We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Chinese, Fast food, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (175)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
115
19
16
4
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
115
19
16
4
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chow mein chicken balls curry chinese takeaway take away delivery service amazing food lovely takeaway tasted nice cooked to perfection lodge yummy doorstep holiday devon
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing Dining Experience: Tasteless Chinese Cuisine with Expensive Delivery and Small PortionsAs a lover of Chinese cuisine, I was eager to try out a new delivery service that promised authentic flavors and quality dishes. Unfortunately, my experience left much to be desired. The food lacked...the bold flavors and aromatic spices that are characteristic of Chinese cooking. Each dish seemed to be missing that special touch that makes Chinese cuisine so satisfying.Adding insult to injury, the delivery fees were exorbitant, making the overall cost of the meal much higher than anticipated. Despite the hefty price tag, the portions were disappointingly small, leaving me feeling unsatisfied and hungry after my meal.In conclusion, while the convenience of delivery may be tempting, I would caution against ordering from this establishment if you're looking for delicious and satisfying Chinese cuisine. The lack of flavor, high delivery costs, and small portions make it a less than ideal choice for a culinary experience.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trevor Lee, General Manager at Mei Wah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review amazing stuff. Not only is our food amazing and voted by Devon live number 1. The delivery is also amazing! Our drivers get every single penny. That's why we have the most reliable drivers. Our flavors are also the best! The...More

Reviewed 17 September 2023

We were staying at Finlake resort for the weekend and decided to try the local Chinese take away. By far one of the best Chinese take aways we have tried. We had chicken curry , beef curry, chicken chow mein, egg fried rice, chips and...sweet and sour chicken Hong Kong style. Every dish was plentiful and really tasty. Delivered at our requested time to the lodge which was a bonus ! The chicken was chicken breast in all the dishes unlike some/most places. Only criticism - we were missing a rice within the order. Five star ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ for food and delivery !More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023

very quick and friendly staff. Good size portions and very tasty. Easy parking and local to where we were staying.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2023

Mei Was in Chudleigh is an exceptional food delivery service that caters to Finlake Resort. Their menu boasts a diverse range of delicious dishes from Chinese, Thai, and Japanese cuisines. The quality of the food is outstanding, with each dish prepared using fresh, authentic ingredients....One of Mei Was' standout features is their attention to detail. The packaging ensures that the food arrives piping hot and in perfect condition. The presentation of the meals is impeccable, making the dining experience feel truly special. The delivery service is prompt and efficient, with the food arriving right on time. The delivery person is friendly and professional, going the extra mile to ensure customer satisfaction. Mei Was takes pride in providing excellent customer service. Whether you're staying at Finlake Resort or simply in the Chudleigh area, I highly recommend Mei Was for a hassle-free and delicious meal. Their food delivery service is exceptional and exceeded my expectations. Mei Was is the perfect choice for those seeking a convenient and satisfying dining experience.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2023

Slightly taken aback by the booking service, we were surpised by the wonderful food and service. You have to phone up, having read the menu online, then pay via a PayPal link on their web page, and they will then deliver to your door (literally...to our lodge door when we were on holiday in Finlake). The staff member on the phone was helpful and chatty, and the food tested really nice. We of course over ordered, however it still tasted nice the next morning too help with the hangover.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2022 via mobile

We've been to this Chinese takeaway probably about three times now, we stay down the road in Finlake. It has been delicious every single time. The huge lumps of chicken in the curry, chow mein and chicken balls!, thank you, we'll be coming again.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2022 via mobile

Amazing food wide selection and good prices. Never disappointed with the food and very friendly staff😌

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2022

Devon Holidays recommended Mei Wah whilst staying in one of their lodges at Finlake. The food was delivered to our door, and it was hot and tasty. We were very impressed

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2022

The food and speed of service from Mei Weh was fantastic. We were staying at Finlake and they delivered to the door - such amazing service, and the food was hot and cooked to perfection. It tasked wonderful.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2022

Lovely takeaway, which delivered to our door when staying in Finlake. Food was lovely, tasty and hot.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2022 via mobile

Best takeaway in the area! The delivery is really quick, good veggie options and being able to pay via PayPal is really handy. Would recommend. :)

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2022

We stayed at Hazel Lodge (Brambles 13) at Finlake - and our travel agent DevonHolidays.net recommend Mei Wah as a takeaway. He wasn't wrong! The diver delivered to the door, the food was piping hot and stated superb. We will defiantly order again from here...when we return to FinlakeMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2022

We stayed at Lodge Nine within Finlake and the owners recommended Mei Wah as they deliver to Finlake - and they did - virtually to the door - the foot was hot and tasty. I highly recommend Mei Wah

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2022

This place was recommended to me, so thought I would give it a try. Only to be very disappointed with the food, which had no taste what so ever, a dry wheatabix would have been better

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2022

Everything was Very watery! No taste just very bland! More dough than chicken in the sweet and sour balls. Prawn crackers were so hard they were hard to bite

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Teign Valley Golf And Hotel
73 reviews
2.85 miles away
The Edgemoor Hotel Dartmoor
583 reviews
4.31 miles away
Passage House Hotel
1,586 reviews
4.49 miles away
Cockhaven Arms
295 reviews
4.52 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Phoenix
527 reviews
.03 miles away
Harvey's of Chudleigh
105 reviews
.07 miles away
The Ship Inn
29 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wilderfox
54 reviews
1.21 miles away
Canonteign Falls
831 reviews
2.71 miles away
Greatrock Farm Alpaca Walks
35 reviews
2.72 miles away
Ashcombe Shooting Ground
66 reviews
3.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
donna2010England
17 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Popjoy12 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Charlotte Y
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from jeseypete | Reviewed this property |
They open at 5 pm and close at 11pm and closed on a Tuesday Hope this helps
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MEI WAH, Chudleigh - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mei Wah

Yes, Mei Wah offers takeaway services.

Mei Wah is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4