We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sturminster House Tea Rooms - CLOSED

Bath Rd | Sturminster House, Sturminster Newton DT10 1AS, England
+44 1258 471808
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bath Rd | Sturminster House, Sturminster Newton DT10 1AS, England
All Details
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Best fish finger sandwiches, great quality ingredients, homemade tarter sauce. Good quality strong coffee and friendly service. A little gem

Thank thecountrytraveller
Reviewed 25 April 2016

A very nice place for afternoon tea,12 ladies of the evening WI, enjoyed a substantial afternoon tea, i would throughly recomend

1  Thank Pearl E
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited for afternoon tea. We were looking forward to trying somewhere new and had built up quite an appetite after a long walk. Sadly very disappointed with the selection of food offered. Shop bought bread and such a thin coating of...More

1  Thank LAD63
Wethany, Manager at Sturminster House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Sorry you were disappointed. We have high standards, not sure what day you came to visit us but sometimes the Town is quiet, we can't really drag people off the street now can we ! As for the food, I don't understand what the problem...More

Reviewed 5 April 2016

Had a Groupon voucher for afternoon tea and had a lovely time. Funny looking building outside but it opens up into two lovely rooms furnished with dressers full of old china, quite a few tables and comfy sofas next to the fire. We had a...More

1  Thank 57FranC2015
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We visited this tea room while on a family weekend in Dorset. It looked promising from the outside but we were disappointed with the quality of the food and drinks. I had eggs benedict with ham - the ham was 3 pieces of cheap square...More

Thank bengokee
Wethany, Manager at Sturminster House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Well, thank you for your comments, criticism can be helpful in some cases, but quite frankly, I am amazed that your are so well informed as to what brands of Ice-cream and Coffee we serve when the kitchens are not part of the public domain,...More

Reviewed 2 April 2016

Booked breakfast for two on a Saturday morning. Booked via a discount site. Pleasant surroundings and friendly staff. However, the food was a tad disappointing. The sausages and bacon were nice but was spoilt by tasteless baked beans with far too much liquid. The Latte...More

Thank Skyblue1951
Wethany, Manager at Sturminster House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

We visited this tea room whilst staying in Dorset using a Groupon voucher, we brought along my husbands grandparents who loved the whole experience. Staff were very attentive and the selection of sandwiches and home made scones and cakes were lovely! Unfortunately we live in...More

Thank conniemoore
Wethany, Manager at Sturminster House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Reviewed 7 March 2016

An amazing afternoon tea. Plenty of lovely sandwiches and sausage rolls. Delicious scones, jam & cream. Two delicious cakes. Tea & coffee. Friendly staff. Thoroughly recommended.

Thank shirleytemple190727
Wethany, Manager at Sturminster House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

We are grateful for any reviews good or bad, but its always pleasing when we receive a review when someone has enjoyed their visit so much, thank you for your comments please tell your friends, and come again any time. Wonderful review, thanks again !

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Used to love this tearoom a few years ago but sadly it's not as nice now. We visited recently for lunch and chose the all day breakfast as the rest of the menu was fairly unimaginative. Whilst waiting for our food I noticed that there...More

1  Thank birdyjude
Wethany, Manager at Sturminster House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

We are very sorry that you had a disappointing visit. Our tables are cleared as soon as physically possible, and stained table clothes are changed. I can only assume you sat at a table they hadn't finished clearing, and if you had concerns it may...More

Reviewed 12 February 2016

Good food, great service and always made to feel welcome - well worth a visit....value for money as well!

Thank Pauline F
Wethany, Manager at Sturminster House Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Thank you Pauline for your kind response, we are very glad you had a good experience, and hope to see you again soon. Great Customer :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sweet Pea Cafe & More
69 reviews
.07 miles away
The Stur Of The Moment
54 reviews
.03 miles away
Sturminster Fish Bar
40 reviews
.12 miles away
Comins Tea Fine Tea Merchants
52 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sturminster Newton Mill
65 reviews
.60 miles away
Shillingstone Railway Project
75 reviews
2.75 miles away
Hambledon Hill
28 reviews
3.32 miles away
Royal Signals Museum
110 reviews
4.91 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
09:00 - 17:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:30
Thursday
09:00 - 17:30
Friday
09:00 - 17:30
Saturday
09:00 - 17:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bath Rd | Sturminster House, Sturminster Newton DT10 1AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Sturminster Newton
  • Phone Number: +44 1258 471808
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing