We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Spike Restaurant

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Highway 16, Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, Hill City, SD 57745
+1 605-574-2577
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I came down from my room and wanted to order a pizza to take back to our room and everyone seemed confused about what was and was not ready because they said that they just opened... the cook came out and clarified some information so I could finally make my order. It wasn't the best pizza but it worked. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank cooper1607
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Part of the Best Western franchise, the Golden Spike hosts breakfast for hotel guest only, but is open to the public for lunch...10:30-2:00 and Dinner 4:30-8:00. Simple menu for lunch but friendly and surprisingly good flavor and portion size. The Philly Sandwich was true to form (drip hazard stuffed full) and very tasty. Freshly grilled, tender on a fresh hoagie... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

For a complimentary breakfast, it was very good. We were a lil disappointed that it wasn't open too late.

Helpful?
Thank Brian K
Laura F, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will take this into consideration. we hope you have a great day. More 

Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
708 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Restaurant is attached to the Best Western. Menu had limited options for dinner. Had the super burrito and the tilapia, and both were decent. Good prices. Service was a little spotty. Dinner was nothing to write home about.

Helpful?
Thank HARRY M
Laura F, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant. I will be sure to let the restaurant staff know about the issues you had for service and your meals. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time. More 

Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were staying at the Best Western Golden Spike Inn September 2016. We were traveling with our dogs and decided to try take out from the connected restaurant our first night there. We had a simple cheeseburger with fries and it was excellent. The next day we toured Custer State Park and looked for a different place to eat for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mubbs
Laura F, General Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review

We were happy to hear that you had enjoyed your meals with us. We appreciate your feedback and time, and hope you have an amazing day. More 

Marina, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The morning complimentary breakfasts were typical and adequate. I had tow evening meals there, and in both cases the meat was really tough. Disappointing for Wyoming.

Helpful?
Thank Carl T
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It has good food, reasonable selection, home baked pies and nice customer service. It had a bit of a Southern café feel to it. It is attached to a Best Western Hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Breakfast selection was good. Coffee hot and available all day. Lots of seating available so it did not seem cramped when quite full.

Helpful?
Thank Oldhog
Grand Forks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Seated immediately, then nothing for 10 minutes. Place was only 1/3 full, each server 2 or 3 tables. Finally acknowledged us and brought drinks, took order and disappeared. Took forever to get a 2nd drink. Food was poor, steak was 1/4 fat and not eaten. Terrible food and service

Helpful?
Thank 28BrianM
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We ate here twice during a four-night stay at another hotel. The servers work hard, but over all the service was quite slow. It took a while for the meals to arrive, although the place was not crowded on either night. One meal was served lukewarm, but eaten anyway rather than wait for staff to reappear. Dinner salads might be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Childmountain3
Laura F, Manager at Golden Spike Restaurant, responded to this review

We do apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We have made several changes recently to improve all patrons dining experience. Thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our service to you. More 

Travellers who viewed Golden Spike Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Spike Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Highway 16, Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites, Hill City, SD 57745
  • Location: United States  >  South Dakota (SD)  >  Hill City
  • Phone Number: +1 605-574-2577

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Spike Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?