We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phoenix

25 Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Chudleigh TQ13 0HX, England
+44 626859005
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (29 reviews)
“mussels” (5 reviews)
“pork belly” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
25 Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Chudleigh TQ13 0HX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I have been in for food twice in the past two weeks. Never disappointed ! The first time was last Friday with a friend and we had the Friday fish deal. Tonight I had the fish platter (fabulous). Always cooked to order so nice and...More

Thank HeidiHo37
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten here several times before so booked it for my 70th birthday so that we could celebrate with our adult granddaughters and their mum. The décor etc was fine, no different to last year but there was a definite drop in the calibre...More

Thank sheilaslims
phoenixchudleigh, Owner at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review.We are extremely puzzled ,as you say ,you were the only people in ,and you made it very clear to Ema ,that you had a great night.In fact a person chatting to the chef ,commented on what really nice customers you were.We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a number of times (10+), can not fault the service, cocktails/drinks and food. Emma the manager is always welcoming and warm hearted who does not fail to make us feel welcome and full of laughter. Massively recommended to all. Large selection of drinks...More

1  Thank Lucas B
phoenixchudleigh, Owner at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's so good that you enjoy coming here.Thanks for the lovely words. We hope to see you again

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

I haven’t visited The Phoenix for a few years as my last experience was ‘very average ‘ however as this was a convenient rendezvous point for us - gave it a try and I pleasantly surprised Varied menu - good service and good quality food...More

Thank Netty1313
phoenixchudleigh, Owner at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Really glad you had a great time at Phoenix .The signature cup is lovely,so that will be staying for a while.The new menu is going down really well with our regular customers ,so I am glad you like it.

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We were so impressed with the friendly service and the outstanding quality of the food we came back to try out the steak night. We were not disappointed. Steak and gammon cooked to perfection. Ian's signature chocolate cup was out of this world. Reasonably priced...More

Thank oneofakindWorcester
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Just had a fantastic meal at The Phoenix Gastro pub Chudleigh. Had Scallops to start followed by the Seafood platter then finished with Ian's special Cup. All totally amazing! Lovely staff and would recommend it to anyone who loves food!

Thank jenniferjanenewmanjn
phoenixchudleigh, Owner at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely feedback.We think the new menu is great aswell,and general feedback is ,there is something for everyone.Thanks for visiting us,and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We were so pleased that we were recommended to eat here for our wedding anniversary on a Monday night. It has a lovely atmosphere, good service, good drinks and excellent starters mains and dessert, we cannot wait to go again.

Thank DevonSurfGirl
phoenixchudleigh, Owner at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

I am glad youp had a great time at Phoenix ,and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We were delighted to find this place to eat whilst on holiday nearby. The first time we visited we had tea and a brownie as it was mid afternoon, the Phoenix is open all day. We had a really lovely evening meal served by very...More

Thank ChippyB3
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Having decided I couldn't be bothered to clean the BBQ we decided that we would go out for a bank holiday meal. We popped into the Phoenix for a drink and decided that the menu looked great so we would stop for a meal. Boy...More

Thank rogerweatherley
phoenixchudleigh, Owner at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thanks for your feedback ,I am glad that you had a great time at Phoenix .We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 8 May 2018

Having decided I couldn't be bothered to clean the BBQ we decided that we would go out for a bank holiday meal. We popped into the Phoenix for a drink and decided that the menu looked great so we would stop for a meal. Boy...More

Thank rogerweatherley
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Chudleigh Hotels
Old Coaching House
4 reviews
.01 miles away
Teign Valley Golf And Hotel
64 reviews
2.86 miles away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
340 reviews
3.13 miles away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
453 reviews
4.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bishop Lacy Inn
245 reviews
.07 miles away
Harvey's of Chudleigh
74 reviews
.03 miles away
Mei Wah
86 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Virtual Jet Centre
762 reviews
.87 miles away
Canonteign Waterfalls and Country Park
454 reviews
2.77 miles away
Stover Country Park and Nature Reserve
357 reviews
3.42 miles away
House of Marbles
764 reviews
3.54 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chantal T
29 October 2017|
Answer
Response from phoenixchudleigh | Property representative |
Yes we do . A side gate and back entrance
2
Votes
scottmaxted
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Derek M | Reviewed this property |
No . Dogs not allowed . More a restaurant than pub. Certain areas of the Bishop Lacey allow dogs & reasonable food
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 Fore Street, Dartmoor National Park, Chudleigh TQ13 0HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Chudleigh
  • Phone Number: +44 626859005
Description
Phoenix is aptly named, as the original old coaching house burnt down in 2011,so now it has risen from the ashes and with new beginnings. Whether you are having breakfast ,lunch , an evening meal, coffee and cake or just out for a drink with friends, the Phoenix offers class and an amazing atmosphere. There are themed nights ,and a traditional 3 course Sunday lunch. All amazing value for money and superb staff.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing