We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (233)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
78
57
36
25
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
78
57
36
25
33
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my local of over 20 years and I visited regularly. Went today with friends for a meal at 2.45. Told table was available until 4.45. At 4. 40 we asked for more drinks whereupon the manager said we had to vacate the table....We asked for somewhere else to sit. "that's not our responsibility" we were told. "you can use the bar". The bar was jammed with rugby supporters so that wasn't an option so we had no option but to pay our £116 bill and leave. No attempt was made to address the issue or even consider short term use of other free tables. We counted around 30 seats unused that we could have used short term but there seemed no enthusiasm to offer this. Extremely disappointed with an attitude that was overtly unhelpful and less than interested. Sad and disappointed we will not return.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023

All I need to say, is check the businesses replies to their customer who aren’t happy, charming not!! Rude, ignorant and just downright horrible. The reviews are correct and maybe they would be better accepting that and changing how the do business instead of blaming...their customers who keep their business openMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023

*edited to include the response from the owner! This is the woman who argued black and white that heat KILLS gluten* Livingston inn I don’t usually do bad reviews but I’m honestly shocked at the lack of training and incompetence at the Livingston inn today....If you can’t do gluten free safely please just tell people. Don’t advertise gluten free if you don’t have the proper knowledge as it is a risk to people’s health. I picked a burger and chips the menu which had loads of gf options. The server confirmed it was a gluten free bun rather than a naked burger. I asked if the chips were done in a separate fryer and she confirmed they were but told me the staff are well trained and know that the heat of the fryer kills gluten?! I advised her that that wasn’t the case and she argued that she used to think that too but she assures me that she’s right and it’s safe but that the chips are in a separate fryer anyway. At this point I know I’m not safe to eat here and don’t trust they will be done separately. If you know the feeling, you know I’m almost in tears. The server comes to bring my sisters food and says he’s made a mistake and they actually only have vegan buns.. as if this would be fine? I felt flustered and asked for it without the bun but ended up going to the kitchen to ask them just to leave it and not waste the food. As I got to the door I could hear the server bitching about me for being panicked and arguing with the kitchen staff for making her look bad. When she was told I was waiting there she said ‘oh s**t’ and took a minute to come out. As we were sorting ourselves out to leave the server came back to apologise and again blamed the kitchen staff for making her look bad. She denied speaking about me and said I shouldn’t have been round there anyway to hear! The whole thing was awful and the staff were so unprofessional. If you can’t serve me safely just tell me so I can find somewhere that can!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2023

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and also *edit to suit!! We would like to advise AGAIN, that all our gluten free items are cooked in a gluten free fryer, we did advised you that you where more than welcome to...More

Reviewed 12 October 2023

Okay if you can’t be bothered to cook. Not impressed with frozen veg - fair do with frozen peas but frozen carrots? Mmm not what you’d expect. Probs shouldn’t have chosen curry as this is not the place for that (pub grub like burgers pies...etc seem to be more popular) - sauce tasted like it just came from a jar, no mango chutney as advertised (asked but was told they didn’t have any - I know it’s not a biggie but it would have made this a nicer dish), chicken tough. Edible but wouldn’t try it again. Hubby enjoyed his pie. All in all cheap dinner out but wouldn’t rush back for a meal. Nice place for a drink.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2023

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Regards Livingston Inn

Reviewed 3 September 2023

Dirty table when asked to get it cleaned we were told it had been. Obviously not true as there was no napkins or cutlery just menus thrown on dirty table. Had a sharing starter which was ok but no cutlery. Hunters chicken was inedible dry...either overcooked or kept warm for too long or both….. DisappointedMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Many thanks for your review! Kind Regards Livingston Inn

Reviewed 17 August 2023

Four of us went for dinner and given the mixed reviews didnt know what to expect but overall a very good experience. Service from staff was first class, food was very good and plentiful and not overly expensive - we will be back

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Many thanks for visiting us and trying for yourself! We thank you for taking the time to review, we look forward to seeing you all again soon ❤️

Reviewed 11 August 2023

We have eaten here 3 times over a period of approximately 6 months. Each visit presented us with lovely food and surroundings. However, each time.the coffee machine was unavailable. Tonight we were told the coffee machine was switched off (again!) and it was only 8.30pm....The table next to us were drinking coffee. The table on our other side were told the machine was broken. If this was a "one off" I would accept it but it's been every single visit! I love a coffee after my meal! When we asked the waitress she said the machine was always having problems. It's been months though! Get it fixed please! What was totally unacceptable was sitting watching the two very young waitresses "bitching" about us and staring over at us. Sadly this is customer service at its worst. Livingston Inn...I'm sorry, three strikes so I won't be back. Surely at least one out of three visits would see a cup.of coffee after a meal. I'm fed up leaving on a disappointment and please ask your waitresses to be more discreet when talking about the customers!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Many thanks for your review. Please note our staff where not standing about bi*ching our member of staff was actually upset by the way she was spoken too! Our staff members tried to sort the machine themselves but unfortunately they couldn’t. Coffee and tea was...More

Reviewed 11 August 2023 via mobile

I visited today for lunch with some friends. Food was great with plenty to choose from on the menu. Good value for money. Staff were friendly and very attentive making sure we had everything we needed. Cosy friendly atmosphere with no pressure to give up...our table. A great local place to eat 😃More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Many thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon ❤️

Reviewed 1 July 2023

Not a great experience staff unwelcoming, particularly the bar staff who treated us like we were an inconvenience. Food was just okay not great value for money, plates and glasses grimy, shame have visited this place numerous times, a classic case of not what you...do but how you make someone feel, would not recommend.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Many thanks for your review. Unfortunately we have a license that presents us from selling alcohol or too much alcohol to guests at last orders! We do have to close our doors that are stated within our business guidelines. We would never make anyone feel...More

Reviewed 30 June 2023

A very poor experience, staff were negative and unwelcoming, a great example of an establishment that is run for the staff not the customer. Food was just okay, no choice of wine, dirty glasses. Shame as it is a nice venue that we have frequented...regularly for over 30 years. Were made to feel that our custom was an inconvenience, no warm welcome here!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2023

Many thanks for your review. With you being a frequent guests you would notice that the majority of our staff/management have been with us for many years Our staff, our food, speak volumes for the frequently customers that return on a regular basis and the...More

Reviewed 24 May 2023

The place is really cosy and nice , it was our first time to go there , dinner was good .. not wow but it was good .. poor customer service over there tbh, we had an issue with our drinks which could have led...to food poising but luckily it was ok , manager on site didn’t even bother to come and apologise , they don’t care actually … u ate , pay n leave that’s it . It was our first time to go there and definitely the last time ever stepping there again and it’s sad to say that .More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2023

Many thanks for leaving a review. We are slightly confused! Drinks issue, food poisoning from your drink?! No staff was made aware of any issue regarding your visit/review - we are more than happy to discuss your issue in more detail if you would like...More

Reviewed 21 May 2023

First thing was the fishy smell when you walked in the front door then sat at a dirty sticky table….wouldn’t like to see the kitchen…that was enough for us had to leave…

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2023

Many thanks for your review. Have you reviewed the correct place? We haven’t had anyone complain about a ‘fishy’ smell or sticky tables since owning The Livingston Inn, but we will be sure to let all staff know about your comments! Regards Livingston Inn

Reviewed 4 May 2023

I took my wife and daughter her on the 04/05/2023 for my daughters birthday meal. We were so disappointed with the service we had received with our food. My wife ordered the lasagna and it was stone cold on the centre. I said to the...waitress about the issue then she took the plat away and came back 5 minutes later and it was still stone cold. We advised at that point to take the plate away. I had ordered the steak pie and it was not fully cooked properly and was more like having a steak than strew. Really disappointed. There was no real apology for what had happened and just ok I will take the plate away. We will not go again and would advise avoiding.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2023

Many thanks for your review.. Apologies that you didn’t receive our normal service, Our waiting staff are very efficient so we are surprised to read that there was no apology or your food wasn’t corrected properly! We will discuss this with our FOH staff and...More

Reviewed 21 March 2023

The Livingston Inn really deserves to do well. In the 35 years plus that we have been visiting, it has gone through various hands and varying fortunes. The public spaces are now looking better than they have for years and the staff are an obliging,...cheerful bunch. The selection of draught beer is not overwhelming but if that is what the punters will buy then the licensee cannot be faulted for supplying it. The bar menu now tends towards the kind of uniformity that reminds one of the Beefeater chain but the Inn is not part of a chain and a bit more originality would be welcomed. The reason I cannot raise more than two cheers is that bar meals, while remaining at the same price, appear to be shrinking in some respects. The Tikka Masala appeared to be as normal but the chicken pieces in the sauce were few in number; certainly less than I remembered. The meat in a lasagne was similarly in lesser quantity and replaced by more, rather gloopy, béchamel sauce. I know that many food outlets are struggling against fierce competition and rising prices and I really cannot fault them for economising wherever possible but if portion size (or lack of it) is putting customers off, then something has to change. Personally, I would be happy to pay more for a decent portion and go away happy than see prices remain the same and think twice about visiting. I don't envy the Inn in trying to navigate current economic challenges but perhaps it's time to have a rethink?More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs S Brown, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2023

Many Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and leave your comments. Please note that none of our menu items have changed to smaller portions, all our menu items have been the same size and price for the last year with no...More

Reviewed 8 March 2023

Visited on Sunday 05th March for the roast dinner 3 of us had this and my Grandson had the cheeseburger. The meat was sliced processed roast beef of poor quality frozen veg and roast potatoes Yorkshire pudding was not golden it was burnt even the...gravy was tasteless!! bland food at a cost of 13.95 not cheap total waste of money!! I don't know how a chef could send that food out to paying customers.The waitress asked if everything was o.k.when she came to collect the plates I said no its very disappointing.her reply I'm sorry about that but did not want to ask why!! We were all looking forward to it ate some of it as we were hungry on hindsight I wish we had just sent it back and went to our usual place if we want a Sunday roast the Carvery at Bathgate cheaper and everything is fresh with a choice of joints of meat.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Livingston Inn, Owner at The Livingston Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2023

Many thanks for your review. Our Sunday roast is not processed, it’s a fresh bought in silverside joint. Our roast is freshly prepared to order each Sunday. Our Sunday roast is extremely popular and sell out every week. Again thanks for your review all comments...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Livingston
860 reviews
.60 miles away
Chain Runner by Marston's Inns
190 reviews
.72 miles away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
122 reviews
.95 miles away
Mercure Livingston
860 reviews
1.39 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Terrace Restaurant
343 reviews
.54 miles away
Chiquito
580 reviews
.86 miles away
Zaika
381 reviews
.54 miles away
Tony Macaroni - Livingston
1,541 reviews
.60 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Almond Valley Heritage Centre
613 reviews
.35 miles away
Livingston Designer Outlet
604 reviews
.86 miles away
Howden Park Centre
48 reviews
.92 miles away
Tony Macaroni Arena
16 reviews
.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jantimp2
24 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from livvyinn | Property representative |
Hello, we accept dogs in bar area only. Kind Regards Livingston Inn
0
Votes
Arranbees54
24 October 2015|
Answer
Response from livvyinn | Property representative |
Yes we do, we have a few choice to choose from. If there isn't anything on the menu that you like, our chef would be more than happy to give you a few choices on your visit to choose from. Our Menu is available on our... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE LIVINGSTON INN RESTAURANT - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Livingston Inn Restaurant

The Livingston Inn Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3