We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
75
60
22
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
75
60
22
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones soup haggis garden centre large menu at lunchtime potting shop popularity
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

What a lovely polite, friendly and welcoming staff you have. Good food. Nice, unpretentious, good value venue which is unusual in garden centres. Even 20% off for eat out to help out scheme set up by management. Well done guys.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Really impressed with the service and cleanness.poached eggs on toast and cakes to die for bonus 25%discount this week

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 26 August 2020

I appreciate times are tense with COVID but it was not very welcoming. I tried to exchange an unwanted gift even although it was in the original packaging and even had the price still on the box but the shop would not entertain an exchange...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
MackenzieCruickshank, General Manager at Mackenzie & Cruickshank, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy at how the matter was dealt with regarding the gift you received in December 2019. Our manager who dealt with the situation is extremely professional, very friendly and was simply doing her Job. For readers of this...More

Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

First and foremost during Covid pandemic: it was clear all steps have been taken to ensure customer safety. So important and they have got this absolutely right. We phoned ahead asking to book a table for 6 people for 2m today and they obliged. We...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 August 2020

lovely garden centre and very friendly staff good selection of goods so we spent a little time looking around

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

Macaroni cheese £8.50 for small box it was ok but far to pricey for a average Mac cheese 3 portions for £7 in marks Spencer defo over priced I will not be backMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
MackenzieCruickshank, General Manager at Mackenzie & Cruickshank, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2020

Thanks for your review, but there are a few things that we would like to address. We are an independent company that like many others is having to make tough decisions to survive. Your review was posted just a day after we introduced food to...More

Reviewed 14 March 2020

The service in the restaurant called ‘The Potting Shed’ was very good and the lentil and bacon soup was very tasty. The restaurant itself is artificially lit and there are no good views to the outside. This is a major drawback to what was good...More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 January 2020

We have been going to MacKenzie Cruickshank for years and have never had poor service - until today. We ordered baked potato with haggis and cheese. It arrived 25 minutes later with hot potato but cold haggis and cheese. It was removed and returned about...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
MackenzieCruickshank, General Manager at Mackenzie & Cruickshank, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear Bob B Many thanks for your review, we welcome feedback from our customers. We also thank you for your four-star recommendation. With regard to your complaint, all the M&C food is made fresh on the premises and as such, meals can take a bit...More

Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

The cafe was extremely busy when we arrived but we were served quite quickly. Disappointing that there was only one type of soup left at lunchtime. We chose coffee and scones/cakes. We had to ask for a table to be cleared as there were lots...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
MackenzieCruickshank, General Manager at Mackenzie & Cruickshank, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

Alison The M&C wholeheartedly apologises that your experience was not up to our usual high standards. Regarding the soups we have been extremely busy throughout the festive period and as everything is home made on the day so sadly when they have been finished, we...More

Reviewed 7 August 2019 via mobile

Enjoy a coffee and a scone here after a boring food shop - looking to see what funky scone flavours are on for the day but my favourite is always the cheese scone. Large menu for those who prefer a hot lunch and a wide...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Knockomie Hotel
337 reviews
.83 miles away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
290 reviews
1.40 miles away
Ramnee Hotel
294 reviews
1.44 miles away
Boath House
401 reviews
6.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mosset Tavern
910 reviews
.85 miles away
The Peppermill Restaurant
199 reviews
.95 miles away
Costa Coffee
7 reviews
.48 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Benromach
304 reviews
.87 miles away
Culbin
30 reviews
.26 miles away
Forres Mechanics FC
17 reviews
.94 miles away
Forres War Memorial
8 reviews
.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gaye D
3 November 2019|
Answer
Response from MandCForres |
Hi Gaye, We have a large pet department and an outside eating area were dogs are very welcome. Unfortunately not in our coffee shop or other retail areas. Thank you for your enquiry.
0
Votes
443adeliner
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DavidMacarthur | Reviewed this property |
Give them a buzz on 01309 696 940, I've never booked myself but I'm sure I've seen reserved seating before. I'd assume they'll move some tables together for you in the separate room tot he back of the restaurant. The staff... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mackenzie & Cruickshank
    Does Mackenzie & Cruickshank offer takeaway?
    Yes, Mackenzie & Cruickshank offers takeaway services.
    Does Mackenzie & Cruickshank offer delivery?
    Yes, Mackenzie & Cruickshank offers delivery services.
    How is Mackenzie & Cruickshank rated?
    Mackenzie & Cruickshank is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 3.5