We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Johns of Instow

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Deli
FEATURES
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
368
145
57
36
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
368
145
57
36
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes quiche brownie poached eggs pastry pork pie bread clotted cream salad great deli post office local produce take away deli counter beach hut tarka trail bike ride
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Just been into the shop today and after waiting 10 minutes in a queue of 2 people showed the woman on the till my lottery ticket I wanted to cash. " Sorry I don't know how to do it " she said, and went off...More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 December 2020

We come here about three times a week for a dog walk on the fabulous beach, always calling in for a coffee and more at John's. It may ( sometimes) take a long time to get a coffee (this could be improved) but it is...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Thank you Fiona for you lovely 5 star review! Jane & the Instow team

Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

Went in Johns today for a loaf a bread and I have to say the service was terrible, the blonde lady didn’t even say good morning, or thank you or good bye, absolutely awful service and very rude. Won’t be going in there again.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. We will look to put some training in place for this individual. Our team are normally praised for their cheerful manner so I'm sorry it wasn't the case on this occasion. Hopefully you'll give us another chance. Best...More

Reviewed 30 October 2020

We visited the Appledore cafe first and had lunch, cafe small so we had to wait for a table as we hadn't booked. Staff very helpful and friendly, lunch was lovely, later in the week we had breakfast at the Instow cafe, very clean and...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Thank you Mark for your 4 star review! Jane & the Instow team

Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

Called in on a wet Saturday morning while walking the Tarka Trail. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Allowed us to sit at a table reserved for others (in 30 mins) - that was great as we only wanted tea and cake! A good...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Thank you Kev for your 5 star review! So glad that our staff looked after you so well! Jane & the Instow team

Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

The food and presentation of cannot be faulted. The Steak Pasty ? A MAY ZING ! The prices ...Steep . £3 for a latte is motorway service pricing. The WELCOME ? Pretty rubbish really. From ordering at the counter to paying at the till...did not...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Hi there, Thanks for your review. Our prices are in line with the quality of produce we use and other businesses in the area. Sorry if you found the welcome underwhelming. We are a smiley bunch. Perhaps we had a slightly off day. I will...More

Reviewed 23 October 2020

The cafe was very smart looking and the staff were very friendly. The scone I had was a plain one and had absolutely no taste to it. I ordered a cappuccino and it was the worst one I can ever recall drinking and everything was...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Hi Paul, Thank you for the review and for your comments on our cleanliness and friendliness. Our scones are made daily in our production kitchen and I don't recall anyone ever saying they were tasteless so that surprises me. Customers often return for our cream...More

Reviewed 23 October 2020

The general pricing is pretty expensive. The deli looks great but we found it not as good quality as it appears and again, overpriced. But is the only shop so am grateful for that.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Hi Yvie, Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Our prices are in line with the quality of produce we use to make our deli look great. Best wishes, Courtney - Supervisor

Reviewed 17 October 2020

We have just enjoyed a weeks “staycation” in Instow, and visited Johns every day! Lovely friendly staff. Two delicious breakfasts .....one delicious lunch, and outside of that we got take away sausage rolls and pork pies, that were the best we’ve ever tasted....and amazing cakes....More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thank you so much Hattie for the 5 star review! So glad that you had such a lovely time away, we hope to see you again some day! Jane & the Instow team

Reviewed 16 October 2020

We have been to the Appledore shop for the sharing platter a few times, and were given a gift card as a treat, so we decided to call for another, but had to visit this branch as Appledore was not doing eat inside, due to...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
JohnsofInstow, Owner at Johns of Instow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Wow! Thank you so much for your lovely review Christine! Hope to see you again soon Jane & the Instow team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Commodore Hotel
490 reviews
.12 miles away
Durrant House
1,058 reviews
1.81 miles away
Orchard Hill Hotel
262 reviews
2.01 miles away
The Royal Hotel
925 reviews
2.57 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Flame Factory
461 reviews
.47 miles away
Instow Barton restaurant
114 reviews
.62 miles away
The Westleigh Inn
463 reviews
.97 miles away
Instow Arms
825 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Instow beach
623 reviews
.61 miles away
Hockings Dairy Cream Ices
214 reviews
.74 miles away
North Devon Maritime Museum
246 reviews
.59 miles away
Appledore & Northam Burrows Walk
88 reviews
.58 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Johns of Instow staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Johns of Instow
    Does Johns of Instow offer takeaway?
    Yes, Johns of Instow offers takeaway services.
    Does Johns of Instow offer delivery?
    Yes, Johns of Instow offers delivery services.
    How is Johns of Instow rated?
    Johns of Instow is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4