We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant

Is this your business?
23 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
+44 1929 288188
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
23 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 110 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2016

Had a buffet lunch yesterday along with 50 friends at £10 per head. It turned up late with plates of cold pasta and squares of dried up pizza. A totally rubbish lunch and a waste of moneyMore

1  Thank peb4
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am dissapointed that you did not enjoy the experience. My understanding is that the food had been pre-ageed prior to the visit and the food served was along those lines. I also...More

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We spent a wet afternoon in the pub. Staff were really friendly, and prices were quite reasonable. We ordered one portion of whitebait as a snack for £6.95 and were amazed at the quantity that arrived (see photo). Dinner was reasonably priced and again very...More

Thank Adrian G
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience. Our kitchen works very hard to ensure that every plate receives value for money and a generous portion of freshly cooked to order food. Being...More

Reviewed 7 September 2016

I've visited twice since the new management took over. The pub/restaurant has been beautifully redecoracted and is comfortable. Staff are either on-the-ball, or completely disinterested in customers - pot luck depending on the day. First meal was the Goat's Cheese salad. As someone who doesn't...More

2  Thank Honest R
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the decorations and the atmosphere. We have a wide range of vegetarion, vegan, gluten free and dairy free options on our menue, it is one of the...More

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We chose to lunch here after walking through the countryside footpaths to reach Corfe Castle. We were therefore weary travellers in need of refreshment. I was served a nice pint of indian pale ale "Corfe Steam" by a young knowledgable bar tender, I was even...More

2  Thank Darryl B
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are happy that the staff made you feel welcome on your arrival and all the staff are trained to assist the customers to choose which ale they would like and offer tastings...More

Reviewed 5 September 2016

We visited as a family group including a toddler. The menu was a little overpriced for the food that arrived. We had mixed quality - two in our group had the salmon fishcakes which they said were great, my husband had the chicken burger which...More

2  Thank Jsmith085
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am glad that the majority of your party enjoyed the freshly made food that they had. I have asked the head chef to look into the other items that you mention and...More

Reviewed 5 September 2016

We visited whilst on holiday and booked a table as they do get busy on weekends. The place looks great from the outside but the atmosphere inside wasn't great. We had a very loud party of four seated near us which doesn't help when you...More

1  Thank 681AdamB
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I am looking into the incident and was not made aware of a party that was acting inappropriately or upsetting other customers. If I had known then I would have stepped in as we believe...More

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Had lunch here after walking up to Old Harry's Rocks. Fantastic, large beer garden facing the water and a large selection of good lunch time meals. An especially good selection of ploughman's.More

Thank Fionna88
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are all happy that you enjoyed being refuelled and recharged after your walk. We are very generous with our ploughmans and hope that you enjoyed the variety of local and international cheeses...More

Reviewed 4 September 2016

Waited 2 hours for our meal. When it arrived it was poor quality. Pesto pasta was 90% cream and lacking pesto! The steak was ok, but the chips were cold chips and three uncooked cherry tomatoes. Thai Green curry came with large pieces of hard...More

Thank Eleanor C
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. I am very dissapointed that you did not enjoy your time here and that you did not have a good experience. You joined us on the busiest day of the year and should...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016

It's a tourist trap pub, that looks better than it performs. As with all these tourist pubs we found that it employs too few staff and under-trains the ones it has. Been here three times this year, as Corfe Castle is an iconic landmark for...More

2  Thank spc1
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I am happy that on the occassions that you have been here youhave enjoyed some of the food. As a frequent visitor to the area you will be aware of the volume of customers that...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Great choice of drinks on tap .. and not too expensive compared to the pub over the road! We visited over Bank holiday weekend when a big event was happening out back so it's a shame the owner/manager was charging around like an over stressed...More

2  Thank gabby662017
George P, Owner at The Bankes Arms Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are gald that you appreciate the range of drinks that we have and we are always looking at out price point to ensure that we are the most competitive local venue that...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Corfe Castle Hotels
The Bankes Arms Hotel
145 reviews
.01 miles away
Mortons House Hotel
1,001 reviews
.06 miles away
Springfield Country Hotel
587 reviews
3.29 miles away
The Priory Hotel
430 reviews
3.85 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Corfe Castle Model Village
264 reviews
.04 miles away
Mortons House Restaurant
198 reviews
.11 miles away
The Castle Inn
807 reviews
.22 miles away
The Greyhound Inn
1,464 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dorset Waterpark
1,017 reviews
.45 miles away
Corfe Castle
2,215 reviews
.03 miles away
Corfe Castle Model Village
367 reviews
.04 miles away
Dorset Mud Trail
33 reviews
.41 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
JMK999
13 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mytravadv | Reviewed this property |
Fyi...George P works for them. His reply to you would be very accurate 😊. Hope you enjoy your travels as much as we did.
1
Vote
JMK999
13 April 2018|
Answer
Response from George P |
Yes there is a car park at the rear of the property. If you turn down station road and continue to the end it is on the left.
0
Votes
bast163
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from George P | Property representative |
Hi Bast 163 If you look at our website you will find our menus there. If you have any other questions please do not hesitate to contact us. If you need anything else please do not hesitate to contact us. Kindest regards... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$49
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23 East Street, Corfe Castle BH20 5ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Isle of Purbeck  >  Corfe Castle
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 288188
  • E-mail
Description
A real foodie haven, The New Kitchen Chef Designed Kitchen at the Bankes Arms Hotel will produce a Seasonal locally sourced menu. Bread is baked in the Village Square, The abundance of fresh seafood in nearby waters allows us to have fresh scallops, crab, lobster, plaice and bass on offer together with a superb selection of Game Chicken, Beef Pork and Lamb where possible from Dorset Farms. Mindful of choice, a variety of fresh vegetarian dishes will also be on offer including Gluton free.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing