We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverfront

Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
+353 49 854 7561
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (15 reviews)
“chicken” (11 reviews)
“cake” (4 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 02:30 Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had family dinner one evening. The food was nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Quick service. And also nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank JolitaP18
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give The Riverfront a 4-star review, We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All I can say is we went in for one drink and were looked after by Stephen. We stayed all night. Amazing service. Brilliant.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank rosettalawn
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Stephen is our secret weapon, Thank you so much for your kind words and 5 Star review. Hopefully we will see you again very soon .

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is always good , couldn't fault it, great selection and haven't had any complaints. However, some constructive criticism as I have encountered this problem more then once over the last couple of months. The floor staff need to be more attentive. They are...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank irishcityhopper
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the constructive criticism, the points you raised have been discussed at our weekly staff meeting and we hope you experience improvement on your next visit . Happy New Year.

Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

Passing through for business and had the burger with Brie and chilli jam. Very nice. Very polite and respectful staff plus some nice customer service bonuses with regards to food and service. Thanks!

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank dadsdad
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5-star review of The Riverfront. We look forward to serving you again very soon . The Riverfront team.

Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Had dinner today food was fantastic, service was second to none our waitress was absolutely brilliant,she couldn’t do enough for us,service with a smile all thanks to our waitress Nicole :)

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank joee123123
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Delighted to receive this TripAdvisor 5 Star review. Thank You so much Joe. The Riverfront team.

Reviewed 31 October 2018

We spent a very happy 2 hours having lunch in this main street restaurant. The food was great, reasonably priced, and the staff were very friendly. I can recommend the Guinness!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Suzanna L
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you, Suzanna, for a fantastic review of The Riverfront.We hope to see you again soon Best Regards The Riverfront team

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

€17 is a bit rich for a beer burger with lettuce, tomatoes and cheese and a tiny portion of chips. Toffee pudding was ordered. What came out was a muffin with old cheap almonds and drizzle of caramel sauce on top. Worst sticky toffee pudding...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank MichaelD8G
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you, Michael, for taking the time to review The Riverfront. Sorry, our sticky toffee pudding did not live you to your exceptions. We feel €17 euro for a main course is average, but we do take your comments on board. Delighted to hear the...More

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We dined here on a Sunday afternoon. We had a nice seated area up the back the only bother was getting the waitress attention once our food was served. The pork dish the meat was a bit tough. Our desserts were ok.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 631niamhk
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you Niamh for your review of The Riverfront I have passed your comments to the restaurant manager. Best Regards, The Riverfront Team .

Reviewed 18 October 2018

Called this evening for main course about half past six after a busy day in Dublin. The fish was disgusting greasy oily. It is now three and a half hours later and I can still taste the oil repeating on me. I have been to...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Storyteller798189
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for your review of The Riverfront, Sorry we seem to have fallen short of your expectations. Your comments have been sent to our head chef. Hopefully, you will try us again in the future. The Riverfront team.

Reviewed 2 October 2018

We were there with family and friends for a small private afternoon party for a christening. The food was excellent, good value for money and the willing and friendly service couldn't have been better. They made us all feel very special.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank 242valerie
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you, Valerie, for your 5-star review of The Riverfront. We are delighted with your comments and look forward to serving you again in the not so distance future. Best Regards, The Riverfront team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Park Hotel
3 reviews
.49 miles away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
662 reviews
1.58 miles away
The Bailie Hotel
111 reviews
7.26 miles away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
455 reviews
8.70 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Willow's Cafe
60 reviews
.07 miles away
Mason's Apron
110 reviews
.06 miles away
Indian Tandoori
8 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cavan County Museum
207 reviews
5.34 miles away
Loughcrew Megalithic Cairns
272 reviews
6.35 miles away
Bailieborough Castle Forest Walk
7 reviews
7.12 miles away
Kells Monastic Site
94 reviews
11.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Phoenix0612
6 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from paulO6725GO | Property representative |
100% Family friendly ,high chairs are on site .Best Regards
0
Votes
Phoenix0612
6 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from 19BeachBum75 | Reviewed this property |
I would have to say yes, when I visited for Sunday dinner there were lots of families in
2
Votes
mrssallen
23 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 1969Traveller | Reviewed this property |
It is just five minutes up the road in Virginia (the hotel is on the outskirts of Virginia) Unless you like a long walk you would need to drive to it. It is a very nice walk however if you are feeling energetic.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:30
Thursday
09:00 - 23:30
Friday
09:00 - 02:30
Saturday
09:00 - 02:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Cavan  >  Virginia
  • Phone Number: +353 49 854 7561
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing