We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Contented Sole

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Seafood
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4, Old Quay | Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HS, Scotland
+44 1890 750268
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 263: English reviews
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The modest menu included a great selection of fresh seafood as one might expect in a fishing port. The staff were friendly and welcoming and other, friendly patrons added to a lovely evening. I would certainly recommend the seafood chowder as a starter!

Helpful?
Thank Cherrian
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just stopped at this pub as raining outside and it was great in the snug bar. Snacks on the bar like the good old days, great barmaid "who loves men in uniform " and excellently kept Old Speckled Hen. Spent a couple of hours in there chatting to locals and watching a bit of horse racing and listening to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank spudz10
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Do not go thare for a steak. It is the worst i have evey had thare took it back and re cooked it and it was still raw

Helpful?
Thank andrew w
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

I have spoken to the kitchen staff regarding you rather cutting review. As far as I can make out (There only one steak that was complained about last month so I am presuming it was yours) you ordered a medium Sirloin Steak but sent it back as it was under cooked. It was agreed it was on the side of... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on the 28th October. It was a lovely day. Harbour views great. We looked at reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to have a meal there. We were not disappointed. Karen gave us great service and the food was excellent. We will definitely come here again when we are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Heard amazing reviews about the food and staff. Food was average nothing to wow you with. We had to send one meal 2 times still not right and did not seem overly fussed it was incorrectly cooked. We had to wait 45 minutes for desserts. Shame the waitresses wear jeans with holes in them and trainers not what you really... More 

Helpful?
Thank ClairewScotland
Laura B, Owner at The Contented Sole, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Can you tell me when you visited our premises so that I can follow up on your comments. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Had the seafood Chowder as a starter and it was lovely but very filling and really left me with no appetite for my main lasagna. I asked for Garlic bread to accompany this as it didn't come as standard on the menu for this dish. The garlic bread was cheese covered and soggy. Needed cooking a bit longer for my... More 

Helpful?
Thank tom d
Tralee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Not surprisingly, the food menu focuses on seafood. I had the best prawn cocktail ever! The chef's special macaroni cheese was also delicious. The staff are very friendly - we really enjoyed our visit.

Helpful?
Thank AnneKTralee
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

We love visiting this pub when staying in Coldingham staff always very friendly Lovely food good service and dog friendly

Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

A great pub right on the harbour, with a choice of eating downstairs in the bar or upstairs in the restaurant. We've dined in the pub as a couple and upstairs in the restaurant as a family group of ten. The food and service were excellent every time, (the fish and scampi are to die for!) and the prices are... More 

Helpful?
Thank K R
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

It may not be the swankiest restaurant in town but the food is delicious, it arrives quickly and it does not break the bank.

Helpful?
Thank Mary S

Travellers who viewed The Contented Sole also viewed

Eyemouth, Borders
Eyemouth, Borders
 
Eyemouth, Borders
 

Been to The Contented Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4, Old Quay | Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HS, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Borders  >  Eyemouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1890 750268

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Contented Sole and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Contented Sole staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?