We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shoulder of Mutton Inn

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
We are a traditional English country pub, surrounded by spectacular views four miles from the nearest town of Richmond. We pride our selves on good traditional bar meals made from locally sourced ingredients. we also have Six letting rooms comprising of four double rooms with on suite bathrooms, one family room which has one double and two single beds to accommodate a family of four with on suite bathroom, all of witch have showers only in the bathrooms and we also have an Annex which has its own separate living room, bedroom, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, and bathroom with shower over bath.
PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$41
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
117
29
9
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
117
29
9
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie liver crab steak mash prawn cocktail potatoes salad hunter's chicken shoulder of mutton the pub land lady great grub convivial atmosphere stayed here sunday lunch warm welcome
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

This is verv different to where we have stayed before. Set on the Yorkshire dales the views were lovely. It’s a quaint pub/inn which hosts mostly locals. The owner was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very nice. On the downside the room was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sandrag748
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely little pub and the food is great. I just don’t understand why the man behind the bar (possibly landlord) is so unfriendly, not really the sort of person that should be working in this sort of industry. I’m not surprised the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank rebeccah156
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Stayed here on the 31st October 2018 as a halfway point to a trip to Edinburgh, and again on the return trip 6th November. Ideal spot out of the way with superb walking and views , we arrived late approx 9.30 pm so were too...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Baz R
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Family weekend away. Visited Friday evening and Sunday afternoon for Sunday lunch. Food wonderful, excellent choice on the menu and great hosts. Thank you! We’ll definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 102alocal
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Nice 'oldy worldy' pub in a lovely location. Could do with updating in some areas Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food not good quality at all and far to overpriced for portion sizes. We ordered Homemade Lasagne for £10.00, smallest lasagne dish I have ever...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Shirley D
Matthew W, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

We are sorry you felt this way, we did come and ask if everything was ok with your meal to which you replied that it was and if you had said something then we would have done our upmost to solve the problem. Everyone comments...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

The Sign at the end of the road proudly displays open for lunch in addition to some sites on the Internet also communicating open for lunch. Great shame given the reviews we have seen for this particular pub. Seems pubs in this area need to...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank davidnF5877AK
Matthew W, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

We are really sorry for your disappointment. We were open for lunches up until the end of the school summer holidays but as we had no one come in for a couple of weeks on a lunchtime we decided to close.

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

The place was dirty, no hand soap in ladies loos, the beer was warm, my husband ordered leg of lamb, when it arrived it was nothing more that a lamb steak for £14!! I'm just shocked that from reading the reviews people actually enjoyed their...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Annette W
Matthew W, Owner at The Shoulder of Mutton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Hi, The beer was not warm as we always have the chillers on. In regards to the dirty ness we did have a cleaner in so not sure why you say it was dirty. As for the leg of lamb it does not say a...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018

Arriving here after a robust evening walk over the hill, we were greeted by the jocular landlord. Entering, I said, "I booked a table for seven.' 'Oh,' he said, 'why are there only two of you?' Ha Ha. The locals at the bar were friendly...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Viaggiatoreinglese
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We ate here as it was just around the corner from our B&B accommodation. We arrived at 8.00 and, after choosing our drinks, we were given our choice of three booked tables. The menus arrived promptly and had a good choice of both starters and...More

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank John D
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We had a lovely meal 9 of us in all, All chose different food of the menu which was excellent, Smoked haddock, Curry, Hunter's Chicken and Salmon, plenty of veg with the meal and really good service. All had a sweet which were good, an...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Katrina H
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Hartforth Hall Hotel
172 reviews
1.90 miles away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
885 reviews
4.01 miles away
The King's Head Hotel
794 reviews
4.05 miles away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
938 reviews
4.69 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Fox Hall Inn
626 reviews
1.65 miles away
Duncans Tearoom
508 reviews
4.01 miles away
Barretts
152 reviews
3.98 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Mainsgill Farm
296 reviews
1.54 miles away
Georgian Theatre Royal
361 reviews
3.99 miles away
Green Howards Museum
227 reviews
4.07 miles away
Richmond Castle
882 reviews
4.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mary R
22 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Susan M | Reviewed this property |
The Shoulder of Mutton has changed hands.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing