We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugarcane Cafe Bistro

2 The Square | Unit 2, Comber BT23 5DT, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9187 3388
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“traybakes” (12 reviews)
“poached eggs” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Cafe, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 The Square | Unit 2, Comber BT23 5DT, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second visit to Sugarcane. I ordered a Latte and was disappointed that when it arrived it was luke warm. The person I was with didn't want me to complain. I really just wanted to ask the waitress to maybe pop in the...More

1  Thank Madfo
HendrixNI, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review and visit. You had a coffee and state it wasn’t warm enough. If you had simply raised this with us at the time we wouldn’t have microwaved it. I’d have thrown it out and made you a nice fresh one but...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for breakfast food was ok but price wise it was the most expensive fry I've ever had not worth the moneyMore

1  Thank Desy B
HendrixNI, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving a review Desy. I’d say we are no where near the most expensive around. Our breakfast prices start from around £3 to £7.90 for our Full Irish in which you get 2 eggs, 2 slices of locally sourced smoked bacon, 1 of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Eating here loads of times. Food is great but probably dearer than it needs to be compared to others. Bit will definitely be back.

1  Thank James N
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

took my elderly parents and visiting cousin out for tea. everyone enjoyed their meal which was very reasonable as there was an early evening offer on. I went for salt and chilli squid which was good. followed by cod and chips. I normally don't eat...More

Thank LyndaK123
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Busy wee cafe. Good choice of foods. Reasonably priced. Staff friendly, professional and attendant. Parking not guaranteed but probably not too far to walk. Haven't attended a night with music and not too sure if there is music regularly but would imagine a good night....More

Thank Cathy H
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

I have no real complaints but also no praises. I felt the food and drink was over priced and certainly my food lacked flavour. Moroccan Lamb conjures up something with loads of flavour however this was disappointingly bland. Starters were good. However I would not...More

Thank 341mandygordon
HendrixNI, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Mandy, Firstly, thank you for leaving a review. I have taken on board your criticism regarding the lamb which is marinated in Moroccan spices and asked the head chef to beef up the spicing and overall flavour. One thing we do pride ourselves on is...More

Reviewed 2 August 2018

I went with my husband on Sunday noon for breakfast and we both loved it and the place was busy but service was great The two ladies who served us were very friendly. I got eggs benny (sauce on the side :) ) and my...More

Thank Sarra A
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Sugar cane is a local gem, the food is excellent. The breakfast menu is my favourite especially the pancakes with maple syrup and bacon it the French toast. The scones are also one of the things I regularly order along with s pot of Suki...More

1  Thank Claireloulou73
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Visited with for a quick Friday lunchtime from work. Very busy place but staff were friendly and helpful. Service was ok but a bit slow if in a hurry. Probably better to visit when you have more time to spend. Food menu had a decent...More

Thank dja874
HendrixNI, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of our business. Friday was an absolutely busy day due to the holiday period and the sudden closure of our main competitor. We have a small kitchen team that work extremely hard to...More

Reviewed 14 July 2018

Went for breakfast - as everything else on the menu was either eggs benedict or various things on sourdough (neither of which floats my boat) we went for the fry. It was ok the sausages and bacon were nice the rest of it was slightly...More

1  Thank Linda H
HendrixNI, Owner at Sugarcane Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thanks for visiting Linda. I’m disappointed you didn’t really enjoy they fry. It certainly isn’t thrown together for those without a discerning palate. We get great feedback on the fry’s at Sugarcane. Everything on the plate bar the tomato is local and picked for its...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
1,588 reviews
2.91 miles away
Strangford Arms Hotel
295 reviews
3.44 miles away
Stormont Hotel
1,261 reviews
4.85 miles away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
1,163 reviews
6.00 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
TT Bistro
291 reviews
.38 miles away
The Goose Cafe
74 reviews
.05 miles away
Comber Tandoori
81 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre
178 reviews
2.39 miles away
Scrabo Tower
202 reviews
2.40 miles away
Hydro-Ease
27 reviews
3.56 miles away
Island Hill & North Strangford Nature Reserve
26 reviews
1.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Alison C
7 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Colin K | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I think it's the same as the "Early Bird" menu except it might be more expensive. The menus are on their website. It's not on every evening - check website.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 The Square | Unit 2, Comber BT23 5DT, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Comber
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9187 3388
  • E-mail
Description
Eclectic little Bistro in Comber Square. Now recognised in The Georgina Campbell Guide Ireland. Winner of the 2014 Best Eatery and best licences premises at the Ards business awards. We source great tasting local produce, mostly from within Co. Down. We are open 7 days a week from 9am with a gorgeous Bistro menu running nightly from 5pm Wed to Sun. Join us for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a coffee and cake.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing