The Pymore Inn

The Pymore Inn

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1308 422625+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 - 20:00
Tue
12:00 - 22:00
Wed
12:00 - 22:00
Thu
12:00 - 22:00
Fri
12:00 - 23:00
Sat
12:00 - 23:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£10.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant offer takeaway or food to go?
About
The Pymore Inn, on the outskirts of Bridport. An independent freehouse carriying a broad selection of real ales and ciders, sourced locally and from further afield, with regularly changing guest ales. To complement the food menu we offer a bespoke selection of wines from Dorset vineyards and from around the world supplied by a local independent wine merchants. During the summer months you can relax with friends and family in the large walled garden with its outdoor bar and kitchen, enjoy a meal, a refreshing pint, a glass of rose or a long cool cordial whilst the sun goes down behind the surrounding tree-topped hills - a truly special al fresco drinking and dining experience. From the centre of Bridport, The Pymore Inn can be reached after a pleasant 20 minute stroll or an easy 5 minute cycle ride.
PRICE RANGE
£10.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service

Reviews

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles269 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Pymore Inn offers a vibrant ambiance that captivates guests with live music and an inviting beer garden, making it an ideal spot for socializing. While service quality varies, with reports of both commendable and less impressive experiences, many patrons are taken with the delightful staff members. The cuisine, especially the pizzas, homemade desserts, and steaks, receives high marks for taste even when service lags. Reviewers also appreciate the reasonable prices and the added benefit of special deals during happy hours, although a few find it to be on the expensive side.
Food
Delicious
Atmosphere
Vibrant
Service
Varied
Value
Reasonable

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles269 reviews
Excellent
161
Very good
44
Average
27
Poor
18
Terrible
19
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Roger B
Southampton49 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
After our first visit, my wife and I returned twice more to the Pymore Inn. It is an easy walk from the nearby Bridport Bingham Grange Caravan & Motorhome site. We were recognised by the staff on arrival and made to feel very welcome. There was a clear registration and sanitisation process before we could go to our table in the garden, which made us feel very secure. The service this time was spot on, and there was a better selection of beers in addition to the wine list. We both tried the Pymore Burger. Although expensive for a burger, it was all locally sourced and the addition of smoked cheese was great. This time there were 'proper' chips and they were wonderfully crisp outside and fluffy within. I also tried the Bavette Steak on one visit. It was substituted for a Rump Steak but was very nicely cooked and supplied with a side salad, chips and Bearnaise sauce. Now 'Eat out to Help Out' has ended, would I return. Yes, I think so.
Written 8 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Diana M
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
We had a lovely table by the fire for supper, a warm welcome and prompt, cheerful service. The starters were imaginative and beautifully presented, I had cured salmon with a quail's egg, light and appetising as it should be, not a meal in itself. The belly of pork for mains was full of flavour, on a bed of mash and interesting vegetables. Most of their wines can be ordered by the glass, which means a good choice without excess expense. Altogether a very pleasant evening and I would not hesitate to take friends there again. A note on booking - with the rather strict rules on opening hours now, it is necessary [and only polite] to arrive on time for your table. As we were finishing, a couple arrived fifteen minutes late without having told the staff, and were quite offensive when advised that regrettably the kitchen had closed. I'm on the side of the staff, who have a major cleaning/sanitising regime each evening after customers like us have gone home. Well handled, Pymore Inn people.
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DrGoldfinger
Bridport27 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
I was part of a group of six who booked to eat at the Pymore. Every person in the group was more than satisfied with their meals and I felt that the combination of a motivated young team of servers, nicely spaced tables, atmosphere aided by unobtrusive music, and a perfect summer evening made for a great night out. I live within two miles of here and I will certainly recommend this to friends and visitors. Happy & Satisfied! PS ‘Very Good’ is rare from me.
Written 10 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jet58102648018
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Our team will be delighted with your feedback! Kind regards Sarah
Written 11 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cathfred
London20 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 couples
Hubby and I had done a beautiful walk to get to the pub and we were really looking forward to a bite to eat we thought we would try a starter to start with well it arrived quickly but shame I couldn’t say it looked or tasted very nice the plaice Goujons where over cooked to the extent of being so dry that I could of played tennis with them and the chicken skewers where nicely cooked apart from having what look liked little hairs in them all that said the beer was excellent when I went and paid I did tell the waitress our food was terrible but I think she already knew that because no one came and asked how it was at any point the gentleman who runs the pub stood there while I was paying then proceeded to come over and ask for our bill to take off the plaice price knowing that I had just stood and paid for our food so there was nothing he could do about it. Would we go back not for food but yes for a beer. With the beautiful setting and such a little treasure of a pub it’s such a shame x x
Written 18 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

bridbird
Bridport2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 friends
Having enjoyed food and drinks at the Pymore, our small group of friends chose to visit again, as the weather was good and the garden is a lovely setting. The menu is pretty small and so not a huge choice at the moment, which is fine. However, when ordering, we were told that the beer of choice was not available and the bavette steak was not available, but could be replaced with a rump steak for £3 extra. Once we had placed our order, we were then informed that the ham hock croquettes were no longer available! The meals came, but the country pizza was missing. The waitress said there was a mistake with the order and that the country pizza was no longer available. We asked for a prawn pizza as an alternative - not available. So, the bianca was requested and we were told 'we should have that'. By the time the pizza arrived, the others in the party had finished their meal and the pizza was actually a Margherita... and not a very nice one at that! When the staff saw that I hadn't enjoyed the pizza, they apologises and agreed there had been mistakes made and I was offered a free drink, but as we were about to leave, I couldn't accept it. We were charged full price for the meal. The other 2 in our group enjoyed their meals, albeit they were overpriced, but really the Pymore Inn should do better. If many of the meals on a limited menu are not available, customers should be told on arrival or table bookings shouldn't be taken. The staff were very young and had no clue what was going on. We were even asked to work out how much our £60 bill would be if we split it 3 ways, because the waitress didn't have a calculator! All in all, a very disappointing experience!
Written 18 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hatti
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
We had our engagement meal here and it was perfect! The staff were attentive and we had an incredible waiter and waitress who checked in regularly clearing glasses, bringing drinks and water, taking our orders and just generally being wonderful. The drinks selection was great with lots of local ales and beers on tap & all the glasses, crockery and cutlery were super clean. The pub itself is beautiful, we love the way its decorated with local coastal themed art and the toilets clean. The pub was warm and cosy. Everyone in the pub was friendly and happy, lots of smiling faces from both staff and punters. We loved that there was free Wifi as there is no signal in Pymore! The food was amazing, I had three courses and each was faultless and incredibly tasty! Two family members are gluten intolerant and more than half the menu was suitable for them so they were happy. Everyone was happy with their food and some of them can be fussy. We didn't bring our dogs on this occasion but we love the fact that they are welcome! The garden looks great for summer! We love the string lights outside and the fire pit will be amazing for summer evenings! We will 100% be back, as soon as possible!
Written 8 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Shell&Scott
Wolverhampton18 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
Today we went to the Pymore Inn after being recommended by the gentleman's air b and b we are staying in. We were politely told the food would be running later and had to be told the garden kitchen wouldn't be serving food for another 45 minutes which was fine with us. Unfortunately it was rather chilly, and we were all seated outdoors so jackets had to come with us too! The service was lovely from start to finish and staff were attentive when need by. The food was delicious off the garden menu, I myself had the steak and my partner had the crab linguine. The steak was so juicy and delicious and the portions of food was fantastic! Even better news was that the restaurant participated in the governments eat out help out scheme. But we would have quite happily paid regardless as we intended to go here even before we knew. Highly recommend if you are visiting!
Written 4 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jet58102648018
Hi Shell & Scott Thanks for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We have reviewed our service Monday to Wednesday throughout August as we participate in the Eat Out to Help Out scheme. As we have been overwhelmed with demand, we will now take bookings to help ease the pressure on the kitchen and reduce waiting times for food. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and service and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards Sarah
Written 6 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

peter s
218 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
The setting here is fabulous. The pub is old and lovely and the large garden is surrounded by rolling hills There are lots of staff to take your orders and they are all very cheerful They play some great music over the sound system from the 1960s and 1970s So going here for a drink in the early evening (beer-O-clock) is a joy and we have done this several times Only disappointment is the food. We ate here on Tuesday lunchtime and we both ordered steaks. The steaks were undercooked and not very good quality (they were tough and hard to cut) Enough said. We will definitely we going back for a beer / wine but not to dine To tempted to eat here again The Pymore would really have to step up !
Written 9 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jet58102648018
Hi Peter Many thanks for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your meals. The Bavette steaks are locally sourced and are a flank cut of steak. This cut is known for it's rich flavour but it also has a much firmer texture. As such, the steaks are served medium-rare as standard, I'm sorry you weren't informed of this on ordering. We hope you try us again for food in the future, our menu is constantly changing and we currently have some excellent specials on offer. Kind regards Sarah
Written 10 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

happylarry1
Dorchester61 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
Although open under new ownership for about a year, due to lockdown we've not had a chance to visit. The easing of lockdown allowed us to give it a go. Currently, all meals are served outside but the seating area is really large with a correspondingly large car park. The place was virtually full when we arrived at 7pm with a mix of drinkers and diners. It seems to attract a youngish crowd. The menu is fairly typical 'casual dining' with an emphasis on pizzas and burgers. We had a well cooked and presented bavette & fries and a salmon Caesar salad - also well presented. Staff are friendly and helpful and, for such a busy place, our meals arrived without to long a wait. Given restrictions in place, it's probably too early to judge the menu - I guess they'll serve what's popular. However, the outside kitchen is relatively small, so I don't see that changing much. Overall a good place for a casual evening out in very pleasant surroundings
Written 30 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jet58102648018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, our Garden Menu has been designed to reflect the relaxed environment of our beautiful outside space. As Covid-19 restrictions ease and we can return to the main kitchen and resume a more formal service indoors, you will see a change in the type of food on offer. Our menu is ever changing and we currently have some superb specials on offer to compliment the menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Sarah
Written 6 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Iain M
Dorchester48 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
We used to visit this pub many years ago and as it has now been taken over by a person who seems to be buying Bridport we thought why not give it a try. A lunchtime visit. Perfectly good welcome although pub was cold, the fire was eventually lit. Good selection of drinks but no large fruit juice (J2O) available. We were also surprised there were no sandwiches or snacks available at lunchtime or at least we were not offered any. This is poor. We ended up having a full plate meal. Risotto good but fish and chips poor: very greasy chips overcooked and prepared much earlier, fish frozen I think with unremarkable batter, very disappointing. Not as good as we expected I am afraid especially after the hoopla and publicity, there is much better food available in nearby pubs.
Written 23 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Frida B
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 family
The Pymore Inn has a lovely setting outdoors and a pleasant, light interior that comprises traditional pub interiors with a modern twist. Toilets are clean and well maintained. We were a group of 8 locals inclusive of a couple continental guests when we visited the Pymore inn for a much anticipated family dinner out. We made a booking for 8 but received a call to say that we would be seated in 2 adjacent tables rather than the larger table , which we accepted and didn’t particularly mind. We were told we could push the tables together. On arrival we were seated on two tables diagonal from each other, which were not in a position to be joined which meant we had to split the party in two. The atmosphere in the pub is pleasant. Drink order was prompt and came as expected. We waited in excess of 45 minutes for our starters and and an 1 hour and 10 minutes after finishing the starters for our main courses. The food was well presented but pretty standard pub fare with very little special interest apart from the steak tartar starter, which was better than average. The mains of bavette steak with chips was just that; steak and chips in a pub. The fish main was underwhelming, but acceptable. The iron age pork was tasty but oddly not served with anything than a blob of apple sauce and a sliver of fennel, which did t quite do justice to the £18 price tag in a pub. It looked a bit lost and forlorn on its large fashionable plate. The burgers were given a “okay but meh” by 3 children aged 9-14 and the child portion of the chicken goujons was deemed passable, if not a bit chewy by the 8 year old. The main problem with the food was really the extremely long waits- not what you’d expect from pretty standard fare on a Wednesday evening. No explanation nor apology was offered which was a bit salty from our point of view. We would have had puddings- much anticipated by the children, but we’re not prepared to risk another long wait as we only finished our mains. At 9.15 for a 6:30 booking. We chose to eat at the Pymore inn based on friends recommendations.I suspect if the food service had been more prompt and service more interested and attentive we would have awarded another couple of stars. It’s not a bad place, our experience was just one of the worst you can get when anticipating a cheerful pub supper: slow, inattentive service and at best the food was a good side of mediocre. I would not recommend unless you have an entire evening to while away.
Written 20 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

THATFOODIEMAN
Bath471 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 couples
A return visit having heard about new managers and following on from a less than impressive experience in August. I will say straight away that I enjoyed my roast dinner. However it was still overpriced at £17.50. That said, in relative terms and matched against other pubs in Bridport it was worth the difference. The food was very well cooked and very well served except that the meat was covered in gravy when, to suit all preferences it should have been in a gravy boat. The vegetables each had its own distinct flavour unlike some places that boil the life out of them. The wine list is very good and reasonably priced and there is a good selection of beers and real ales. The service was patchy, no sooner had our starters of olives arrived our main course was upon us. We had hoped for a leisurely lunch! I also almost choked on a piece of string which I had to extradite before accidentally swallowing (didn't see it - covered in gravy!) I did not make a fuss but politely told the landlady who seemed oblivious to the potential seriousness.
Written 5 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

THATFOODIEMAN
Bath471 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
A lot of money has been spent revamping this place and the garden area is extremely pleasant. That said the food is extremely ordinary and eye wateringly priced for what it is. There are other eye watering sights but I won't use the spoiler! Unlike previous comment I found that £4 pint for fresh real ale was not overly expensive for Bridport. Yes 5 stars for the site, service and beer, one star for the food and it's value.
Written 13 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jet58102648018
Hi Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your drinks in our lovely garden area. Our chefs use the best locally sourced ingrediants to prepare our seasonal menu. We prefer to support our local suppliers and not large multi-national chains. The cost price of these ingrediants therefore differs greatly from the large national suppliers, who can bulk buy and offer lower prices. We believe our prices reflect the quality of the food we prepare. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sarah
Written 14 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

annie t
Swindon199 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 couples
Fabulous food, gorgeous surroundings! We were on a biking holiday near Bridport and booked a table for dinner one evening (just a google search!) What a gem we stumbled across! A great setting in beautiful gardens and the food was exceptional. Being vegetarian the choices were limited but the hostess suggested asking the chef to create something- I agreed and when it arrived it was gorgeous! Try the garlic bread- amazing! And the cheesecake is just wonderful. Front of staff need a bit of structure but all In all, it was so good, we went back again (twice!)
Written 18 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

paul mantz
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
stumbled across this by accident and wish we had of kept driving, £5 a pint..the wife had ceaser salad that came covered in raw hearing after which it all tasted of raw fish. i had squid and i think it was fresh from Iceland the shop.... kids working there didnt really have a clue.
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jet58102648018
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry our pub wasn't for you. Our food is homemade, on site by our chef team. They use locally and ethically sourced ingrediants to prepare our seasonal menu. The squid is freshly prepared using a salt and pepper dusting, hand fried and served with a deliciously fresh chilli, lime and soy dipping sauce. The Caesar salad dressing is made in house from a traditional receipe which contains anchovies, a small salt-cured fish marinated in garlic oil, these are also used to garnish the Caesar salad. I'm sorry this wasn't to your liking. If, when our staff checked back on you, you had mentioned your disatisfaction, we could have prepared you something else or worked hard to ensure you didn't leave unhappy. Incidentally, we have a wide range of draught products, all shown on our drinks menu. They range in price from £3.50 to £5.00 a pint. We don't intend to be 'pretentious' we believe our menu is unassuming and our prices are fair and reflect the quality of the products served. Kind regards Sarah
Written 14 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 269
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Green Yard
££ - £££ · Cafe, British, Street Food
Seagulls Restaurant
££ - £££ · British
The Three Horseshoes
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Olive Tree
££ - £££
Dorshi
££ - £££ · Asian
The New Inn, Shipton Gorge
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Bank House
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
West Bay Tea Rooms
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The Sundorbon
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE PYMORE INN, Bridport - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

All Bridport HotelsBridport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bridport
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire