We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway Inn

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England
+44 1929 480402
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (20 reviews)
“steak” (35 reviews)
“chilli” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

On a rainy day we stopped for lunch. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. I had the veggie special and it was true veggie food - delicious.

Thank bkescape
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for the great review, we are delighted to cater for vegetarians and vegans and can adapt our menu to suit most dietary requirements as all meals are prepared fresh on the premises.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Restaurant was very quiet on the Friday evening of our visit. Unusual layout of restaurant with tables in several different areas. Food and service average with limited vegetarian options.More

1  Thank looubiiz93
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

The Halfway Inn is a character former coaching inn with lots of nooks and crannies over five dining areas We currently offer 5 vegetarian main meals ( including 2 vegan options) plus a salad on our core menu. We also offer veggie specials on the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Maybe its because i live up north but a local pint and a glass of house white costing £9.10 means we wont be going there again.

Thank philedric
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

Our locally brewed best bitter is £3.60 per pint and our house wine is £5.10 for a 175ml glass. So you could have paid a lot less. We also serve a range of premium beers, lagers and wines at higher prices.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointing Sunday lunch. Roast beef had weird texture and was tough. Potatoes were soggy. Waitress was friendly but service was very slow. Coffee was bitter. Weren’t impressed.More

Thank Edith F
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are completely bemused by this review.! As you can see from numerous other reviews we take great pride in serving carved to order joints of meat with homemade Yorkshire pudding and freshly roasted potatoes and parsnips and 4 seasonal vegetables. Apart from the May...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a family dinner in the garden - great menu with something for everyone - staff pleasant and helpful - very reasonable price considering the high quality of the food

Thank lynnbL4479XG
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the great review!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a table with a request for a window seat and we were seated in an alcove with a window, lovely! The very amicable waitress took our drinks order and food order immediately. We were prepared for a wait for our four different meals but...More

Thank xxreisexx
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the fantastic review! we love comments like "couldn't have been better"!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really friendly staff with substantial home cooked food full of flavour. Several outside eating areas, with inside dinning too in an authentic coaching inn.

Thank Nick P
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the great review!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit and we went because it had some vegan options, two hot and a salad. The vegetarian choices were good, I couldn't decide what to pick, and went for the lentil, vegetable and almond burger with chips which was delicious and...More

Thank Susan K
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your comments. We are currently working on some vegan desserts and have a vegan coconut and berry pavlova on offer today. You visited us the weekend that we introduced our new summer menu and there were so many new dishes to be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A reasonably priced pub menu with an extra extensive ‘specials’ menu. The Badger beer on tap was exceptional and the Badger pear cider was great. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed and staff very helpful. The food was really good and although we had little...More

Thank AbbyPhil
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The most recent time I’ve been I was unfortunately disappointed. I ordered off the specials menu with salmon in Hollandaise sauce which was £15.95. When it arrived initial presentation was good, however with closer inspection the salmon was very dry and quite grey. The meal...More

Thank Emily E
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your salmon on your last visit to The Halfway Inn. We are concerned that we did not have the opportunity to replace the meal on the day so that you did not feel disappointed. We normally...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wareham Hotels
Springfield Country Hotel
589 reviews
1.40 miles away
The Bankes Arms Hotel
150 reviews
1.89 miles away
Mortons House Hotel
1,007 reviews
1.95 miles away
The Priory Hotel
442 reviews
2.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The New Inn
468 reviews
1.51 miles away
Corfe Castle Model Village
265 reviews
1.89 miles away
Mortons House Restaurant
199 reviews
1.99 miles away
The Italian Kitchen
382 reviews
2.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Blue Pool and Tea House
384 reviews
.91 miles away
Dorset Waterpark
1,046 reviews
1.63 miles away
The Etches Collection, Museum of Jurassic Marine Life
122 reviews
3.01 miles away
RSPB Arne
308 reviews
3.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Samantha R
21 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AnneHalfway | Property representative |
Hi Samantha, yes we allow our guests to stay over in the car park after their meal with us. All we ask is that you park at the far end of the car park to allow access for deliveries to get in on the mornings.
0
Votes
SSAWYER13
28 May 2017|
Answer
Response from RosieBalloqui | Reviewed this property |
It's not too bad the staff will help if needed
0
Votes
Davina H
26 May 2017|
Answer
Response from AliD1967 | Reviewed this property |
Hi there Davina, sorry for the late reply but yes, they have vegetarian options on the menu & if there is something specific you'd prefer I'm sure that they will try to accommodate, although you may have to pre arrange with... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 480402
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;