We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Pottery Restaurant

Is this your business?
The Old Pottery Pottery Road, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9DS, England
+44 1626 831320
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (11 reviews)
“poached eggs” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Old Pottery Pottery Road, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We came to this restaurant because it was the only choice. But it is the best choice! It was delicious food. I had the smoked haddock and poached egg... wow! Also the chips where amazing. More then happy to pay the price for quality like...More

Thank Alainn S
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We absolutely love the House of Marbles and visit regularly, but this is the first time we've eaten in the cafe as there's usually a long wait to get in. However, as my three year old has been yearning to go in for some time...More

Thank skibumno1
Reviewed 29 December 2017

NOT 'just any coffee', probably the worst coffee I have ever had, made from a 'press and go', luke warm, served in a horrid glass mug.More

Thank princess s
Manger1234, Manager at The Old Pottery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear princess s, I am sorry that you didn't like the coffee you had. I am, however, rather confused, as we do not use a 'press and go' machine. We offer freshly brewed filter coffee or a range of different espresso based coffees, such as...More

Reviewed 26 November 2017

The bread in the ploughman's is still being served stale with a tiny bit of butter even though someone else has complained about it. The coleslaw was just cabbage so I couldn't eat much. The chutneys were tasty. My friends fish and chips were very...More

1  Thank jeanette602017
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

This is a nice friendly restaurant which I would recommend. They have pleasant cakes.It is possible to book tables for large groups.

Thank Richard B
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The choice was good, even for children. Staff could cater for a food intolerance and were attentive. A little expensive but we did enjoy ourselves.

Thank Mummyplus2
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Fabulous food and amazing choice. Good for young and not so young. Polite and helpful staff. Daily specials each day. Homemade desserts.

Thank Carol R
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Burger and chips where great! So was the locally sourced beer! Enough space for modest mobility scooter/wheelchair.

Thank Gus D
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Very interesting and well worth a visit, we stayed about an hour and half bought some Christmas presents too.

Thank SusieQ38
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We had booked a table in the conservatory section. The tables are incredibly low. One side of the table was against a high padded window seat, far too high for the table. Extremely uncomfortable. The low table also made it hard for the young clumsy...More

Thank HalkiW
Manger1234, Manager at The Old Pottery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to our restaurant and I am sorry that you were disappointed by our seating arrangements and acoustics in our conservatory area. We want all our customers to feel comfortable on their visit and I do...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bovey Tracey Hotels
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
446 reviews
1.22 miles away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
474 reviews
2.22 miles away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
340 reviews
3.01 miles away
Old Coaching House
4 reviews
3.53 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Brookside Tea Rooms & Gardens
295 reviews
.63 miles away
Hunters Inn
43 reviews
.95 miles away
The Dolphin Hotel Restaurant
160 reviews
.64 miles away
Nearby Attractions
House of Marbles
735 reviews
.15 miles away
Devon Guild of Craftsmen
208 reviews
.65 miles away
The Jolly Roger
32 reviews
.75 miles away
Bovey Tracey Heritage Centre
12 reviews
.72 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Pottery Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Old Pottery Pottery Road, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Bovey Tracey
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 831320
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing