we listen to our guests and tailor events to their requirements. We do a large number of birthday parties for all ages, some are pre-arranged and others arrive without booking. Both of our chefs and our waiting staff are upset by this review and we’re trying very hard to find... More 

Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

Food is overpriced service especially behind the bar is poor,new owners and did not even welcome us spotlessly clean but won't go again ..

6 Thank jigglycornwall
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review and we're sorry that you feel you didn't get the attention you required. We have now been here for 9 months and met most of the locals within the first couple of months. The Carbeile is a large spread out establishment and much as Rob and I would like to meet and greet every single customer... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

The first few times I went to this pub I was impressed. Average prices and good food. However when I went back in June 2014 with some family who where visiting I was very disappointed. Service was very poor. Took ages for them to serve our meals and when they did they brought out all the adult ones first followed... More 

6 Thank HeatherGargett
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for the review. We're sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to the Carbeile in June. It's only by receiving constructive criticism that we can correct problems with our service. Your comments will be passed onto the staff and reminders given to them as to how service should be provided. We do usually send childrens meals out first... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Really enjoyed the steak night at the carbeile inn. Two steaks with trimmings and bottle of wine for £20. Both the steaks and the wine were lovely and a treat for a monday eve. We will be back, thankyou. If i had to make a suggestion as to how the evening could be improved it would just be that as... More 

1 Thank sally w
diasy, Owner at Carbeile Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for the nice review, we're very pleased that you enjoyed our steak evening special offer. We do usually have background music on in the dining room, I'll make a point of reminding staff that this needs turning on if we are not there! More 

Travellers who viewed Carbeile Inn also viewed

Torpoint, Cornwall
Torpoint, Cornwall

Been to Carbeile Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 - 22:30
15:00 - 23:00
15:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Trevol Road, Torpoint PL11 2NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Torpoint
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 814102

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Carbeile Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Carbeile Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?