We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merchant House Brasserie

Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
+44 1534 510069
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“black pudding” (4 reviews)
“pork” (8 reviews)
“scallops” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
International, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Dined on the Tennerfest menu and it was truly outstanding. Quality food, ambient setting and attentive staff. All 3 courses for £17.50 a head. What more could you want? Will be back again soon.

Thank TracyStAgnes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Here in Jersey, Tennerfest is upon us. Scattered across the island, at this time of year, restaurants accept the challenge to offer their customers seasonal produce with new menu's at special rates to entice them in. And it works. At the Merchant House Brasserie, I...More

Thank rodbryans2015
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went along on Thursday evening around 6pm but they were fully booked inside the restaurant, asking if we could sit outside was a great move for us, they seated us just outside the main door in a round table for 6 of us, complete...More

Thank ModernMillie11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The yard next to the Jersey Museum is a very popular chill out place especially during after work hours. Nice to start your dinner there and change after a Pimm's or another cocktail to the restaurant. There you have the choice to to sit in-...More

Thank enricoBeiWien
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear enricoBeiWien, Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to post your great review of the Merchant House Brasserie. We're thrilled that you liked our walled terrace and our Pimms! Unfortunately the weather has become a little autumnal of late so sounds like...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Merchant House Brasserie in the grounds of Jersey Museum is a great find - good wine list and the food was superb. Al Fresco dining option in lovely courtyard (we started outside then moved inside when it got chilly!). RecommendMore

Thank Jacs100
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jacs100, Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to post your excellent review of the Merchant House Brasserie. We're very happy to hear that we could help make your meal enjoyable and that you liked the food and the drink and our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was very good, I had the seabass and my husband had the a ribeye steak. The service however was not so good, we had long waits to order and for our bill which meant the evening was not so enjoyable.More

Thank Tanya P
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tanya P, Firstly thank you very much indeed for your review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food but my most sincere apologies for the issues with the service. In our defence we are very busy but it is not like...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely staff very attentive without being over bearing excellent food great ambience highly recommendMore

Thank Teddyalice26
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Teddyalice26, Firstly thank you very much indeed for your excellent review of the Merchant House Brasserie. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. The team have also heard you comments and are very grateful! Many thanks again and we...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

First visit in 15 years, uncertain of our expectations on arrival. Great welcome from really nice staff, busy restaurant with a good atmosphere. Our seat was near kitchen which was quite warm... As soon as a better table was available we were swiftly moved, we...More

Thank Mintymoo
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mintymoo, First and foremost thank you very much for your great review. We're thrilled that you were happy with your meal with us. Rest assured we've passed on your kind comments to the team who are very grateful indeed. So often these days it...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Lovely position, excellent cooking albeit with presentation a little too 'arty', but that's subjective. Friendly service. A little pricey, but delivered a pleasant evening.More

Thank Surreyman1
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear XXXXXX, Firstly thank you very much indeed for your great review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and apologies if you felt our presentation is a little too elaborate. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

I would recommend that you do not visit this establishment. My meal was very poorly cooked. There was also a large party of professional people who arrived in the restaurant after we commenced our meal. We were warned that the noise would be excessive which...More

Thank 141ian
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Good evening, I believe this is a replica of your previous review (as the content and complaints are identical) and therefore in violation of tripadvisor's policies. As already mentioned we are sorry that other guests disturbed your meal and that you were unhappy with the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lamplighter
195 reviews
.04 miles away
Quayside Grill & Bistro
926 reviews
.09 miles away
Wildfire Grill Restaurant
1,068 reviews
.04 miles away
Unawatuna
273 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery
736 reviews
.12 miles away
Jersey Museum
832 reviews
.02 miles away
Liberation Square
622 reviews
.07 miles away
16 New Street
237 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Merchant House Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Jersey  >  St Helier
  • Phone Number: +44 1534 510069
  • E-mail
Description
In the heart of town you'll find our bustling restaurant and terrace bar: delicious food to warm your heart and delight your palate, from Irish and British meats to local seafood cooked to order. In the historic Weighbridge area, next to the Jersey Museum, you’ll find one of the most popular restaurants in St Helier. Locals affectionately refer to the spot as the 'Museum Brasserie'; a cosy retreat with vibrant food in a lively atmosphere. Here business people discuss the markets over lunch and in the summer the Terrace Bar lights up and turns into a hot spot where people chill out with good tunes with friends. Dinner is either a set menu or a la carte. Fusions of fish and Eastern spices make the food exciting and delicious. This is the place to go for good hearty food with some unexpected twists. The desserts are to die for!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing