We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brechin's on Bridgend Street

Claimed
About
Opened in 2004, Brechin's On Bridgend Street serves excellent meals using quality local ingredients. We serve home made desserts and daily home baking, plus a range of coffee, tea and good quality wines by the glass and the bottle. We offer themed music events with meals at lunchtimes and evenings. Check our web site for details. Our musical instrument and accessory business, Gypsy Guitars, also display instruments and useful accessories for the guitarists amongst you. We also have a mail order business if you cannot drop in to see us!
PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$26
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
British, Italian
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
86
25
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
86
25
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salad bread salmon south uist musical instruments fast food friendly welcome lovely evening nice coffee light lunch for sale tim bute sheets proprietor anne musically
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

We visited here yesterday and what a superb find. The food is almost exclusively homemade with produce sourced locally. I had homemade macaroni cheese - absolutely superb. In addition it cane with homemade bread from a local bakery which was light and tasty. My partner...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank A5093NTmarting
busker0, Owner at Brechin's on Bridgend Street, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to be able to chat about the Isle of Bute and it's attractions. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Reviewed 30 September 2018

We were looking for somewhere for a light lunch, and how fortunate we were to find Brechin's. Small but with a fantastic ambience, highlighted by the many musical instruments and the vast collection of sheet music displayed around the walls. The menu offers an amazing...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 2mercury
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We didn't eat here, only stopped in for a coffee (which was lovely) but ended up having a great chat about music with the proprietor, who is an accomplished, multi-instrument-playing musician. Really enjoyed our chat, thank you very much for that kind sir, and the...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DizzyFishes
busker0, Owner at Brechin's on Bridgend Street, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for your review which is much appreciated! Glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Rothesay.

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

This place served the best meal we had all week the host was very welcoming and attentive and the ambiance was very relaxing the food was delicious, we look forward to visiting again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank alicetay23
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Yummy food! It's like going to someone's home and having them cook for you! Food is top quality and prepared with care and love. All is cooked to order so if you want fast food, go to Mc.....8-)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Parosgelatogirl
busker0, Owner at Brechin's on Bridgend Street, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Many thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you next time you arein Rothesay!

Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped for lunch and we both had the bacon, Brie and cranberry sandwich with some fried potatoes (home fries). Very yummy! The coffee was top notch because it was ground fresh. We chatted a bit with the owner - very friendly. They have some wonderful...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Kim N
busker0, Owner at Brechin's on Bridgend Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you both for your review. Nice to meet you and do drop in next time you are in Rothesay.

Reviewed 16 April 2018

I wandered Rothesay looking for a salad for lunch, came across Brechin's by chance and I'm so glad I popped in. A warm and friendly welcome, the Chicken Caesar Salad was freshly prepared and delicious, a wee chat with staff about Bute, it was a...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JockyB
busker0, Owner at Brechin's on Bridgend Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Many thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Brechin's and look forward to seeing you on a future visit to Rothesay.

Reviewed 4 January 2018

Popped into Brechin's for a coffee. We ended up having food as well, as the food they brought out for another table looked and smelled great. I opted for the Ayrshire bacon and egg roll - fantastic. The roll was packed with crispy, tasty Ayrshire...More

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank IanB472
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Tim and Anne greeted us with a very friendly welcome. This café by day, restaurant by night didn't disappoint and the musically themed decor gave us plenty of talking points. The café also doubles as a music shop and Tim, without too much encouragement, entertained...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Duvetdancer
busker0, Owner at Brechin's on Bridgend Street, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rothesay.

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Cosy and friendly atmosphere. We wanted to try some food but we were too late. We were there for over half an hour chatting with the owner. So I asked him to take some pictures of the place so we could share with the tourists.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank 786dim
busker0, Owner at Brechin's on Bridgend Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Many thanks for your kind review. Sorry that we had sold out of the food items that you asked for. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Rothesay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
The Victoria Hotel
286 reviews
.05 miles away
Cannon House Hotel
122 reviews
.35 miles away
The Glenburn Hotel
1,164 reviews
.65 miles away
Chandlers Hotel
340 reviews
1.37 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 49 nearby restaurants
Musicker Cafe
162 reviews
.12 miles away
Harry Haw's
640 reviews
.14 miles away
The Bonnie Clyde
100 reviews
.05 miles away
Victoria's Restaurant
162 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 27 nearby attractions
Rothesay VisitScotland iCentre
218 reviews
.08 miles away
Rothesay's Victorian Toilets
423 reviews
.75 miles away
Bute Brew Co.
135 reviews
.15 miles away
Rothesay Castle
302 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Brechin's on Bridgend Street staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing