We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merchant House Brasserie

Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
+44 1534 510069
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (15 reviews)
“pork” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
International, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely staff very attentive without being over bearing excellent food great ambience highly recommend

Thank Teddyalice26
Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit in 15 years, uncertain of our expectations on arrival. Great welcome from really nice staff, busy restaurant with a good atmosphere. Our seat was near kitchen which was quite warm... As soon as a better table was available we were swiftly moved, we...More

Thank Mintymoo
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely position, excellent cooking albeit with presentation a little too 'arty', but that's subjective. Friendly service. A little pricey, but delivered a pleasant evening.

Thank Surreyman1
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would recommend that you do not visit this establishment. My meal was very poorly cooked. There was also a large party of professional people who arrived in the restaurant after we commenced our meal. We were warned that the noise would be excessive which...More

Thank 141ian
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening, I believe this is a replica of your previous review (as the content and complaints are identical) and therefore in violation of tripadvisor's policies. As already mentioned we are sorry that other guests disturbed your meal and that you were unhappy with the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Thursday evening. Were told it was about to get noisy. It did! Very loud group of 20 or so. They were regulars. Impossible to have a conversation. Food was ok at best. Tomato & basil soup so heavily seasoned with black pepper,...More

Thank CAVA56
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cava56, Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and my most sincere apologies for the disappointment with your meal. With regards to the noise I am most sorry that the other party disturbed your meal. We are a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I first eat here in 2011. Nothing has changed -it still serves delicious food, and good wine and provides excellent service. It also has a lovely settingMore

Thank Sandra S
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sandra S, Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to post your excellent review. We're thrilled to hear that we could help make your meal enjoyable and that we've kept up the pace since we opened in 2011! When you're next on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was my second trip to the Merchant House and it was as great as last year. It ticks all my boxes for a dining experience with quality fare. The wine list is great too. Food was served in a timely fashion and consideration given...More

Thank Whiteballgal
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Whiteballgal, First and foremost thank you very much for your excellent review. We're thrilled that you were happy with your meal with us and that we were able to repeat the great experience again from last year. When you're next popping I be sure...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were seated outside in the Courtyard with wall heaters and blankets to keep the evening chill at bay. We both had fish mains which were excellent. We shared a dessert which was of reasonable quality but very small in size which was disappointing and...More

Thank Jeb S
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jeb S, Firstly thank you very much indeed for your great review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you enjoyed the heaters and blankets! I am sorry however at your disappointment with the dessert portions. As...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a lovely, tranquil spot. We went for lunch on a lovely sunny day (having had a disaster with a booking at another restaurant). We were able to get a table outside with ease. It's set back from the main road & not many people...More

Thank Georgie1512
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Georgie1512, First and foremost thank you very much for your excellent review. We're thrilled that you were happy with your meal with us and that you enjoyed our sunny terrace! Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our food and service. We are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortably furnished restaurant next to the Jersey museum and an ideal place for lunch. Good menu and service too. Food good quality.More

Thank Paul B
Dolan_Group, General Manager at Merchant House Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Paul B, Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to post your excellent review. We're very happy to hear that we could help make your meal enjoyable. I’ve passed on your review to the team who are very happy to say the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lamplighter
185 reviews
.04 miles away
Quayside Grill & Bistro
902 reviews
.09 miles away
Wildfire Grill Restaurant
1,038 reviews
.04 miles away
Unawatuna
270 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery
722 reviews
.12 miles away
Jersey Museum
817 reviews
.02 miles away
Liberation Square
599 reviews
.07 miles away
16 New Street
235 reviews
.20 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Merchant House Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Weighbridge, St Helier JE2 3NF
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Jersey  >  St Helier
  • Phone Number: +44 1534 510069
  • E-mail
Description
In the heart of town you'll find our bustling restaurant and terrace bar: delicious food to warm your heart and delight your palate, from Irish and British meats to local seafood cooked to order.

In the historic Weighbridge area, next to the Jersey Museum, you’ll find one of the most popular restaurants in St Helier. Locals affectionately refer to the spot as the 'Museum Brasserie'; a cosy retreat with vibrant food in a lively atmosphere.

Here business people discuss the markets over lunch and in the summer the Terrace Bar lights up and turns into a hot spot where people chill out with good tunes with friends.

Dinner is either a set menu or a la carte. Fusions of fish and Eastern spices make the food exciting and delicious. This is the place to go for good hearty food with some unexpected twists. The desserts are to die for!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing