We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Steam Wheeler

££ - £££, British,
1 Row Avenue | Glasgow, Renfrew G51 4SY, Scotland
+44 141 886 3995
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (29 reviews)
“mixed grill” (10 reviews)
“roast potatoes” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Row Avenue | Glasgow, Renfrew G51 4SY, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

As a group of 6 adults we had a super dinner at exceptionally good prices in a warm and comfortable bar/restaurant. Well worth a visit for couples or families. Loved it.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank JimLivingstone
Reviewed 4 days ago

In for lunch, very good and friendly service. Carvery was very enjoyable, plenty of choice and all tasted very fresh. This was a first visit and based on this experience will be the first of many!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Anne B
Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiance and I decided to visit The Steam Wheeler on our way home from work as we hadn't been shopping yet and fancied something tasty for dinner, happy to say we were not disappointed!! We had the pulled pork nachos and the buttermilk chicken...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jukebox180
JaclynM221, General Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are extremely proud of our high service we like to achieve and reading reviews like this one makes us very proud. Thank you again and see you soon

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us dined and two were vegan. There was an excellent choice for all of us which is a big plus when you’re vegan. The meals arrived pretty quickly and were warm. The portions were quite large. The veg wasn’t great. The prices were...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MrsMorison
JaclynM221, General Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to review your visit. We are very proud of the service we provide at our pub. We have took note of what you have said about the veg and we will get a manager to take a look at the...More

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Attended tonight 11/11/18 with my wife and son. Table 20 (burgers 👍 ) We ordered our food and drinks. There were a few minor hiccups that could have been dealt with quite easily. The manager came to the table to ask us how our meal...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Steve G
JaclynM221, General Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are extremely proud of our high service we like to achieve and reading reviews like this one makes us very proud. Thank you again and see you soon

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We were staying at the Premier Inn across the road Sunday 4 November and popped in here for a drink, the place was very busy with people having meals but they found us a table and we got our drinks. After seeing the food coming...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank louhun88
JaclynM221, General Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are extremely proud of our high service we like to achieve and reading reviews like this one makes us very proud. Thank you again and see you soon

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Went here on a Friday night booked tables day in advance, they were flawless from the start of phone call to bringing out orders of food, they had every drink and meal brought out quickly and correctly. Made to feel more than welcome, such a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Victoria M
JaclynM221, General Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are extremely proud of our high service we like to achieve and reading reviews like this one makes us very proud. Thank you again and see you soon

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

The food in this place was simply awful. Don’t waste your money. Everything is either deep fried or microwaved. Our food was bland and was small portions. The two meals for £10 is a con - they would honestly be overpriced at two for £5....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank UrbanHeroIreland
JaclynM221, General Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hi there, Firstly I would like to apologise for not having a great experience with us, we value all feedback. If I could ask if you could give us a call on 01418863995 and ask to speak to either Jaclyn or Brett to discuss you...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

My mum and I went end of October for lunch we had the £5 menu my mum ordered the fish and chips for £5 and I had the Calvery. My mum's dinner came luke warm and after advising a member of staff they very kindly...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Avril G
JaclynM221, General Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hi Avril Firstly I would like to apologise for not having a great experience with us, we value all feedback. If I could ask if you could give us a call on 01418863995 and ask to speak to either Jaclyn or Brett to discuss you...More

Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Popped in for my brothers birthday and the service was great with staff singing happy birthday to him and really making an effort to welcome everyone. Food wasn’t amazing and different to the other marstons we’ve visited, the carvery seemed a little haphazard and unorganised....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank flybazz
JaclynM221, Manager at The Steam Wheeler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your visit. We are very proud of the service we provide at our pub. we have took note of what you have said about our food and carvery and we will get a manager to take a look...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Premier Inn Glasgow Braehead
474 reviews
.05 miles away
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead
608 reviews
1.10 miles away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1,166 reviews
1.91 miles away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Glasgow West End
1,343 reviews
2.13 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Prezzo
181 reviews
.73 miles away
Le Restaurant @ Campanile Glasgow Airport
6 reviews
.06 miles away
Yo!Sushi
32 reviews
.72 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Snow Factor
3,696 reviews
.95 miles away
The Experience
112 reviews
.74 miles away
intu Braehead
301 reviews
.71 miles away
Paradise Island Adventure Golf Glasgow
36 reviews
.98 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julie B
11 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steam_Wheeler | Property representative |
Guide dogs only I’m afraid, although they are very welcome in our beer garden 😁
0
Votes
Joseph M
23 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steam_Wheeler | Property representative |
Hi there Joseph. There is not a final decision on this as of yet. If you would like to contact the pub (0141 8863395) you can leave your details, we will be contacting everyone who has enquired about Christmas very... More
0
Votes
Jfindlay
11 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Steam_Wheeler | Property representative |
Hi Jfindlay. We're open from 10am Monday to Friday and from 8am Saturday and Sunday. Breakfast is served until approx. 11am every day.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:30
Saturday
10:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Row Avenue | Glasgow, Renfrew G51 4SY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Renfrewshire  >  Renfrew
  • Phone Number: +44 141 886 3995
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing