We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middle Beach Cafe

3 Marine Terrace, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AX, England
+44 1929 450411
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good37%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“ice cream” (10 reviews)
“cake” (8 reviews)
“falafel” (2 reviews)
Closed today
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
3 Marine Terrace, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Reasonably helpful staff, freshly prepared food & wonderful views over Studland Bay & coastline while you enjoy. Loos, fresh water shower & tap nearby. Decaf coffee is instant but still charged @£2.00.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank elizabethlV6977MN
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for the 4* review!

Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have visited this café a number of times but never for breakfast so were looking forward to it after a long walk. It was very busy and we had to wait a long time for our food but this was to be expected during...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank pinkrockmax2013
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm not sure what your query is here? The veggie breakfast is as advertised, you get an extra egg, 2 hash browns beans AND tomatoes and mushrooms. This is 3 more items than you get...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

I have visited Middle Beach Cafe many times - and I have to say this cafe is my absolute favourite. The cafe is situated in a great location overlooking the sea and beach..the view across to Old Harry Rocks is amazing. This jurassic coastline is...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Deborah B
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for another awesome review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Great little café right on the beach Very good and reasonably priced food and drink helpful staff lots of dog water

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank clive l
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for the 5* review!

Reviewed 6 August 2018

As beach cafes go this is not bad , expect to pay a little more for the location and the fact they have a short season to make a profit. The food and drink selection is good, both hot and cold , plenty of seating...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lwr-1600
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for the 4* review! Our prices are the lowest and best value on Studland beach. You have greatly exaggerated the "30 minute queue", half it and that sounds more reasonable. If you are not prepared to wait to be served, I would suggest...More

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped here after a six mile walk with my family and dog. We stopped for coffee, cake and ice cream and the Dorset Apple cake was delicious!! They offered a wide range of cooked food and sandwiches, the chips looked good. Dogs welcome but they...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank leytonlid
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for the great review! Yes you are right, we don't currently take payment by card, it is posted in the windows. However, this is not to say we aren't looking into it...

Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We visited for tea and cakes and were very impressed with the friendly staff and great service. The hot drinks are reasonably priced compared to other rip off places (like the national trust cafes) in the area. The staff are friendly. It was most enjoyable...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Martyn J
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for your glowing review, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Reviewed 9 July 2018

I bought two packets of sandwiches here today costing | 3.95 p per packet. The label stated made fresh here today!!Well if they were fresh I'm a fairy .they were very dry especially the outsides. As we were starving & sitting a way along the...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank sandy504128
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The price you stated is categorically wrong, the most expensive sandwich we sell is £3.25 (not including crab at £5.95). I believe you have left a review for the wrong café... However, our sandwiches are...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018

Well where to start? Girl behind the counter might as well not work there.. So grumpy with everybody and very negative. Every thing seems to be expensive. Bring your own bucket and spade as it will empty your pocket.. £2 a small bucket, £2 a...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Adam R
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. The toilets are not affiliated with Middle Beach Cafe LTD, they are the sole responsibility of the National Trust and any comments about the cleanliness must be made directly to them, but in this case we...More

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped off on route to old harry with 2 friends. Having walked from branksome all along the beach front in training for the cancer research Jurassic Hike this Saturday...we had a well deserved bacon and Bree toasted sarnie and tea. All be it, we had...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank C2LOU
Paul B, Owner at Middle Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Pig on the Beach
1,320 reviews
.12 miles away
Knoll House Hotel
566 reviews
.41 miles away
The Pines Hotel
509 reviews
1.72 miles away
Grand Hotel Swanage
1,063 reviews
1.86 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pig on the beach
986 reviews
.12 miles away
Joe's Cafe
186 reviews
.31 miles away
Old Harry Bar
26 reviews
.32 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Studland Stables
293 reviews
.22 miles away
Studland beach and Nature Reserve
1,152 reviews
.21 miles away
Fore/Adventure
56 reviews
.03 miles away
Studland to Swanage Trail
50 reviews
.05 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
888Chef
8 March 2018|
Answer
Response from natashac2901 |
No it's still open, weekends only until good Friday when they open 7 days a week.
2
Votes
Lelly22
11 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from PaulB12528 | Property representative |
Hi there, we serve breakfast from the tine at which we open (currently 9am weekends and 9:30am weekdays) until 11:30am. After then we serve out lunch menu.
0
Votes
christinetU7255JJ
16 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from lwr-1600 | Reviewed this property |
It was still open on Fri.3rd. August 2018
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 Marine Terrace, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Isle of Purbeck  >  Swanage  >  Studland Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 450411
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing