We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barros' Tropical Bistro

37 David Place, JE2 4TD
+44 1534 619911
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“skewers” (26 reviews)
“rice” (28 reviews)
“potatoes” (17 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, Portuguese, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
37 David Place, JE2 4TD
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018

Lovely espetada skewers cooked to perfection. Came with a selection of carbs though which we found odd. There was fries, rice and what was allegedly polenta but it tasted like over cooked rice shaped into cubes. Small bowl of lettuce, tomato and cucumber. I would...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank C3017VWrichardb
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

I have just left Barros after my second visit this week. I am usually wary about going back to a restaurant for a second time on holiday as you can end up getting disappointed. But not here as the second visit was even better. The...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Alan Y
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We took friends here as our previous experiences have always been good. All four of us opted for the Espatada's and weren't disappointed. The service as ever was very good and the quality of the food as good as on out other visits. The only...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Phil E
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Waited at door for far too long before finally acknowledged & shown to table, then ignored at table & not offered drinks or menus until eventually the 4 of us walked out where nobody we walked past looked bothered at all to know whyMore

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Wayne H
Barros37, Manager at Barros' Tropical Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Good evening. You didn’t wait at the door, you waited outside. How are we suppose to acknowledge customers that don’t come into the restaurant especially on a busy Saturday night. Because of this, it obviously took me a while to notice you, but once I...More

Reviewed 24 August 2018

Discovered this by chance while walking back to our hotel. We dined well on delicious espetada meat skewers. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank andyc65133
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

What a little gem. Visited this restaurant tonight close to our hotel and it was fab. Had way too much choice but we ended up going for a set 2 course meal at £18 and I have to say the food was lovely. The service...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank sukinandhra
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Having never eaten Portuguese food before I did not what to expect, but boy the food here is to die for, I had the espetada and my wife had the pork medallions, so if you are near here you must go.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank antonyw
Reviewed 13 August 2018

The Barros Restaurant is adjacent to the Royal (Best Western) Hotel and what a gem it is! Extensive menu of Portuguese cuisine ,quality ingredients and no undue delay in service. Highly recommended. R&B.L.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank hardley2018
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Great service, excellent value menu and fantastic tasting espetadas. Decent wine pricing. Been going for years and will continue to do so. It can be a little cramped but that does not effect the experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 271spencer
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The food here was absolutely fantastic, we ate here twice during our weeks stay. Must say that the restaurant was very warm due to there being no air conditioning! Managed to get a table by an open door on both occasions, the meat on the...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank z15
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Jersey
Best Western Royal Hotel
945 reviews
.02 miles away
Hampshire Hotel
559 reviews
.17 miles away
Banjo
65 reviews
.26 miles away
Monterey Hotel
876 reviews
.28 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bean Around The World
207 reviews
.21 miles away
Seven Angels
683 reviews
.16 miles away
Moo
112 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
16 New Street
277 reviews
.31 miles away
Jersey Museum & Art Gallery
977 reviews
.50 miles away
Liberation Square
769 reviews
.52 miles away
Parish Church of St Helier
50 reviews
.42 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
loveholidaysalott
30 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from iangraham5 | Reviewed this property |
I didn't see a Children's menu and we visited 4 times in the evening and didn't see any children in. They were very friendly and helpful so I don't think it would be a problem if it was early evening.
1
Vote
Ozziebint
28 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Ozziebint | Reviewed this property |
No My Cos were shut
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37 David Place, JE2 4TD
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Channel Islands  >  Jersey  >  St Helier
  • Phone Number: +44 1534 619911
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing