We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£25 - £40
CUISINES
Seafood, British, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

The smart tableware gives a clue as to this restaurant’s owners: the famous Jersey Pottery. It’s light and airy and it sits on the promenade, with a te...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Reviews (1,964)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,881 results
Traveller rating
1,212
413
144
68
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,212
413
144
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters crab lemon sole turbot fresh fish jersey royals steak pudding bread sea bass salad seafood restaurant st brelades bay window table wine list special occasion overlooking the beach
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of 8 visited for a friends 60th birthday based on a recommendation. We knew it would be pricey but it was a special occasion. We were asked to have drinks in the bar first, which was fine, and were brought menus when we...asked for them. Half an hour later we were still sat in the bar area so asked if we could order and were told “no, not until you are at your table”. We were eventually taken to our table and again asked if we could order, and were told “after I take another drinks order” which the server did, then insisted on pouring water too before eventually taking the order. We had now been in the restaurant over an hour! She took the food order, checked it, and our starters came. I had the seafood bisque which I usually love, but this was very strong so I couldn’t finish it and bizzarly was served with a pot of marie rose sauce? Never had that with soup before! Our mains came, and we had now been in the restaurant for just short of two hours, and 2 were wrong. The server apologised and said she would get them changed but we said no, as by this time it was nearly 10.30 pm and we were all really past eating and didn’t want to wait longer again. And we wanted to eat all together. I had the chicken, although I had ordered fish with it being a speciality fish restaurant, but couldn’t face waiting again, and although it was on the bone, it was dry and at best average. One of our party did seek out the manager to discretely say we were all disappointed and she came over to apologise and offered us a bottle of Prosecco. We said no to this gesture as it was now nearly 11pm but did suggest she took a bottle of Prosecco off our bill which she did. We paid our bill and on the way out she apologised to the birthday girl and said she hoped her evening had not been spoiled. We then said that they had had the opportunity to turn the evening around by just keeping us informed that there may have been a delay, but they didn’t. We also suggested that the 2 meals that they got wrong were removed from the bill to which the response was “ but you accepted them”. We accepted them at it was 10.30 pm we had been there since 8.10pm and were hungry and fed up of waiting. The setting is beautiful, right on the beach, but the food, we all had the special set menu of the chicken or fish, was poor. The fish breaded in crumb was dry and tasteless, and as I have said previously, the chicken was also dry. The Jersey new potatoes, which we had ordered as extras were however delicious. We didn’t have a desert as it was far too late when those menus were brought.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We were very sorry to hear of your poor experience. We strive to deliver excellent service and the finest foods to our guests including our value Market Menu at £24.95 for two courses, and £29.95 for three. The aim is for this to keep our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sadly the high standard that we had expected did not materialise. We arrived in the rain and our coats were hung over each other making one lining wet - we were too dumbfounded to point it out so one of us walked out in a...damp coat. There was no medium dry wine available by the glass nor carafe so we had to choose cocktails and beer. The meal we had already chosen from the menu contained chilli though there was no mention of it on the menu, by now we should have read all the signs and left but we chose other dishes which were expensive and not particularly of a high quality. We also had a noisy baby nearby which was intrusive which didn't add to our experience. The restaurant requested a review which we gave and they have offered us a voucher which we have no intention of using.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We wrote to you last month to apologise for the issues mentioned in your review, and to extend a gesture of goodwill in the hopes that you might give us another try....More

Reviewed 22 April 2024

Did not deliver for the price charged. We saw the reviews, but the quality of food and service was well below expectations. Starters were fine, but my 3 Scallops were miniscule. The luxury dish of halibut at £40 was small and overcooked. We had to...tell the waitress each time several times what we wanted, but still got it wrong. They advertise no service charge as this is included in the premium prices, which is shame as we could not withhold a tip.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

We're really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit, Alan. We aim to deliver great-tasting food and professional service to every guest, so we're very disappointed that we fell short on this occasion. We don't add a service charge or tip, as we...More

Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

Truly excellent food. And good value with the Market menu. It was a very busy Sunday and the restaurant was full, but service was good. The chef even came out to speak with the customers. He is French, highly experienced and its shows. Every dish...we ordered, starters, mains and desserts were tasty, well prepared and presented. The restaurant is situated on the pedestrian promenade and overlooks what is arguably Jersey’s finest beach at St.Brelade. Plenty of parking nearby. This restaurant has left me with a fond and lasting impression. Can’t wait to go back!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Mike, thank you for your fantasic review of Oyster Box in St Brelade's Bay. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

A wonderful restaurant with beautiful views. We were warmly greeted and received a card for our anniversary which was a lovely touch . Service was slick and friendly , special mention to Astrid for really taking care of us . The food was amazing ,...tempura, rabbit , pork tomahawk and haddock Royale were devoured and portions were generous. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind and wonderful review. It's much appreciated.

Reviewed 29 March 2024

Not busy yet service poor. Bread brought with meal instead of with one starter. Expensive for what it is. Meat option poor and expensive. Seafood excellent. Communication difficult.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

We're sorry to see your review, and to hear that our service didn't match up to our usual high standards on this visit. We responded to your direct feedback already with full details about the actions we're taking to address these issues; unfortunately we have...More

Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

Exceptional in every way Lovely location with wonderful views .A truly memorable experience .Beautiful fresh sea food cooked to perfection and well presented Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Rex. We're delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience with us at Oyster Box; we strive to create amazing memories for our guests so it is really rewarding to receive feedback like yours. Thank you...More

Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

A friend & I visited The Oyster Box on Sun 10 March 2024 for lunch. The booking via their website was easy (though we booked that morning). Thd place was heaving as it was Mother's Day & tables were occupied as soon as they were...available. We opted for the very reasonable & keenly priced Market (£27.50 for 3 excellent courses). The food was very very good - pulled rabbit tagliatelle for my friend & grilled king oyster mushrooms with a pea puree & pumpkin seed dressing fof me as starters; pot roast chicken for my friend & moules for me (huge serving & delicious & perfectly cooked); & both if us had chocolate fondant (excellent again) as pudding. Though service was understandably affected by the hectic (though jolly) atmosphere & how full the place was, it was charming - esp Jackie the head chef who pulled a shift as front of house as he didn't have enough staff & was charming (we had a great chat about the differences between Brittany & Nornandy & whether Mont St Michel is in either depending on the tide). Keisha looked after us very well for lunch. The restaurant pays a "living wage", so when it came to paying the bill, charming Astrid told us that they did not add a service charge, & any tips paid would be donated to a charity. The great food, excellent "value for money" price, good service, & the fabulous view of St Brelade's Bay made for a memorable lunch. Can't recommend The Oyster Box enough.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

We're delighted you chose to spend Mother's Day with us; thank you for the detailed review of your experience. It's great to know you enjoyed our Market Menu, especially the pulled rabbit tagliatelle and grilled king oyster mushrooms. We'll pass your compliments to Kezhia and...More

Reviewed 7 March 2024

A lovely restaurant with a commanding view of the bay. Friendly service and superb, fresh seafood. No criticisms whatever.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our fresh seafood and our views of St Brelade's Bay. Your satisfaction means the world to us, and we really appreciate your review. We hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

Great service, lovely ambience and the food was Very very Good. Had the oyster, then had Monkfish Green Curry and the flavours were beautiful. Staff very friendly and helpful and shame we didn’t get to go back again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thanks so much for your kind words! We're delighted you enjoyed the oysters and monkfish curry, and we're really pleased to hear that our service exceeded expectations. We're sorry we missed seeing you again, but hope to welcome you back in future if you're ever...More

Reviewed 21 February 2024

Great restaurant, great service, amazing oysters. We went for lunch while visiting Jersey with our toddler, the restaurant was very accommodating for a family. The food was very good and the recommendation for Brill dish was appreciated, one of the best fish dishes I’ve had.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Thank you for your great review, Shane. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to Oyster Box; we aim to create a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere for all our customers, including our younger guests, so we are delighted to hear that you...More

Reviewed 30 January 2024

Always loved the Oyster Box but I think the food has got even better; rivals Scotts in London. We had a wonderful dinner. The service from Robert and Marc was impeccable. Such a lovely position over looking the beach, even in January!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Thanks so much, Eliza! We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent dining experience at Oyster Box. Your kind words about our food, service, and the beachfront view mean a lot. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and really appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed 27 January 2024

Had a lovely evening meal in a relaxed and friendly ambiance.I had dishes from the special menu and my husband chose from the main. All were beautifully cooked and delicious. Very professional and attentive service by Marc, in fact all the staff were so nice....Will definitely return next time we visit Jersey.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, Sarah. We're thrilled to know you had a lovely evening and enjoyed both our Specials menu and our A La Carte dishes. It's great to hear that Marc and the rest of our...More

Reviewed 23 December 2023

Fantastic seafood in a wonderful location. The menu and wine lists are extensive and the staff are incredible friendly.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our extensive menu, wine selection, and the friendliness of our staff. Providing a memorable dining experience is what we strive for, and it's rewarding to know that we...More

Reviewed 14 December 2023 via mobile

Visited with elderly uncle who was a little bit disappointed with his Brill. However, the whole meal was enjoyed with great food, location, wine and service by Kezhia and Allora. Thank you.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Other at Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We're delighted to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your meal, the location, and the service provided by our team. We're lucky to have such great staff, and we will pass your kind words on to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Amani Self-Catering
125 reviews
.03 miles away
St Brelade's Bay Hotel
1,456 reviews
.08 miles away
The Golden Sands
1,666 reviews
.12 miles away
Beau Rivage Hotel
223 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Poplars Tea Room
345 reviews
.89 miles away
Sugareef
730 reviews
.11 miles away
Old Smugglers Inn
672 reviews
.95 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Brelade's Bay Beach
2,174 reviews
.09 miles away
Parish Church of St. Brelade
517 reviews
.19 miles away
Beauport Beach
162 reviews
.61 miles away
Reg's Garden
263 reviews
.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alisonmT1714BL
4 August 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Brookfield63 | Reviewed this property |
Smart casual n chilled
0
Votes
scottj987
7 June 2018|
Answer
Response from paulsF1068UB | Reviewed this property |
Best check with there website or call directly Our Party of 8 were automatically charged a 12.5% or 10% but to be honest I cannot remember it depends on party size
0
Votes
lorrainea25
10 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from steve j | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay. Smart casual I would say.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

OYSTER BOX, St. Brelade - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Oyster Box

Oyster Box is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5