We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arlene's Coffee Shop

Craignure, Scotland
+44 1680 812238
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good23%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (43 reviews)
“parsnips” (8 reviews)
“soup” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Craignure, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

First time on Mull. Was tired, cold, and desperate for a quick coffee. Popped into Arlene's cafe (not realising it was closed) and headed towards an open door before I'm stopped by a surly face: "What do you think you're doing? We're closed. Can't you...More

6  Thank skudididubop
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

As you are new to tripadvisor, perhaps you are not aware of the "response" side of things. This is there for businesses to tell their side of the "story" as there is always 2 sides to a story as I am sure you are fully...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Could not sing the praises of this wee cafe enough! Delicious freshly made toasties, paninis and soup made with local ingredients. Mum had a local venison, brie and homemade chutney sandwich which was insanely good and nothing was over £7, even the specials menu! Super...More

1  Thank Caitlin E
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We try and use as much local produce as possible as it is so readily available! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Called in for a quick lunch. Had a delicious broccoli and mull cheddar soup followed by a moist and tasty parsnip and walnut cake all washed down with the best coffee we've had all week! Cheery, friendly service and good value for money!

1  Thank JacquiaSomerset
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Always nice to hear that we are doing a good job. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 22 July 2017

Arrived for breakfast before we left Mull, arrived in guddle with 2 children and lots of rucksacks- sat in sun- had breakfast rolls- son had looked forward to bacon roll all holiday (we are veggie family he is not). We found staff really friendly, lady...More

1  Thank kate c
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We often get told our bacon rolls are very good. So I am glad your son enjoyed his. We hope to see you again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Cappuccino was alright, coffee not too good. Unfortunately I got a bit of an unfriendly service. Strict about timing when certain items can be ordered (toasties could not be ordered at 11.30 nor 11.45 since the lunch starts at 12.00).More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for the review. I am disappointed that you found our coffee "alright" as we get told everyday how lovely our coffee is. In fact we have had people from half way across the world,who state it is the best coffee they have had...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We expected this cafe to open at 10am, at twenty minutes past we eventually got served by a very abrupt (some may say rude) woman who told me there wasn't enough of what I had asked for (despite only just opening) then continued to batter...More

1  Thank Rachel D
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review. I am also disappointed that you felt the need to write this. We did not open late, we actually opened early! There are other places in the village open before us. Once we opened (early) we had a queue for...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Just back at our cottage after having coffee and cakes at Arlene's, pleasant service lovely coffee brilliant cakes. Will be back soon. The table in the window still reserved, reckon it's for locals. Hand made chocolates look good, maybe next time

1  Thank Kjc460
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Although there is not much in craignure the coffee shop is well worth a visit. Value for money and the chocolate products are great valie for money.

1  Thank James E
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

We stopped in after a terrible meal at Maggregors and so glad we did. Lovely coffee and even better cake. Can highly recommend the like and pistachio! Our faith in Craignure has been restored! Thank you :)

1  Thank Yvonne F
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you do return to us!

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Met with a grumpy face, tutted when asked for coffee, and not even goodbye thanks for coming. Only coffee shop when disembarking the ferry, so obviously no need to be nice, customers 10 a penny.More

1  Thank ericamb
Arlene R, Owner at Arlene's Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you for making this review. Perhaps you should get your facts right before writing a review. We are NOT the only coffee shop at the ferry terminal. There are 3 establishments here. We have hundreds of customers through our doors every week and our...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Arlene's Coffee Shop staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Craignure, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  The Hebrides  >  Isle of Mull  >  Craignure
  • Phone Number: +44 1680 812238
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing