We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway Inn

Is this your business?
££ - £££, British,
Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England
+44 1929 480402
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (20 reviews)
“steak” (35 reviews)
“chilli” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 679 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Expensive for what there was. They pile the chips on to fill the plate . Tiny piece of gammon which was tough and fatty. Small desert and did not justify £5.95. Waitresses seemed like they couldn't be bothered, no check back given. I doubt we...More

Thank qprlee67
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your most recent visit as much as the previous. The gammon's we serve are all 9-10 ounces and much like steaks, pork chops, lamb chops etc tend to have fat. We apologies if you received a particularly fatty gammon, the...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I visited with my 4 children. For £6.25 they got 1 sausage, 1 spoon of mash and 1 spoon of peas. No drink or pudding included despite contradictory information. Questioned this with manager and later with owner and was basically told it was tough and...More

Thank tammy1378
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

As previously stated to you via Facebook our children's menu is for children 8 years and younger as clearly stated on the pub menu. We also provide smaller portions of our most popular dishes for those who don't fall into that category. I am also...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Holidaying in Dorset over Easter holidays and wanted a pub meal that was generous in portion and not too hard on the wallet. Also wanted somewhere that had a nice interior, not one of those awful chain pubs, but not too 'spit 'n' sawdust' either....More

1  Thank Max_Deacon
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went to the restaurant on the 12th of April for my daughter's 6th birthday. It did not disappoint. Service good, food excellent, setting superb and the restaurant has so much character. We holiday in this area twice a year and struggle to find a...More

Thank johnk198014
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have eaten here a few times and the Pub is great. service is very friendly. I ate here with some work colleagues and everyone enjoyed the good food. Fish pie was excellent.

Thank Julie C
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review! Our Luxury Fish Pie is very popular with our customers, we are glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewed 1 week ago

A family visit organised by daughter.She rang to make booking,we were offered a time-too late then another earlier, we discussed and accepted. On arrival, although 15 minutes early the manger accused her in front of others of being late and caused her embarassment. In future...More

Thank penguinRomsey
AnneHalfway, Owner at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are extremely disappointed that you have felt the need to use Tripadvisor to air this issue. You asked to speak to me, after finishing your lunch, to tell me that you felt that I had been rude to your daughter and that she was...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited corfe castle and on the way back we stopped in this restaurant to eat. Great chicken&curry, cod and desserts.

Thank Matilde I
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your great review! we hope you pop in again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

7 of us went to dinner and I have to say the pub and people were great, the food was served in a timely manner and was most enjoyable except...... The roast meats were clearly not cooked/prepared on site. The lamb was tough as was...More

Thank Owen B
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're sorry you have mixed views regarding your recent visit to The Halfway Inn. Please accept our apologises for the failure to serve you your beer. There seems to been a communication error with our front of house staff, whom are usually very good, even...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We hadn’t booked but managed to get a table on a very busy Saturday lunchtime. We were pre warned that we might have to wait 20 minutes for our food which was fine. In actual fact, we we weren’t kept waiting long at all and...More

1  Thank Niki H
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your awesome review, we hope you get to try our popular homemade puddings soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this week whilst on holiday, stopped in for a late lunch. Excellent food, great service, friendly polite staff. A nice kids play area outside and benches so during the summer this would be great to keep the children occupied whilst you eat or are...More

Thank Lacy1987
AnneHalfway, Manager at The Halfway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your great review! we hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wareham Hotels
Springfield Country Hotel
585 reviews
1.40 miles away
The Bankes Arms Hotel
143 reviews
1.89 miles away
Mortons House Hotel
999 reviews
1.95 miles away
The Priory Hotel
430 reviews
2.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The New Inn
465 reviews
1.51 miles away
Corfe Castle Model Village
264 reviews
1.89 miles away
Mortons House Restaurant
198 reviews
1.99 miles away
The Italian Kitchen
370 reviews
2.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Blue Pool and Tea House
379 reviews
.91 miles away
Dorset Waterpark
1,016 reviews
1.63 miles away
The Etches Collection, Museum of Jurassic Marine Life
116 reviews
3.01 miles away
RSPB Arne
302 reviews
3.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Samantha R
21 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AnneHalfway | Property representative |
Hi Samantha, yes we allow our guests to stay over in the car park after their meal with us. All we ask is that you park at the far end of the car park to allow access for deliveries to get in on the mornings.
0
Votes
SSAWYER13
28 May 2017|
Answer
Response from RosieBalloqui | Reviewed this property |
It's not too bad the staff will help if needed
0
Votes
Davina H
26 May 2017|
Answer
Response from AliD1967 | Reviewed this property |
Hi there Davina, sorry for the late reply but yes, they have vegetarian options on the menu & if there is something specific you'd prefer I'm sure that they will try to accommodate, although you may have to pre arrange with... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$36
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Norden, Wareham BH20 5DU, England (Formerly Halfway Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 480402
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing