We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£7 - £10
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
View all details
features, about
Reviews (184)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
118
30
10
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
118
30
10
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish take away curry sauce fair price hit the spot large cod and chips jersey gorey beach harbour rain castle
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 May 2024

Love Entwhistles. Thought I would take a visit as was petsitting for a friend close by. I was a little concerned by a recent review about the chips. However management had replied saying they had a quality issue from a supplier but managed to source...their normal product. Cod and chips was fantastic. Chips were cooked to perfection as was the cod. Service great and personable as usual and premises nice and clean as always. Will be back.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2024

How can they justify a hefty price for fish and chips it’s a big rip off in general there food is very pricey and food is average

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023

Wonderful Employees and Great food. The Best Fish and Chips on the Island. I'm from the USA and I wait until I come to the UK for Fish and Chips. I'm so glad I found this place on my first visit in June. If you're...looking for the real deal, this is it. Thanks you guys and see yall next year :)More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2023

Went to this chip shop twice whilst on holiday and both times it was terrible. Should have learnt after the first time. The chips look and taste like oven chips. They are very dry and i am convinced they are oven chips. Burger i had...was like rubber and tasted like an old boot. Avoid at all costs, even in an emergency.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2023 via mobile

Not the best the fish was a little undercooked and slimey on the last visit. Chips are frozen from a packet. Very expensive. Prime fry is better

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2023 via mobile

Discovered this place by chance as I completed Gorey walk loop from Jersey Heritage website after a visit to the castle. Hadn’t decided on dinner plans and was considering restaurant options in Gorey while I walked. Then walked pass here to a hive of activity....Decided to go with easy option for dinner of cod, chips and mushy peas to enjoy over looking the harbour sheltered from the rain. They were super tasty and hit the spot after my day of sightseeing. I can see why they were busy with customers. It was only a short wait too which was great.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

My husband & I visited Gorey and fancied fish & chips. A friendly chap took our order and we didn’t mind waiting - as the food is cooked to order. Nice dry chips and plenty of fish, curry sauce was tasty too, Thankyou.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2022 via mobile

Fish and chips on the beach, lovely large cod and chips, staff friendly and a fair price will definitely go back, best fish and chips in a long time .

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

Worst fish and chips I have had. The chips were soggy and the fish greasy and lacked flavour. Peas were ok

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2022 via mobile

As always superb food and service, on our recent visit the server was working single-handedly, nevertheless she was efficient and swift keeping track of orders and working flat out. Certainly the best fish and chip take-away in Jersey.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2021

Visit on 20th Nov 2021 Excellent food, great portions. Superb service as usual from Monika. Thank you

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monika, Owner at Entwhistles Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2021

Thank You ☺️

Reviewed 8 November 2021 via mobile

Judging by the new faces on the premises, Entwhistles, a long standing cornerstone of Gorey Village appears to be under new ownership/management. Sadly, and judging by the noticeable reduction in portion sizes - fish, scampi, chips, I suspect there might be a similar reduction in...customer numbers in the future. Certainly my family will be venturing further afield in search of better value for money and quality product. A big shame.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ianchips, Owner at Entwhistles Fish & Chip Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2021

Entwhistles is still under same management, I did take day off on Saturday but nothing else has changed. We do our best to be consistent in our products and we’re sorry you were disappointed.

Reviewed 16 September 2021

After a busy day out.... And forgetting to book anywhere for dinner, we stopped here for supper.... We were not disappointed. Lovely fresh chips, plus the staff were very polite and friendly

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

We were very much looking forward to trying ‘the best fish and chips’ in Jersey but were left a little disappointed. Chips were tasty, and fish was fresh. However portion size of chips, for one size only, was from where we’re from, a small. Also...very stingy on salt & vinegar, which from a chippy, should be in abundance! The ketchup we had ordered was not packed but unfortunately only noticed when we unpacked the bag and the food itself was luke warm which meant our cheesy chips did not melt, we assume it had been sat for a while as we did wait a long time after ordering. For our evening of fish and chips overlooking the beach on our holiday, it had left us feeling slightly underwhelmed, especially for £20 for a ‘small’ cheesy chips/ ‘small’ chips / onion rings, battered sausage and a large battered cod.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

We're over in jersey for a week and went here. We had the battered haddock and chips along with a single portion of scamp. Both were brilliant, especially after a couple of beers

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Maison Gorey Hotel
245 reviews
.13 miles away
Seascale Hotel & Restaurant
111 reviews
.52 miles away
Dolphin Hotel And Restaurant Jersey
142 reviews
.53 miles away
The Moorings Hotel
104 reviews
.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Bass & Lobster
753 reviews
.14 miles away
Sumas
589 reviews
.46 miles away
The Pembroke Pub
175 reviews
.95 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mont Orgueil Castle
1,817 reviews
.60 miles away
La Hougue Bie Museum
477 reviews
1.44 miles away
Island RIB Voyages
153 reviews
1.89 miles away
Samares Manor
727 reviews
2.62 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
colinmG3586CE
21 August 2019|
Answer
Response from mac26Lancs | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I’m not sure
0
Votes
Safari00025472104
12 August 2019|
Answer
Response from mac26Lancs | Reviewed this property |
I think so
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ENTWHISTLES FISH & CHIP SHOP, Grouville - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Entwhistles Fish & Chip Shop

Yes, Entwhistles Fish & Chip Shop offers takeaway services.

Entwhistles Fish & Chip Shop is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5