We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banjo

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Banjo, a European-style grand brasserie located next to the Market in a restored 10,000 sq ft former Victorian Gentlemen's Club, is the biggest Jersey Pottery venue to date, with two restaurants and a bar, as well as three private dinning and conference rooms for parties, weddings and corporate events. There are also four beautifully decorated bedrooms for overnight stays. The design of Banjo is inspired by some of the most stunning urban brasseries and bars from around the world whilst retaining the best features of the historic St Helier building that was purpose-built for entertaining
PRICE RANGE
US$20 - US$46
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
European, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveller rating
359
170
56
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
359
170
56
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tomahawk steak lobster mac and cheese tempura prawns sushi duck pudding sea bass bread curry oyster box gentleman's club special occasion wine list cooked to perfection friday evening first class attentive service
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 622 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to Banjo for a dinner two weeks ago on Saturday the 27th Jan 2019. The food was delicious and the service fantastic despite it being a really busy evening. The waiting staff was very attentive, professional and friendly. I particularly enjoyed the the steak,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tom K
Lucy G, Public Relations Manager at Banjo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your Banjo experience. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy a past visit at another JPRestaurants restaurant. We hope that you informed the duty manager about your concerns after your meal, as...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked well in advance to ensure a table. I received lots of communication to remind me about the booking. Clear instructions on how to find the restaurant. It is housed in a great building. Warm welcome and great service. Quite expensive but worth it.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank EstherHampshire
Lucy G, Public Relations Manager at Banjo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that we can welcome you back to Banjo in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is in a lovely building and well decorated. We ate here one rainy evening and went straight to our booked table on the left hand side of the restaurant so didn’t see the bar. There’s lots of great options on the menu but...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank amypN5167OA
Lucy G, Public Relations Manager at Banjo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feedback about your visit to Banjo. We really appreciate it when customers take the time to let us know about their experience dining with us, as all feedback, good and bad, helps us provide better service to our customers.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is a huge range of food to suit all tastes. Would definitely recommend the Indonesian beef and the Goan prawn curries, they were very fragrant with lots of flavour! There is a smaller selection of desserts but a good range. The sticky toffee pudding...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Yummyfoodrater
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a beautiful restaurant that we often eat at when we are visiting Jersey. We have always enjoyed the service, the food and the surroundings. It is pricy but worth it as it is usually wonderful. We ate here last night, my husband had...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Inspire14221
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was great, so many different flavours, But I wouldn't recommend an Irish coffee, its suppose to look like a pint of Guinness but it looked like the staff stirred it, and the Host [the short man with a beard] was so rude and we...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank mattyd74
Lucy G, Public Relations Manager at Banjo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Banjo. We hope that you informed the duty manager about your concerns after your meal, as we encourage our managers to address problems before our customers leave the restaurant. If the duty manager...More

Reviewed 17 January 2019

A meal just before xmas on a Saturday night so it was obviously busy.It started well with the starters and good service. We both opted fo steaks, one ribeye and a fillet. The fillet was hardly edible and the ribeye not edible at all. Both...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank robin d
Lucy G, Public Relations Manager at Banjo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Banjo. We hope that you informed the duty manager about your concerns after your meal, as we encourage our managers to address problems before our customers leave the restaurant. If the duty manager...More

Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Lovely scallop starter. Wine list is great but the glasses aren't the proper size for types of wine! Also the waiters kept filling the glass to almost full and I had to ask several times for it to be left! Food however was very good....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Josephinetyler28
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Excellent fresh food well served and a friendly atmosphere. A disappointing wine list see my comments for the Oyster Box it’s sister restaurant and same wine list. Worth a visit

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Oysterquay
Reviewed 5 December 2018

Absolutely disgusted at the level of customer service provided by your host (short Asian man). Swearing at a colleague on the host station, rude and abrupt with us because we were early (10 mins) "Your table isn't ready yet" Took us to the bar area...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank danieliD348CC
jersey4567, Public Relations Manager at Banjo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Banjo experience. If you haven’t already, please contact us on the contact form, via our website link: https://jprestaurants.com/contact and select ‘Customer Feedback’. We will investigate and get back to you in due course.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 nearby hotels
Banjo
65 reviews
.01 miles away
The Mayfair Hotel
1,082 reviews
.22 miles away
Apollo Hotel
1,006 reviews
.23 miles away
Premier Inn Jersey St Helier (Charing Cross)
88 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 457 nearby restaurants
Bean Around The World
209 reviews
.07 miles away
Bistro Rosa
844 reviews
.02 miles away
Mano's Bistro
324 reviews
.07 miles away
Relish Delicatessen
109 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 212 nearby attractions
16 New Street
277 reviews
.12 miles away
Jersey Museum & Art Gallery
983 reviews
.25 miles away
Le Petit Train
873 reviews
.30 miles away
Liberation Square
773 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alijhall
9 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from peachesTreharris | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is. There were some children there when I visited.
0
Votes
yolande682
15 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Coolberryhawk | Reviewed this property |
I have no doubt there will be a Xmas menu, this will not be out until November, but if you send them an email they will resolve this for you. If not try the Savoy Resturant
0
Votes
twindaddy7710
1 June 2015|
Answer
Response from ThomasN204 |
yes, they are risotto and a lentil curry at the moment, plus a couple of the starters can be done as main courses, but they should be different by then
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing