We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Inn

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
30 Buckfast Road | Tq11 Oea, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0EA, England
+44 1364 642343
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good35%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“baguette” (5 reviews)
“salmon” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
30 Buckfast Road | Tq11 Oea, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

I made a reservation for 5/6 people for a Saturday evening at 7 o'clock. We arrived to be told there had been a mistake and someone had written it down for the following day.The lady in charge apologised and said could we wait half an...More

Thank ggamanda19
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review... all reviews are helpful and we welcome feedback. As you have explained on the review the date was indeed written down in the diary incorrectly, this doesn't normally happen but when things do go slightly wrong we acknowledge that and...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Stopped for a pub meal on a friday night. Staff were friendly, ale was cold and well kept (Tribute) lovely setting by the river, my wife thoroughly enjoyed her steak and ale pie, but I ordered the slow cooked belly of pork, which turned out...More

1  Thank Jonathan T
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback... its helpful for us.... we apologise for the dish you ordered of Belly Pork which was not its usual delicious dish and we will be feeding your comments directly back to the butcher in question regarding that particular order.... This...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a long day on the moors the children and I popped into the Abbey Inn.. Welcomed straight away by Holly and her Co worker.... They didn't have much to offer on the vegetarian menu.. So I came up with a lovely cheese tart idea...More

Thank Abbe B
aquarium17, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for you kind comments. I do hope we will see you again. Phil

Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to eat here whenever on holiday in the area but it went downhill and we stopped going. We had heard there were new owners so tried it again. We ate in the dog friendly bar area. The food was delicious, wonderful steak and...More

Thank sarah190761
aquarium17, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

That's great new I hope you enjoyed your holidays. We look forward to seeing you again. Phil

Reviewed 1 week ago

What a good setting - the river rushing past the terrace, quite scenic at the rear of the pub, but right on the road at the front. The staff was welcoming when we arrived. The decor is stuck in a 1970s time warp, all brown...More

Thank Loxley55
aquarium17, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments. We took over the Abbey Inn in January and are in the process of updating it. I am not sure where the brown carpet is as the carpet throughout is Red in the restaurant and wood floor in the bar....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right by the river with a terrace overlooking it, fantastic setting if you have the weather. Eat Sunday lunch, had to book as it gets busy. Traditional carvery, plenty of food and excellent value. Would eat here again. They also have rooms, however I didn't...More

Thank Rich224
aquarium17, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments , I am glad you enjoyed our famous carvery. We do have 8 en suite rooms with river views. We hope to welcome you again soon. Phil

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were happy to find a restaurant for dinner in such a beautiful location. Unfortunately when we arrived, staff were nowhere to be seen, we stood at the bar and then went into the restaurant and still were not greeted by anyone. There was no...More

Thank Charlotte B
aquarium17, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. Of what I am not sure! Though the staff leave the bar on occasion I am surprised that there was nobody to be seen for 20 mins. The kitchen is in the restaurant and there are always staff in there....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful staff in the pub/ restaurant. Great location on the river and we had the best liver and bacon we had tasted in years. Absolutely excellent! Can't wait to go back again. Visit the Abbey and go to the Abbey Inn for...More

Thank Paul F
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your Lunch, specifically the Liver and Bacon. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Phil & Kellie

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped at the Abbey on our way back to our hotel. Really liked the menu and we enjoyed our choices. Seems to have nice staff and a mixed and pleasant clientele.

Thank M W
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you in the future. Phil & Kellie

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food and nice people, beautiful location by the river. Tired and dusty decor in rooms. Noisy if you have a room roadside.

Thank Elmo487
Phil D, Owner at The Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We took over The Abbey Inn two months ago and our refurbishment of the bedrooms starts this month. We have spoken with housekeeping team regarding your comments. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Phil & Kellie

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Buckfastleigh Hotels
The Dartmoor Lodge
546 reviews
1.52 miles away
Lavender House Hotel
404 reviews
1.84 miles away
Holne Chase Holiday Cottages
34 reviews
2.61 miles away
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
650 reviews
5.60 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Michele
89 reviews
.49 miles away
Jolly Rogers
74 reviews
.53 miles away
Buffers Tea Room
5 reviews
.55 miles away
Salmon Leap Cafe and Antique
116 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Crag 2 Mountain
75 reviews
.62 miles away
Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary
1,701 reviews
.33 miles away
South Devon Railway
1,021 reviews
.33 miles away
Buckfast Abbey
1,087 reviews
.40 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
steveowyso
21 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lindsay P | Reviewed this property |
I am very sorry but I have no idea.
0
Votes
Becci S
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Christopher G | Reviewed this property |
Yes I believe so. I was there yesterday and dogs are welcome in the bar area and in the lovely outdoor seating area overlooking the river.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 Buckfast Road | Tq11 Oea, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Buckfastleigh
  • Phone Number: +44 1364 642343
Description
an unexpected find with good food. Has accomodation and is within a few hundred yards of Buckfast Abbey, lying alongside the river.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing