We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Jersey Crab Shack is located on the promenade in St Brelade's Bay, just 2 metres from the beach and sea. Part of the JPRestaurants group, we really care about guaranteeing quality and have a dedication and commitment to the island of Jersey, its produce, and our island community.
PRICE RANGE
£15 - £30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Seafood, British
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Waterfront, Beach
Reviews (1,852)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveller rating
1,001
510
137
68
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,001
510
137
68
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crab seafood taco chicken schnitzel linguine salad prawns fries bread jersey royals ice cream brelade's bay great location relaxed atmosphere beach front sit outside overlooking the beach
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

In Jersey just for the day. Did my 10,000 steps around St Brelade’s Bay - beautiful beach, tide out, warm and a gentle breeze. Ambled back towards the hotel and found this place. Busy, welcomed in, got a table inside. Drink arrived as ordered, not...over iced… Gave the chap my order and he said he would serve at my pace - ace. Natural local oysters were superb, wonderful flavour and texture. The shallot vinegar was superb. After a short rest, the squid and king prawn fritters arrived. Big portion, couldn’t finish, but amazing ! Never felt hurried, lovely lazy lunch - bear in mind, early season. Not sure it would be the same in the high summer.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your wonderful review, Mike! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant during your day trip to Jersey. It's great to know that you appreciated the relaxed pace, the local oysters, and the generous portion of squid and king...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food and lots of variety. Lots of gluten free options. Staff also dealt with the allergy /intolerance questions really knowledgeably. Good location; right on the beach and good value for money. We were really impressed.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for leaving a review, Joanne. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience - we pride ourselves on offering as many as possible gluten-free and coeliac-friendly choices, so it's really rewarding to see your feedback. We hope to welcome you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Felt it was a little overpriced but the staff were good and attentive and the atmosphere was relaxed and fun. The fish of the day was tasty but overcooked - the jersey potatoes fantastic plus we liked the oysters so much we ordered more.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, Anthony! We're really pleased that you enjoyed your visit, but sorry to hear that your fish was overcooked. Please do always feel free to mention to our team if there's any problem at all with your food - we'll always...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The crab shack in St Brelade is beautifully situated overlooking a stunning beach. Great choice of menu including lots of fish. The food was hot and well presented. Staff friendly and helpful. Menu included choice of large or small plates. I liked the fact that...no service charge was added.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review! We're delighted you enjoyed our beachside location, diverse menu, and friendly service. It's important to us that our team receive a fair wage, and that we offer transparent pricing, so we pay a Living Wage and don't add a...More

Reviewed 11 April 2024

The staff were really welcoming. Mark was very patient taking our order offering more time for children to review the menu. I felt the portion size of the stacking plates was spot on - I couldn’t finish mine. The ice cream bucket was a highlight...for my teen. A great experience.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Thanks so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great family-friendly experience at our Shack. It's wonderful to know that Marc provided excellent service and was patient with your order, especially with the children reviewing the menu. We're pleased...More

Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

The overall experience wasn’t terrible - however the food quality wasn’t hitting the level the pricing suggested. Small sized plates, barely an adult portion for £19-20 just is disappointing. It wouldn’t have mattered if the food tasted like it was worth that much but really...it was just bang average. Shame really, I’ve heard lots of good things about itMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Thanks for your review, Joel. We're disappointed to hear that our food quality and portion sizes didn't meet your expectations during your recent visit. We take all feedback seriously and will review our portion sizes to ensure they align with our pricing and deliver the...More

Reviewed 11 October 2023

We’ve been coming to the Crab Shack since 2009 and whilst it has really changed in both style and food, we still love it. We wish there were a few more fishy options (particularly crab eg crab claws, island platter etc) however, we really enjoyed...our visits. We probably ate there half a dozen times or so during our fortnight’s holiday and enjoyed every meal. We particularly liked the Indonesian seafood curry, the flat iron steak, the spider crab and the royal fish and chips amongst others. Service was friendly and efficient without ever making you feel rushed and we can’t wait to return!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023

Thanks so much for the lovely review, and for your continued support and loyalty over the years. It's always a pleasure to welcome you and we're thrilled that you still enjoy your visits to our Shack. We've changed a lot since we first opened to...More

Reviewed 24 September 2023

Our daughter had recommended the Crab Shack for dinner on our visit to Jersey. The wait staff are pleasant and very helpful explaining menu items. The food was delicious and a very enjoyable experience.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Sue, thanks so much for leaving a review! We're thrilled to hear that your daughter recommended us, and we're honored that you chose to dine with us during your visit to Jersey. It's wonderful to know that our team gave such great service, and we're...More

Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

You cannot visit Jersey without trying the excellent seafood. So we decided, as an anniversary treat, to try the oysters and the crab. After a bus ride from St Helier to St Brelades bay we went into the Crab Shack and are so glad we...did. The oysters were stunning and even my wife enjoyed them (last time she tried them was many years ago but these were soooo fresh !! Not only was the food both excellent and fresh but also really good value for money and I will happily recommend the Crab Shack to anyone.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Barry, thanks so much for choosing Jersey Crab Shack to celebrate your anniversary! We're delighted that you enjoyed our oysters and crab dishes, and t's wonderful to hear that our oysters were a hit, even with your wife, thanks to their exceptional freshness. We pride...More

Reviewed 17 September 2023

Probably the best oysters in the Island. Excellent presentation folowed by first class service and main meals. Highly recommendedMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

Thank you very much for the great review, Keith. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the oysters; we pride ourselves on selecting only the finest Jersey Rock oysters and we're so pleased that the quality shone through. Thank you for choosing Jersey Crab Shack...More

Reviewed 16 September 2023

Disappointing experience, very little meat on the crab and it wasn’t up to much, deserts were poor, served with ice cream which seemed to have been thawed & refrozen an expensive meal for below average food mentioned to the manager when paying the bill who...appeared to be apathetic and couldn’t care less what I had to say about the food. Would not recommend the crab to anyone …avoid!!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2023

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit, Diane. We only serve fresh local crabs and generally receive great feedback about them, but we appreciate that, as crabs are wild animals, there can be natural variations from crab to crab. We're disappointed that...More

Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Lovely food Visited during the heat wave Beautiful setting Efficient and friendly service Order one course at a time as it all comes together If visiting by bus be aware it is now their winter timetable so buses after 18.00 are infrequent We visited from...St Helier in the evening and were delighted with everythingMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Thank you for the great review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to welcome you again!

Reviewed 5 September 2023

Each to their own but have come away spending over £100 for a meal for two with one drink each feeling it was not the best experience I have had of eating on Jersey over the last twenty three years. Had the shack sharer, spider...crab salad and crispy chicken schnitzel. Order was recommended through their QR code link. All three meals came together and here was the first problem, the idea surely, and a person would logically know this, sharer to start, have a rest and then the main deal before considering a pudding. No, the first very abrupt male waiter said all come together no option, when we protested the manager did come over and show more sense and agreed to redo the chicken after the stater had been finished. Sharing platter was a ok but way too much batter around the prawns and chicken wings only just cooked through, it tasted very much like frozen bits heated through rather the freshly cooked taste to me. Second problem was manger came across and asked how my meal was but made no attempt to ask my partner what hers was like, felt a bit of a forced effort on the managers part to do a bit but no more. Third problem, fancied a pudding but when asked not to include whipped cream was told it was not possible??? Surely double dose of ice cream instead and put sauce etc. around that instead, didn’t come across as very imaginative and all the cooking was to recipe and no deviation. Every one has their own experiences and likes and dislikes but I have eaten in some very fine restaurants across the world and others in Jersey and our first visit top the crab shack in St. Brelade will be our last one based on our experience tonight. One redeeming feature was the young waitress on shift she was very helpful and had a good enthusiasm for providing service.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2023

David, we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. We have a casual menu with Big Plates, Sharers, and Small Plates, rather than a formal 'starters, mains, dessert' menu. This means that guests are free to order what they want, whenever they want...More

Reviewed 29 August 2023

One of the best places to eat Had spider crab and their prawn fritters very tasty, friendly and within budget great viewsMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2023

Thank you for the lovely feedback about your visit to Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade. we are pleased you enjoyed your spider crab and prawn fritters. . We really appreciate it when customers take the time to let us know about their experience dining with...More

Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile

We were first timers to Jersey and fell in love with the crab shack, the location is amazing and enjoying a glass of something cold over looking the bay with the beach close enough for our son to play with the son of another set...of diners in the sand was fantastic. The food was great, good value and nicely done. But we really need to give a shout out to the fantastic service during our visit. Whilst our son was playing in the sand he ended up with sand in his eye, he was absolutely beside himself. The team at the crab shack were amazing, they helped us calm him down, helped with an eye wash, held him with us while we administered it. Our son was causing quite a scene he was so distraught but not once did it feel like this was an inconvenience to them or the other diners. It took sometime to bathe his eye and calm him and I’m sure the manager had many other jobs related to the business to do rather than helping parents who had enjoyed a cheeky drink whilst abandoning their child to throw sand in his face on the beach, but he just stayed with us and kept calm and helped. Our sons food had gone cold after all the commotion and it was quickly replenished without question, additional drinks were poured for parents and it was all in a days work. The staff were a credit to the business and made such a difference to something that could have had a very different outcome.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JP Restaurants, Owner at Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2023

Thanks so much for the excellent review! It was a pleasure to welcome your family to the Shack, and we were really happy to help out. Our guests' comfort and wellbeing is our top priority, and it was no trouble at all. All in a...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Amani Self-Catering
125 reviews
.02 miles away
St Brelade's Bay Hotel
1,453 reviews
.06 miles away
The Golden Sands
1,666 reviews
.14 miles away
Beau Rivage Hotel
223 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Poplars Tea Room
345 reviews
.87 miles away
Oyster Box
1,964 reviews
.02 miles away
Sugareef
730 reviews
.13 miles away
Old Smugglers Inn
671 reviews
.96 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Brelade's Bay Beach
2,174 reviews
.10 miles away
Parish Church of St. Brelade
517 reviews
.18 miles away
Beauport Beach
162 reviews
.60 miles away
Reg's Garden
263 reviews
.52 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Suchard12
30 October 2021|
Answer
Response from SEW1987 | Reviewed this property |
See above review. Absolute nightmare (we have an 18mo). The most awful company.
0
Votes
Tracy R
11 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from blackwhite85 | Reviewed this property |
They definitely allowed dogs in the outside seating area and even provided dog water bowls. We also saw many locals walking their dogs on the beach in September, I'm not sure about high summer restrictions however.
0
Votes
wkd822
4 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from DavidE171 | Reviewed this property |
Ridiculously early. Think old people's home, like to shift everyone out by 9pm so don't bother booking after 8.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JERSEY CRAB SHACK ST BRELADE, St. Brelade - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade

Jersey Crab Shack St Brelade is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5